We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stayed here!”
Review of Nepenthe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nepenthe B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield HIlls, Mich USA
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“So glad we stayed here!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the best part of our trip! The setting is wonderful - perched atop the hill with fabulous views of the lake & volcano, and a wonderful veranda made for relaxing with its hanging swing chairs and hammocks. This was the owners home until they decided to open it to guests, and so it's feels like you are staying with friends. Great breakfasts and B&B charm.

Despite the many comments about the rocky road, this is a great location - close to Arenal Lodge for hiking, the Butterfly Observatory, the Skytram and the park. So glad we stayed here instead of in La Fortuna!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room, but the cabins have a kitchenette and that might be nice the next time. Friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    44
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
113
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We didn't expect much when we booked this place. The view looked great and the prices were very fair so we decided to stay here for two nights.
So when we drove here - without a 4x4 I don't think it's possible to get here - we were totally amazed. The view is spectacular, the pool and the surrounding is stunning. The staff is so nice. And try to book a massage at the blue lagoon spa (a little house belonging to the b&b) it was the best massage I've ever had!
We def. coming back. At the moment they build a restaurant which is great because you have to drive a bit to reach the next restaurant. And the streets in the night are quite adventurous.
The breakfast was delicious - looking forward to try the dinner once the restaurant is here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We didn't intend to rent a car in Costa Rica, but when we read about El Castillo and Nepenthe B&B, we decided to go for it. Best decision ever. We loved Nepenthe and El Castillo. Augustín, the manager, was a gracious and informative host. He let us know about the options in the area without overselling or pressuring us into anything. The breakfasts were delicious every morning. The view from the infinity pool over Lake Arenal was enchanting and it was hard to tear ourselves away everyday. The rooms were spacious and simple, but you won't want to spend time in your room while in such a beautiful place.

Definitely recommend. Nepenthe was a highlight of our trip and I hope travelers appreciate the unspoilt area of El Castillo.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo94618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Location location location!! A little off the beaten path but well worth the drive. Agustin the manager is great. Even met the owners who were wonderful. We did NOT have 4wd...we drove a sedan (corolla) just drive SLOW up the hill as it is steep and rocky. So relaxing and great breakfasts :)

Room Tip: No AC but we just opened the doors and windows. Great breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We arrived late at night so the road was more than the usually daunting but once there we realized that all of the reviews we had read were accurate. Nepenthe is located on top of a hill with a beautiful view. The owners are gracious and Augustin is the perfect host. The breakfasts were delicious (my first experience with plantain and I was hooked!). We used the services of the spa (massage) and hot tub and were not disappointed. We did not encounter good weather so were not able to use the infinity pool, but would have as it is really beautiful. If you don't mind a bit of a bumpy ride, you will be rewarded for your efforts at Nepenthe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookingforsun1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Well away from the main tourist drag between Arenal and La Fortuna, this gorgeous location and øplrly cabins can't be praised enough. Just wish we could have stayed longer. Manager Aug.ustin helped us when we discovered a flat tyre and was more than helpful otherwise. Fantastc views, unspoilt nature,,,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Although it's a little tricky to get too (my boyfriend was driving), it felt like we were staying with family. The rooms are spacious and well kept. The first night we were welcomed with free beers. Augustin gave us great recommendations and always asked what we had planned. The views from our room was AMAZING! I loved getting up in the morning and just looking out the window. We only wished we had more time there. The breakfast in the morning was great, it felt like mom was cooking for you and preparing you for the day. Definitely recommend this B&B!!!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mich b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.6 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
675 reviews
6.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
809 reviews
11.2 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
241 reviews
2.7 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nepenthe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nepenthe B&B

Property: Nepenthe B&B
Address: | 100 M East And 1.6 Km From The School, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nepenthe B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepenthe Bed and Breakfast is Beautifull piece of paradise located in the little town of El Castillo of La Fortuna in Costa Rica. Surrounded by the rain forest and exuberant wild life, you can appreciate the magnificent Arenal Volcano and the mistic Arenal Lake, enjoy beautifull sunsets from our infinity edge pool or relax in the jacuzzi or with a Massage in The Blue Lagoon Spa after a day of adventures and fun in the area. ** Also, the Phoenix Restaurant at Nepenthe is located on the grounds of Nepenthe and serve a daily dinner menu with handmade food and fresh local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nepenthe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nepenthe B&B Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing