We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nepenthe B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fuego Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
117
46
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
46
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaarenal lodgewe arrived late at nightla fortunawheel drivehot tubbreakfast was deliciousbest pizzaspectacular viewshowler monkeysother guestsfried plantainsnational parksteep hillbutterfly conservatorysan josepollo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a very special place in a gorgeous area. The views of the volcano and the lake are spectacular, and this area of Arenal is less touristy than Fortuna, and was quiet and peaceful. It is close to the ziplining which was scary good. The staff were wonderful, and the addition of the restaurant really made it a great place to stay as the steep roads at night were a little daunting. The food was imaginative, fresh and tasty, a great deal, and the young Canadian couple who run it have such enthusiasm that they made it highly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room #2 has amazing views from 2 windows.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationjunkieny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The best view in Costa Rica. Overlooking the Arenal volcano and the Laguna the Arenal. The newly build complex is a high-end B & B, with excellent service and very helpful staff. Here you get the little extra help and friendliness that makes your trip perfect.
Augustin was very helpful and have to thank him again for the extra effort that made just so a big difference. Try also the restaurant (managed by a canadian couple), they serve fresh and delicious fusion north/south American cuisine on the terrace close to the swimming pool. We saw a coati and beautiful hummingbirds during breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbear83de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The views from Nepenthe really are as nice as the pictures. Lake Arenal to the North and Arenal Volcano to the East are spectacular. It is remote, but the trip was not a difficult as some reviews make it seem as long as you take your time and have a 4wd. We even were even treated by a band of Coatis looking for handouts on our way around the volcano. A great place to see and hear a bit of nature, howler monkeys and toucans abound. The pool is nice, as is the breakfast would be a great place for a honeymoon getaway, although it was a bit remote for our teens. The only negative was the lack of AC, as it was abnormally hot when we visited and the ceiling fan only offered some relief.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NovaArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and wish we could stay longer. This place is perfect for those looking for a quiet serene hideaway, away from the regular crowded touristy areas. Please do make sure and get here before sun down, as the roads are unpaved for a few miles and if you are used to driving on the US roads, the roads here will be a surprise. Would recommend renting a 4x4 vehicle for sure, if you plan to stay here. The rooms were clean, excellent hearty breakfast, very helpful host (we arrived here very late in the night and he was still up for us). My husband and I both loved Nepenthe :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAManSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I made our way to El Castillo @ Arenal Lake in CR for part of our Honeymoon. Nepenthe, a quaint but super functional B and B was one of the most amazing places we stayed in CR.
Not only was the view great, but the Staff was first class.

We had couple massages in the Spa, hung out in the hot tub, slept like angels (minus the howls of the super-cool Monkeys once in a while) and then.... WE ATE! Tres Cabres Restaurant was INCREDIBLE- RYAN and REBECCA were not only fantastic at preparing dinners but they ensured the ambiance was perfect. Ryan (former Canadian Idol winner) sang fior us lucky guests only adding to the special nature of this place. The views are incredible, the staff friendly and helpful and the Volcano and surrounding activities are top notch.

For an affordable and incredible time, I will send all of my friends there! I love COSTA RICA, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE Nepenthe.

Thanks Gord, Aug, Ryan, Rebecca and the rest of the staff! We WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STILL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews