We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit, great place to volunteer”

Butterfly Conservatory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Butterfly Conservatory is a Nature Regeneration Project dedicated to the preservation, growth, and study of the rainforest; with focus on butterflies and other tropical rainforest species, such as insects, frogs, lizards, fish, and plants of the Arenal region of Costa Rica. The project has now grown to contain the largest exhibition of butterflies in Costa Rica, and is a learning center for understanding the butterfly life-cycle and incredible metamorphosis experience.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit, great place to volunteer”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Really enjoyed my time volunteering at the Butterfly Conservatory last year and being able to contribute to a really interesting attraction and important conservation project for the area.

Lots to see and experience here, with explorable habitats that let you see butterflies, frogs and more up close.

Would recommend arriving around 9/10am when you have a good chance to see the butterflies emerging from their chrysalises in the reception, which is really cool, and there's always the possibility of seeing other wildlife too (I regularly saw humming birds, and howler monkeys come and go quite often as well).

Really well maintained by the guys who work there, they put in a lot of effort to create a great place to visit and really look after the animals too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JEC613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    73
    18
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great conservation project to be shared with everyone.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My 7 year old daughter loves butterflies so this was an excellent experience for her. The guide was so knowledgable and sweet and spent a lot of time with us. Great little hiking path through the jungle and awesome project of regenerated forest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yes1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn B, Owner at Butterfly Conservatory, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for visiting and experiencing the Butterfly Conservatory and our Metamorphosis Tour. I’m happy hear about your daughters interest in butterflies, and to know that she particularly enjoyed her visit with us.
And of course we also appreciate your positive feedback about our guides, and botanical garden trails within the project. However I see that you gave us 4 circles instead of 5, is there something we could improve to create a 5 circle experience for you?

Glenn Baines
Owner/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wonderful place to view many species of butterflies up very close throughout their life cycle. Glen filled us in on the conservatory, details about the butterflies, history of the area, frogs,and insects on display. We could actually walk among the many butterflies as they floated above our head and landed on us. The trails within the project took us into the cloud forest and allowed us to see howler monkeys and toucans. This is great for adults and kids alike. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank norman of lininger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful and informative”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband, daughter, and I recently revisited Costa Rica 25 years after our first visit. The Butterfly Conservatory was spectacular. We saw the butterfly cocoons and insect collection in the reception area, then walked through four butterfly houses with dozens of different butterflies. Our guide was great and identified the various butterflies for us as we walked. The butteflies were so beautiful we could have stayed for hours. The frog habitat was fascinating and we were able to see all of the most spectacular species we had read about. (We decided to skip the rather expensive night frog walks offered by other tourist agencies after seeing all the frogs at this attraction.) The trails are filled with beautiful plants and flowers. This was one of the best experiences we had on the trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was a really pretty place to walk around and see beautiful butterflies, frogs, lizards, scenery, and we even spotted a toucan there. The lady in the office was very friendly and knowledgeable! She even recommended a great place for dinner!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank genaveve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly Conservatory also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Butterfly Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing