We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place in Arenal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked a room for a night while hiking in Arenal with a friend. When we arrived that evening, they made us wait around for 15 minutes before someone finally came to tell us they had overbooked and there wasn't a room for us. They didn't bother to email me or call the Costa Rican phone number I provided at any point before we actually arrived so that we could make other arrangements and were quite unhelpful over the situation once we were there. Keep in mind, this place is far from La Fortuna and on a really rough road, so that traveling to get there was by no means, an easy task. To make matters worse, the deposit I placed to hold the room has yet to be refunded and it's been about two weeks. They were nothing but rude and unhelpful, which was quite upsetting when traveling in an area you are not familiar with. Luckily, we were helped out by another hotel, Nepenthe. I recommend spending a little extra to stay with them. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travels_she_wrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Castillo del Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We sorry for the inconvenience caused, we try to contact the phone number you gave us, without any result, we know that you expect to have a room in our hotel as you had booked which was not posible, that is why we opted to find the option of hosting the next to the hotel, we understand that you didnt want to take it, we offer apologies and thanks again for having chosen to stay with us but could not in the end, we hope to have that opportunity and be able to serve in the best way as you would well overdue ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I just got back from a vacation in Costa Rica. During our travel, we had originally booked in Jaco Beach, but did not find many activities to do there, so we decided to go to Arenal. We did this last minute and did not have time to book a hotel, so we just decided to stay at any hotel close to the volcano for a tour we had booked. We found this hotel through Tripadvisor and thought for a one night stay the price was great. When we arrived, we were lucky and found a room. I enjoyed the room very much. It was small and not very fancy or anything, but it was clean and had a great view towards the Lake and volcano. The room did not have AC but did have a fan. Luckily it wasn't so hot at night, so the fan was fine. They do not have a safe so we had to carry our stuff with us; something we hate to do...Wifi did not work either and there was almost no signal for phones :( The reception is inside the restaurant, so we decided to have a quick meal. Food is great, but they took way too long to get it. It is also a litte pricey. Pool is right outside the hotel, and has a great view toward the lake as well. Besides the minor details, I do think would stay again if traveling again to Costa Rica. The view was well worth it! :D

Room Tip: I noticed there were rooms to the right of the restaurant that had a better view, and I believe had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griselda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Pro: Nice hotel situated on the "back side" of the Arenal Volcano. Staff is nice & very accommodating. Great for decompressing & winding down.
Con: Far from La Fortuna & city. Road to hotel is unpaved - rocks, dirt and hills. Consider a good car.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gregorya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in one of the bungalows. It was a relaxed stay, nothing missed. The car can be parked right in front of the bungalow. The bungalow has enough space, we had an 3rd bed inside. The bathroom is a little bit small, but no problem. The fridge inside is usefull to have always cool drinks. Out of the window you see directly the volcano and the lake. The pool beside the mainbuilding is quite small. To get to the location you need a SUV-car, because you have to drive 8 km on a non-fixed pist - but therefore you will have the advantage to stay and sleep calm and you can enjoy the nature in front of your door.
Eduardo gives good advises for some tours as well he is doing all the booking. Breakfast is delicious and much.

Defenetly we would stay again!

Room Tip: The bungalows behind the reception are super. Gives you a home-felling (like a small house :) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This lovely hotel is in the small village of El Castillo, on the opposite side of the volcano from La Fortuna -- and a world away. The town is quite close to Parque Nacional Volcan Arenal and our comfortable room had a balcony overlooking the volcano. The hotel also has it's own restaurant, which serves great food and one of the best ceviches I've ever had. You have your choice of one of three included breakfasts, or you can order off a larger menu for an additional charge. While you eat breakfast, you can watch the toucans and other birds who fly about the property, including a parrot who likes to show up at breakfast. Staff is quite helpful. My only complaint is that there was a dog who barked ALL NIGHT EVERY NIGHT during the 3 nights we were there. The road into town is not paved, so a 4x4 is helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank East_Coaster28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The location is in nice and secluded little village; El Castillo is close to Observatory, Cerro Chato and Ranch Margot. You need a vehicle.
At the hotel, breakfast are good, diner are good, view is terrific, pool is nice and staff is great.

Room Tip: Clean, but quite basic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is well out on a rough gravel road. Very nice setting but the rooms are tired and need work. Virtually nothing but the beds in the room and the sparse furniture makes you feel like you are camping. Bathrooms are very small and in our first room, (they changed us), the windows would not lock. There are no safes in the rooms, so you have to take your things with you. The Fusion restaurant for dinner was very good though and made you forget about the negatives about the room. There are much better places such as Volcano Lodge for almost the same price. We made a mistake this time.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.4 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
697 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
836 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo del Arenal

Address: | 6 km from Arenal Volcano National Park, 400m south of School, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range: £32 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castillo del Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castillo del Arenal overlooks the beautiful little village of El Castillo, and looks on to the majestic Arenal Volcano. Its amazing location allows guests to enjoy views of both the volcano and lake. Hotel Castillo del Arenal is a family owned business located in a beautiful, quiet and unique area in Arenal. All our rooms have stunning views of the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Our hotel is only 6.5 km from the National Park and 700 mts from the Arenal Lake, and 25 min from the town of La Fortuna. We are very accessible for all types of vehicle. With more and more travelers choosing to skip the crowded resorts of La Fortuna, the town of El Castillo near the Arenal Volcano is now becoming the place where you can find the most unique and peaceful hotels in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Castillo del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castillo Del Arenal Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing