We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view!”
Review of Linda Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linda Vista Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Best view!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has one of the best views of both the lake and volcano in the area. Our room opened out to the view of the lake and volcano and it was spectacular to wake up each morning. The open air hot tub was also great for relaxation. All the staff were very courteous and helpful. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone.

The primary negative of this place is the road you need to take to get there. It's about 8km long, unpaved and VERY bumpy. It will be best to have an SUV or 4-wheel drive. At night the road is a bit intimidating so you have to take it slowly and carefully. The only other con I would say is the food... It was not bad, but just not that great... Meh!

Overall, this is a great place, beautiful ambience, spectacular views and decently priced. Well recommend others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    265
    81
    30
    11
See reviews for
151
366
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were hesitant with this hotel when we first booked it due to its location out of La Fortuna, but i'm glad we decided to book it. It is about 20 minutes away from La Fortuna, and the hotel offers a shuttle at 8:00 and 15:00 for only 6 bucks a person which was convenient! I would also reccomend eating at the hotel, it is very far to get to another restaurant. The food was absolutely amazing, and very well priced! The pool was beautiful with great views. Ana helped us figure out our whole stay in the area, and she was very helpful and friendly. The rooms and washrooms were very spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

It has it's pros and cons but overall I would recommend. The staff was amazing, they were so helpful and professional! The chef at the restaurant made the best food we had in Costa Rica and the prices were affordable. What we did not expect was a poor wifi signal throughout our stay, uncomfortable/small bed, uncomfortable pillows, no air conditioning, and the power went out on our last day but all our devices that were plugged in were ok. A lot to there and the receptionist is more than happy to set up tours for you and give directions. We enjoyed our time there, we just wished the room accommodations were a bit better.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maryama89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Fantastic location overlooking the lake and
at the foot of the volcano!! Large clean rooms,
and those with a view, are a delight.
Beautiful grounds, excellent food, wonderful pool and
very professional staff. This is the second time we
stay there and we will return, for sure!

Room Tip: rooms with a view are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 565Liva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location Location Location! Hotel is located a bit far from civilization, so get ready to spend some $$ on transportation. Other than that, everything else can only be summed up by WOW. Ambiance, views, air, food and hotel staff were superb and we had 3 amazing days at Arenal. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pschaften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our experience with this hotel did not start in the best way... Upon arrival I checked "how to arrive" information and as there was nothing alarming, just forgot about it. The map showed a road on the south side of the lake and it looked like 1 hour drive (we were coming from Monteverde). The problem is that to go there from Monteverde it would be either the paved road on the north of the Arenal lake or the unpaved road on the south of the lake (which neither the map, not the hotel said). Of course, we had no time to go from the north, so with all the detailed instructions by the locals we set around 4 pm from the south side. It still took us more than 4hrs and it was an adventure :). There were nearly no road signs, the road was a dirt and stones narrow path (other maps don't even show it, as we found out later), we had to cross like 6 rivers, including the last one which we reached at dark and it was too large to see where/if the road continued on the other side. So we came back several km to the first (and only) house to ask for advice how to cross that river and at which point :). Indeed, we found the continuation of the road. So much for the arrival information. Btw, I tried to call the hotel at least 4-5 times around 7 pm, to ask for driving instructions and nobody answered. If you don't arrive from Monteverde, but from Arenal, the roads are normal, you only have several km of the unpaved road. If the hotel had provided the necessary information, we would have not lost all the time and our impressions would have been much different.
Once we reached the hotel, things started to be better :) The views are absolutely gorgeous and all the setting too. Rooms and the bathroom are normal, very big and spacious, although not of the last fashion. Wi-fi worked well. The balcony with the views of Arenal lake is great.
We had a dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was just OK. The fajitas tasted good, but were cold. Breakfast was also just acceptable. In fact, there is only a buffet for fruit and then you can choose between continental or American breakfast. Neither was neither abundant nor excellent. Just OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_erre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Ok first off, make sure you rent an SUV and get the GPS; you're going to need it. I drove from SJO and google maps did not work but thankfully I played it safe and got the GPS. Also make sure you type in the hotel exactly as it's listed here. When I was about 8km away, I realized the last 8km was on an unpaved road to get there.
I passed many hotels on the way in at La Fortuna that I did not find on net and had vacancies posted. This hotel is in El Castillo which is a small hamlet down that unpaved road. The views are breathtaking and the hotel is clean yet the rooms are in dire need of a makeover and the price per night I found to be a tad high. If seclusion is what you're looking for, this place is it.....at least my first night, tonight the neighbors down the dirt road seem to be throwing a loud party for all the ticos and it really destroys the ambience if you want to reflect. Don't get me wrong, I like this hotel but it's not worth $115 per night especially if you are driving down a dirt road to find solitude and instead find loud music from down the hill in the middle of a rain forest!
The views are amazing, but you might as well drive on up, just take the pics and leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickc2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
6.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,853 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,300 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linda Vista Hotel

Property: Linda Vista Hotel
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Linda Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda Vista Hotel is located at El Castillo, just 22 km from La Fortuna downtown. A perfect choice for hikes in the Arenal Volcano National Park or activities on Lake Arenal. There is, however, a nice range of amenities located at the hotel for those that would rather stay put. Guests will enjoy lounging within the hotel's unique three-tiered swimming pool, which affords spectacular views of the volcano, and relaxing jacuzzi. The Loma Linda Restaurant serves up a nice variety of international and national meals, including a large free breakfast every morning. Guests in need of libations can visit the bar, which is stocked with beers, wines, juices, liquors and more. The rooms at Linda Vista are clean and spacious. Tile floors extend to private terraces, where guests can sit and enjoy astounding views of the Arenal Volcano. All rooms are equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, a/c, and coffee maker. Wireless internet helps guests to stay connected to friends and family at home, while an in-room safe ensures that valuables remain secure. The Badilla's would love to share the secrets and beauty of this area with you and your friends or family! General Information Hotel Facilities & Services: Safe deposit box Mini bar Wet bar Swimming pool (for adults & kids) Jacuzzi Restaurant Bar Free WiFi Laundry Service - We accept all Credit Cards Accommodations: All rooms come equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, terrace, coffee maker, safe deposit box, and wireless internet. Standard Room - these rooms have one double and one single bed. They do not have a volcano view and can sleep up to three people. Junior Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini bar, hairdryer, satellite TV, and a private parking lot. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Master Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini fridge, hairdryer, private terrace, coffee maker, satellite TV, bathrobes, and an iron. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Honeymoon Suite - this suite has one queen size bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, bathtub, hairdryer, coffee maker, private terrace, satellite TV, PC station, and a private parking lot. It has a volcano view and can sleep up to two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Linda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linda Vista Del Norte Hotel
Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte
Linda Vista Hotel Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing