We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious pizza and a fun place”

Pizza John's Jardin Escondido
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Lonely Planet's Top choice-featuring thin crust Italian style handmade pizza, and tropical ice cream. Family Friendly-Open air, casual dining Come for lunch, stay for dinner. Open everyday 12PM to 8PM
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious pizza and a fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

You have to visit this place if you are in town! The place was recommended by two locals in El Castillo. The pizza is delicious that we went there twice. My kids (8, 9 and 13) climb all over the building to draw on the wall, ceiling and pillars. If you see the cats on the wall, most likely they were drew by my daughter :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoaBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    56
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pizza in CR is this possible? YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This pizza joint was recommended to us by the locals of El Castillo. Coming from the NY area it's hard to believe you can get good pizza anywhere else. Pizza John's is Costa Rican pizza done right. It's fresh and flavorful and not what you would expect. Topped with fresh tomato, basil and cheese it's sure to please and the restaurant is a fun place to hang and leave your mark on their graffitied wall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mflanagan801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So unexpected yet ...Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

It's pizza and beer or wine or soda...That's it and yet it's funky, fun and the pizza is thin crust amazing-ness! Off the beaten path and sooooo worth it. There is a small handmade sign at the entrance to a dead end street...Take IT!!! Something strangely magical about this place.
John was a legend in the community and sadly no longer with us but everyone signs his praises.
If you think of it bring a Sharpie!!!! You see why when you get there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuregurl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pizza off the beaten path...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

When the guy running the Majestic Lodge told us there was a pizza joint down the street we didn't know what to think. After a day of zip lining we were hungry so we ventured to this place. When we got there you wouldn't know it was a restaurant if it wasn't for the pizza ovens. We also didn't know there was only 1 lady working and we put a 5 pizza order on her. My buddies left to hit the store as i stayed and watched this lady do work in the kitchen pounding out 5 pies alone and by hand. The pizza was great and i would go back if i make it out that way again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycunnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Pizza John's is such an interesting way to spend an evening.

It's off of the beaten path and the place itself feels more like being in someone's backyard, but once you settle in you can see why all of the locals really love Pizza John.

Tasty pizza and cheap Imperial beers. Can't beat that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amber I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza John's Jardin Escondido also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Pizza John's Jardin Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing