We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place - Great Staff”
Review of Arenal Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Vista Lodge
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
“Wonderful place - Great Staff”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I was part of an EF Tour group that stayed here in June 2011. The view is unbeatable. The Staff was helpful and very friendly. The meals was fantastic (homemade tomato soup) was unbelievable good. The chef even came out and gave us the recipe for it with some of the ingredient to take with us......above and beyond normal service! Next time we go to Costa Rica we will be staying there. (and to visit our new found friends - Rafael Calderon & Mario Mora / Thanks for a wonderful visit) ... Bill K - Bountiful, UT

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    37
    25
    20
    25
See reviews for
31
57
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Market, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I've been to Arenal several times, and I always stay here. This is one of the few hotels in Arenal with an eruption view of the volcano. What has always attracted me to this hotel is the staff. I've been here with groups and with my family and Mario and his staff always go out of there way to make sure that their guests are taken care of. They can arrange anything you need while staying there and will even provide advice for what to do in other areas of Costa Rica.
The rooms are simple (if you are looking for luxury, this isn't the place for you), clean and all have a view of Lake Arenal and the volcano. Because the hotel is in an isolated area, there is a ton of wildlife around. I've seen howler monkeys, parrots, pizotes, hummingbirds and peccaries all on the hotel grounds and nearby walking paths. The food here is great too. What else can I say? This is the simply the best hotel in Arenal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reverendjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

As frequent visitors to Costa Rica we have stayed at the Arenal Vista Lodge several times over the years. We have traveled alone, with our niece and a friend, and with groups of up to 13. The location is simply the best. There is nothing like lying in bed and watching the volcano erupting, We have been fortunate to have clear skies on three of our visits. The rooms are very large with walk-in closets and a porch, simple but always clean. The food has improved significantly over the years. It was always good, but on our last visit it had really stepped up. Service is exceptionally friendly. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and this is an ideal wildlife and birdwatching spot. The staff has been very helpful in arranging outside activities for us, mostly horseback riding. We look forward to our next visit. The drive to the lodge is part of the adventure. Such is life in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reidlr5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Arenal Vista Lodge is a wonderful lodge hidden in the recesses of Costa Rican jungle. If it were not for the tour group that I was with, I am not sure that I would have found it. The wild life encountered was amazing - colourful humming birds, parrots, butterflies, fireflies, and waking up to the howler monkeys every morning is something I will not forget. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating. They were always careful to check that you were doing okay. The food was wonderful and plentiful. The one thing I have noticed was that there were no phones, televisions, or clocks in the rooms, office, or restaurant. I would like to recommend that if you would like to get a way from the world for a little while, this is the place to do it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champ068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We are a family of 5 from Norway who stayed at the Arenal Vista Lodge during two weeks of Feb 2011. Kids are 12,8 and 6 yrs old.

We had 8 fantastic days at Arenal Vista Lodge - despite that our son was a bit sick the first 3-4 days. The staff was extremely helpful and service minded with everything from special food to our son, tours and transport. Everything with a smile - that is apreciated when you stay for such a period of time. The Rooms were basic, fairly clean and the beds were very good. The food was good as well. We did not taste any bufet's - only a la carte. Breakfast was of the traditional Costa Rica type with fresh and good ingredients. The view to the vulcano was terrific! We even experienced a minor earth-quake and a restart of the smoke from the Arenal vulcano.

Do remember to stop by at Pizza John a short walk down the road. You will not regret it.

Go for it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hexedans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA USA
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We love this place because the room has the best view in town, service was wonderful, the staff was very nice and helpful.
Room was very clean are large.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedgula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We visited this place on Feb 17th 2011. Despite we called several times to confirm our reservation, at the time of our arrival no room was on our name. They finally took us to a room that looked dirty and worn down. The bed sheets were stained, the cheap plastic chairs looked like a million years old, the bath room was very dirty as well. The restaurant: we went there to have dinner and even though the personnel was always kind to us, we had to wait more than 30 minutes for our "meal". Really small portions of cold, tasteless, food that was charged like if we had a top dollar gourmet dinner in Paris.
Trying to have a positive attitude, we went to bed to try to rest and hoping for a better day the next day. We ended up sleeping like two hours that night on the cheapest mattress ever. It was impossible to keep the mattress cover on its place because it had no elastic around it.
Needless to say, first thing next morning we packed our bags and went to the front desk to do our check out. Despite our entry form said we were going to stay for two nights, the employees didn't ask for any feedback whatsoever. They just charged us for the room and let us go.
It is very disappointing to see how the owners of a hotel with such an amazing location believe that a nice view is all they need to give the tourist a decent and pleasant stay. Even more with such a huge amount of good hotels that people can pick from on that area.
Next time we will DEFINITELY choose another hotel and in the meantime we will make sure to let our friends know this terrible experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJD_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rablanco, Owner at Arenal Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at our Lodge was not pleasant. I got involved in investigating your case and there was a misunderstanding with the person who called inquiring for room availability. Since she did not want to pay in advance to guarantee the first night, the reservation was not in place. I can understand your irritation once you showed up at the front desk expecting to have a reservation confirmed when actually didn’t occur, what an unpleasant welcome experience! I feel sorry for that, but I truly appreciate your comment and confidence in writing to us, because it raises the bar of our efforts in order to satisfy our guests.

I will search in our records to try to get your contact information because I would like to directly apologize with you. In the meantime, feel free to reach out if you wish to express your concerns.

Thanks for your comments, it help us to improve our service every day.
Regards, Raúl Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Castillo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
1.0 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
685 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
6.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
6.8 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#30 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Vista Lodge

Property: Arenal Vista Lodge
Address: 25 km west from La Fortuna, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 5717, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Vista Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the northwestern region of Costa Rica, 30 minutes away from La Fortuna, in the BiologicalCorridor between Monteverde Reserve and Arenal National Park, our lodge rests marvelously in one of the surrounding hills of the Arenal Lake, enjoying a unique view of the Lake and the Volcano. Coming to our lodge, you will be surrounded by a dense tropical forest, where more than 300 species of birds can be seen, as well as 100 species of mammals and 2500 species of plants and orchids. The Hotel Arenal Vista Lodge was conceived from a prevailing necessity derived from the deficiency of facilities in the Arenal area. We felt the need for a place that took advantage of the natural beauties the area, while offering the national and international tourists the commodities they require in the Biological Corridor between Arenal Volcano National Park and Monteverde Cloud Forest FEATURES: • 25 comfortable rooms, each lodged up to four guests. • Every room includes a private hot water bathroom, walk-in closet and a balcony with spectacular view of the volcano and lake area. • Facilities equipped to care for disabled people. • Restaurant and salad bar with costarrican and international recipes. • Swimming pool, wet-bar, souvenir shop and a meeting room, natural forest trails. Internet facilities. Parking area with 24-hour security • Restaurant, which fits 90 guests, Bar and Souvenir shop • Conference room for 30 people and swimming pool with wet bar • Optional tours: hot springs, canopy, horseback riding, boat rides, transfers to Monteverde. We offer laundry service as well. Special offers for honeymooners, students, families and cycling groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Vista Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Vista Lodge Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing