We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Birds View Room- stunning views of the volcano
Birds View Room- corner jacuzzi and views of forest
Birds View Room- view of the Arenal Volcano from your queen bed
Birds View Room- the perfect spot for a romantic evening
Birds View Room- full kitchen
Birds View Room- walk in shower and enclosed outdoor shower
Birds View Room- enclosed outdoor shower
What are you looking at?
Relaxing on the observation deck
Outdoor breakfast area with volcano view
Your stay includes a delicious breakfast
Vibrant colors surround the villa
Forest views to the right of the volcano
Lake Arenal to the left of the volcano
Dozens of hummingbirds surround the Garden View Room
Keeping a watchful eye
A view to remember!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Susan S
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

A very congenial host. The property, toucans, lake, and volcano are spectacular. We liked it so much we bought a lot next door. The road to Bird Song requires a four wheel drive unless you are like us, really dumb and adventurous to a fault. Next visit will be with a 4x4.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The windows didn't open
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mojo431
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 6 - 4 kids ages 16,15,13 and 11 stayed at Allan's place for 2 nights and loved it. It is a long bumpy ride from the main road, but worth it if you would like to experience a beautiful, natural setting. Shortly after our arrival, Allan took us on a great hike to a waterfall and swimming hole which we had all to ourselves. We had a great time, climbing under and up the waterfall and then swimming in the creek. Later that night we sat out on the deck and heard, then saw Howler monkeys and many birds including toucans and parrots. Allan took us to Hotel Margot for a great buffet dinner which pleased even my picky eaters! We had a delicious breakfast the next morning and then took the short drive to ziplining at Sky Trek. After a day visiting La Fortuna and the hot springs we had one of the best meals I've ever had, prepared at the Villa by Allan's cooks for a very reasonable cost (although I would suggest modifying the quantity for kids). We rose early the next morning to catch more wild life and got to see more birds and a very accomodating toucan who sat in a tree and talked to us for several minutes. Allan is a wonderful host and his place is beautiful and comfortable. Our kids especially loved the outdoor shower that is also home to the resident parrot. I highly recommend staying at Bird Song, especially if you prefer to be away from the touristy areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed 30 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York CIty
Reviewed 18 December 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 3 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing