We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view & the sounds of the Rainforest”
Review of Arenal Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Vista Lodge
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wonderful, friendly staff, great location, basic rooms, did i mention GRREAT LOCATION
never been to a location so stunning...... lake & Volcano..... treated to a chorus of birds/howler monkeys every morning. we stayed at the Vista lodge for 5 nights, very remote, unless you are driving, be prepared to pay for £30 US dollar per trip. Tours are difficult to arrange due to remoteness. we went zip lining, hot springs, horse riding, loads or trekking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

The views of the Arenal volcano are just spectacular from this hotel. Also, in the morning you can hear the howler monkeys if you're not a heavy sleeper. Rooms at this hotel are nothing special, but it was clean. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but manageable. As with other hotels, only the basic soap was included (no shampoo or hairdryer). Our room had a fan to keep air circulating, which was nice. The hotel also had a small pool area, but it wasn't anything exciting. There are some paths on the hotel property that you can take into the forest, so that was nice. As others have mentioned, this property is remote and could be difficult to get to unless you rented a car. Also, there isn't any shopping or restaurants nearby, so you are entirely dependent upon the food they have at the hotel. The food at the hotel was decent enough, but nothing special. They had plenty of fruit and there was also enough food for us to eat well. The parking lot was a bit of a hike from the reception area, but you could drop someone off (with health issues) at reception and then park the car below. I was in a room further from the office and didn't have any WiFi access there. The WiFi signal was definitely the best right near the reception area. Also, this hotel did not have a telephone in the room (in case that's important to you). Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and the staff was pleasant so I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out at the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The view of the Arenal Volcano is breathtaking! However, if you're spending anytime in your hotel room, it's less than desirable. The rooms were dirty, the lock on the door was just a chain, and there are areas all around that are in need of repair (paint, chipped concrete, etc) The food was good!

Room Tip: Ask for the Volcano view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This sweet hotel is two steps below basic, but the staff is so nice, tries so hard to be helpful, is always cheerful, and the chef managed to make me delicious gluten free dairy free meals. We went into the rainforest behind the hotel and were all alone in this magical world where no one was within hearing distance. We didn't see any wildlife, but it was an amazing experience to wander in a rain forest. It poured while we were there and we were dry under the forest canopy. This hotel is not near anything, and the Interbus doesn't serve it. You have to go instead to the Arenal Observatory Lodge (nice views, good lunch, nice desk person who was very helpful getting us to Arenal Vista from Arenal Observatory) and take a cab from there ($25 or so) up a very, very bumpy road. Amazingly, we still enjoyed our stay there despite the fact that the sheets refused to stay on the mattress, and the amenities consisted of a bar of soap and two plastic cups!

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views, but if wifi matters to you we had good luck with it in room 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We checked in late (Around 11p.m.) and the man at the desk was more than helpful getting us to our room.

ROOMS: The Rooms were not anything fancy. However, they offered a nice view of the volcano. Overall the room was clean and spacious. We had towel animals on our bed.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast both mornings we were there was amazing. Their eggs, rice, beans, pineapple and other fruit was all delicious

Random things:
If you want a place close to La Fortuna, anything in the national park is probably not the best choice. From the parking lot to the paved road heading in to La Fortuna was 25 minutes alone. So, be prepared to do some driving if you are wanting to run into town to eat.

You park down a semi-steep hill from where the rooms are, so if you have any health issues, that might be difficult if you do not have anyone who can drive you to the top and then go park the car.

Wifi worked in our rooms, although we were in the rooms closer to the office building, so the others might not get it.

There was 1 fan in the room and with the windows opened, the room was plenty cool at night.

Overall, we stayed at this hotel for $50.00 (We had a groupon for half off the regular 100.00 price)

For 50.00 I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the office if you want wifi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very simple hotel, oldie decoration and rooms very basic, no TV, no AC, but THAT VIEW!! you can see all the Lake and the Volcano in front of you from all the rooms and from the restaurant. The best place to birding, excellent trails on the property.
Is far from town, is nothing there, you need a 4x4 car or drive carefully, but very close to the National Park and the lake. Food is regular, towels are the worst, pool is small and old and furniture are old as my grandma! Service are very gentle.

Room Tip: Ask rooms from 30 t0 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamaria1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Pro:
They leave awesome extras that make you feel special, like folded towels.
The room was clean
The staff was friendly
The food is Awesome!
The pool and hot tub are absolutely amazing.
The shuttle driver from San jose to Arenal was really nice and stopped along the way anywhere we wanted.

Cons:
They do not offer a free shuttle to the La fortuna area so unless you have your own car, you almost have to do a tour becuase paying for a taxi to each place is extremely expensive. (Although this was expected, I thought the staff would be more helpful in giving an honest opinion of the best things to do in the area instead of simply pushing there tours) However, we did the canyoneering tour with desafio (the one offered through the hotel) and loved it! and they helped us set up a taxi so that we could go Zip lining. We also went to the PAradise hot springs which I felt to be slighlty dissapointing. I loved the hotel but for me specifically, I was looking for more of a personalized experience where you get to meet more people and learn more about the country in the place you are sleeping.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view room if they have it available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveladventure33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
1.0 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
697 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
835 reviews
12.5 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#17 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Vista Lodge

Address: 25 km west from La Fortuna, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 5717, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range: £51 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Vista Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the northwestern region of Costa Rica, 30 minutes away from La Fortuna, in the BiologicalCorridor between Monteverde Reserve and Arenal National Park, our lodge rests marvelously in one of the surrounding hills of the Arenal Lake, enjoying a unique view of the Lake and the Volcano. Coming to our lodge, you will be surrounded by a dense tropical forest, where more than 300 species of birds can be seen, as well as 100 species of mammals and 2500 species of plants and orchids. The Hotel Arenal Vista Lodge was conceived from a prevailing necessity derived from the deficiency of facilities in the Arenal area. We felt the need for a place that took advantage of the natural beauties the area, while offering the national and international tourists the commodities they require in the Biological Corridor between Arenal Volcano National Park and Monteverde Cloud Forest FEATURES: • 25 comfortable rooms, each lodged up to four guests. • Every room includes a private hot water bathroom, walk-in closet and a balcony with spectacular view of the volcano and lake area. • Facilities equipped to care for disabled people. • Restaurant and salad bar with costarrican and international recipes. • Swimming pool, wet-bar, souvenir shop and a meeting room, natural forest trails. Internet facilities. Parking area with 24-hour security • Restaurant, which fits 90 guests, Bar and Souvenir shop • Conference room for 30 people and swimming pool with wet bar • Optional tours: hot springs, canopy, horseback riding, boat rides, transfers to Monteverde. We offer laundry service as well. Special offers for honeymooners, students, families and cycling groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Vista Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Vista Lodge Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing