We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Vista Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Castillo del Arenal(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linda Vista Hotel(El Castillo)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa(Arenal Volcano National Park)
US$206
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$125
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$499
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$273
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lavas Tacotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fuego Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
38
37
25
20
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
37
25
20
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour groupcosta ricatown of la fortunaminute drivebutterfly conservatoryvolcanolakeviewstudentslafortunaaccommodationsbugstrekskyadventure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very simple hotel, oldie decoration and rooms very basic, no TV, no AC, but THAT VIEW!! you can see all the Lake and the Volcano in front of you from all the rooms and from the restaurant. The best place to birding, excellent trails on the property.
Is far from town, is nothing there, you need a 4x4 car or drive carefully, but very close to the National Park and the lake. Food is regular, towels are the worst, pool is small and old and furniture are old as my grandma! Service are very gentle.

Room Tip: Ask rooms from 30 t0 40
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamaria1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Pro:
They leave awesome extras that make you feel special, like folded towels.
The room was clean
The staff was friendly
The food is Awesome!
The pool and hot tub are absolutely amazing.
The shuttle driver from San jose to Arenal was really nice and stopped along the way anywhere we wanted.

Cons:
They do not offer a free shuttle to the La fortuna area so unless you have your own car, you almost have to do a tour becuase paying for a taxi to each place is extremely expensive. (Although this was expected, I thought the staff would be more helpful in giving an honest opinion of the best things to do in the area instead of simply pushing there tours) However, we did the canyoneering tour with desafio (the one offered through the hotel) and loved it! and they helped us set up a taxi so that we could go Zip lining. We also went to the PAradise hot springs which I felt to be slighlty dissapointing. I loved the hotel but for me specifically, I was looking for more of a personalized experience where you get to meet more people and learn more about the country in the place you are sleeping.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view room if they have it available.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveladventure33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Gorgeous sunrise views of the volcano and its adjoining lake while birds and bugs flourish in the sunshine. Clean rooms with balconies, good water pressure, big closet. It's not elegant, but the surroundings sure are! Meals are delicious, especially if you get a spot on the deck to look at the volcano. The staff members were friendly, efficient, smiling- there were tears after our last photos together!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLC775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel several days as part of an EF Tours group touring Costa Rica for 10 days. I loved the generous sized suite we had which had a fantastic view of the lake and volcano behind it. If you want to take your time and unwind with a good book or just relax away from the bustle of tourist attractions you will probably like this spot. Our teenage children enjoyed the well maintained pool but would have gotten bored quickly unless we ventured the 30 to 45 minute drive to most activities. My wife and I would both go back and stay a few days. The children would need to travel to other activities to keep them occupied. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite up on the hill with a porch view of the volcano.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

But old, do not expect anything special but peace and quiet.
Furniture is old, but the views are magnificent. Food was very good. Yes, the road is the BUMPY but it was an adventure.
The view of the volcano is astonishing.

Room Tip: Room # 24 has view and balcony
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews