We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Linda Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linda Vista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Room with a view - our room (master suite 24) had full size glass wall and every time you wake up laying on your back you are facing volcano. The balcony in your room is facing volcano. This is real room with the view.

The personnel is very nice an pleasant. Hotel is nice and clean. Sleep quality is great until monkey and birds will wake you up early in the morning, but then they quite again.

Hotel has nice pool overlooking volcano and nice deck overlooking volcano.

Wi-Fi is free and of good speed most of the time.

The food in restaurant is generally good quality. Free breakfast is nothing to talk about. You will need a car (SUV) to get to hotel - its at least 30+ minutes drive from town on very beat up road, which is probably only one minus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VSPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife and I found out this hotel by chance and it was a good surprise!!!
The amazing view from our room was to the volcano. The room was clean and confortable. The only negative point was the distance to the city (40 minutes driving,If I'm not wrong). But, it's part of the adventure!
I recomend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloQ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I LOVED Linda Vista! I made reservations for another B & B up the road, which turned out to be too far. We drove down a few minutes (the terrain is pretty steep and rough) and ran into Hotel Linda Vista and talked to Ana, who was super helpful at showing a variety of rooms for us to choose from. I was blown away by her willingness to help us out. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our gallo pinto with another great employee, Hilbert. He was always up for a talk in English and Spanish and give us recommendations on what to do.
Hotel Linda Vista is in a great location. It's about a 20 min drive to La Fortuna and a hop skip and jump from the volcano and lake where you can hike and kayak, or you can just chill in the restaurant or pool. I highly recommend this place for anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We realized that we wanted to stay here when we read previous reviews about the views! We had no idea how spectacular our stay was going to be! Upon driving up on the hotel we were so impressed with the driveway lined with a tunnel of trees leading up to the top. We reserved our room online through their website and clicked on the promotion- 2 nights for the price of one! This hotel has it all: a view, incredibly nice and helpful reception, delicious restaurant on the premise which included a free breakfast. Although a 20 minute drive into La Fortuna, this hotel location has much to offer. We visited the nearby EcoZoo, Ziplines at SkyTrek, and several area hikes at Arenal and the Observatory were all nearby. We also did a pretty difficult and long day hike of the Cerro Chato volcano. (5 hrs)
It is a ten minute drive to the Tabacon Hot Springs 5 Star resort which is open to the public for $45 at 6:00 pm.
We loved our stay at this hotel, and highly recommend it! Thank you to Brian for the great room, and also to Ana for all her help!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhaywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay in El Castio for 2 nights based on recommendations from our travel book and after staying one night at a resort closer to LaFortuna the lava isn't flowing anymore but this was definitely right for us.

Our experience from the second we drove up to Linda Vista was great. The drive up through the grove of trees is amazing. They greated us and (since we didnt have reservations) gave us lots of room options. We got an amazing room at a great value, it had a full wall of glass doors that looked right out onto the volcano. It came with free breakfast (costa rican or American), which was great and other meals and drinks at the resuraunt were also good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed great pina coladas by the pool one afternoon while taking in the view and it cost us 1/2 as much as it would have at home and ate for 1/4 of what we paid at our resort the night before. It was slow like everyplace because its the rainy season but everyone there was nice and ready to help and the views from the viewing deck/pools were absolutely breathtaking!

The rooms were clean, and modern, ours even had a hair dryer. They had large showers and hot water and a coffee maker and Cable. I think our only complaint was that the beds were not as comfortable as we would have hoped, but it was a small price to pay for such an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

What had already been an incredibly fortunate and amazing trip to CR, got even better when we stumbled upon this place. With no reservations when heading into the Fortuna area, we stopped at a nearby resort and they were full. The security guard actually recommended Linda Vista and told us to talk to Anna. (When coming to Arenal/La Fortuna area, beware that the Arenal Volcano is not in La Fortuna, it is actually in El Castillo. La Fortuna is actually a not so pretty, kinda crowded town 20 minutes away from the volcano).
Upon seeing Linda Vista sitting atop a ledge of the mountain range adjacent to Arenal Volcano, we thought we had wasted our time as we didn't think we could afford this place. When we drove up the steep switchback driveway lined by tall canopy trees and saw all the private suites, we were even more convinced. However, when we met Anna she informed us that we would be getting a free upgrade to a Junior Suite, a full breakfast, and two free drinks all for a price that is less than what you would spend to stay in a Days Inn or some other 2 star hotel. Anna is Awesome.
The rooms are all made of hardwood floors and ceilings with large sliding glass doors with as good of views of the volcano as you can get (the views are better from the rooms then they are from the hiking trails in the National Park!). The beds are big and comfortable, and the hot showers and Costa Rican coffee were very welcoming at the tail end of this vacation. The restaurant and infinity pool overlook the volcano and lake as well. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, toast, cereal, and your choice of an American breakfast of eggs, potatoes, and bacon or a Typical CR breakfast of eggs, rice, and beans. Both are delicious and get your ready for a day of adventure.
The resort will help you arrange your daily activities for free. There is a lot of adventure just down the road and if you want to visit Rio Celeste or Monteverde, these are both within 2 and 3 hours away.
This trip was very special for us as I proposed to my girlfriend while hiking at Rio Celeste. I had told Anna about my plans and asked if she had any ideas for making our return dinner romantic. She said she would handle it. Upon arriving for dinner just after sunset, we found that she had taken the time to set up a single table on the observatory deck, complete with a walkway of candles and flower petals. She did this all by hand herself and put incredible detail and time into making it all beautiful. She even drove 40 minutes round trip into La Fortuna just to buy my fiance a rose. I can't say enough for how wonderful the staff here is, how beautiful the resort is, or how lucky we were to find this place.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dinglefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our third city we visited in Costa Rica and we immediately understood why Lonely Planet warned us about the touristy nature of the area. Mt. Arenal is quite a sight but along with that there are lots of tourists and the infrastructure that comes with it. We hoped to escape most of the tourism in La Fortuna and found this hotel. The hotel was under construction and the common areas like the restaurant, pool and dining areas made that fact even more apparent. Our room was fine and had a decent view of Arenal but overall, the experience was not very unique. The staff, the menu, the facilities all had a very manufactured feel and felt so plain in comparison to our visit in Turrialba. This hotel is a great place to rest your head, but that's about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratherBtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william a, Public Relations Manager at Linda Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear
ratherBtraveling

thank you very much for your comments
I am glad to let you know construction is over, we are not doing any construction anymore
you are welcome to visit us anytime

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
835 reviews
6.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#17 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
252 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linda Vista Hotel

Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linda Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda Vista Hotel is located at El Castillo, just 22 km from La Fortuna downtown. A perfect choice for hikes in the Arenal Volcano National Park or activities on Lake Arenal. There is, however, a nice range of amenities located at the hotel for those that would rather stay put. Guests will enjoy lounging within the hotel's unique three-tiered swimming pool, which affords spectacular views of the volcano, and relaxing jacuzzi. The Loma Linda Restaurant serves up a nice variety of international and national meals, including a large free breakfast every morning. Guests in need of libations can visit the bar, which is stocked with beers, wines, juices, liquors and more. The rooms at Linda Vista are clean and spacious. Tile floors extend to private terraces, where guests can sit and enjoy astounding views of the Arenal Volcano. All rooms are equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, a/c, and coffee maker. Wireless internet helps guests to stay connected to friends and family at home, while an in-room safe ensures that valuables remain secure. The Badilla's would love to share the secrets and beauty of this area with you and your friends or family! General Information Hotel Facilities & Services: Safe deposit box Mini bar Wet bar Swimming pool (for adults & kids) Jacuzzi Restaurant Bar Free WiFi Laundry Service - We accept all Credit Cards Accommodations: All rooms come equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, terrace, coffee maker, safe deposit box, and wireless internet. Standard Room - these rooms have one double and one single bed. They do not have a volcano view and can sleep up to three people. Junior Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini bar, hairdryer, satellite TV, and a private parking lot. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Master Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini fridge, hairdryer, private terrace, coffee maker, satellite TV, bathrobes, and an iron. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Honeymoon Suite - this suite has one queen size bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, bathtub, hairdryer, coffee maker, private terrace, satellite TV, PC station, and a private parking lot. It has a volcano view and can sleep up to two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Linda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linda Vista Del Norte Hotel
Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte
Linda Vista Hotel Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing