We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rancho Margot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Margot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I came to Rancho Margot for our honeymoon the second week of November. We are SO glad that we chose to stay there! The food is delicious, the staff is exceedingly friendly, and the nature surroundings are simply stunning. We had the perfect balance of relaxation and adventure. Definitely go on the Cerro Chato hike if you can, and request Oscar to be your guide! He was a pleasure to hang out with for 5 hours. Also, treat yourself to an aromatherapy massage with Danny in the outdoor massage area with a stream running below. It was the best massage I have EVER gotten. Thank you Rancho Margot for making our honeymoon a perfect start to our married lives! We plan on coming back to Rancho Margot for future anniversaries!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
It was such an absolute pleasure to host you at Rancho Margot and we are so excited to have been your first stop in your new life together. Your kind words are most humbly read by us here in the rainforest and we sincerely hope to get updates about your future endeavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    53
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
105
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was an amazing experience to say the least. We arrived in San Jose and Rented a car to travel to the Ranch. The drive was beautiful, through tiny quaint towns and the drive to the ranch provided a free massage from the bumpy roads. The bungalow we stayed in had amazing views and the surroundings were truly spectacular. We were surrounded by nature and felt at one with our surroundings. The staff was VERY friendly and accommodating. One afternoon for lunch, I mentioned some "belly" discomfort and was surprised by a cup of ginger tea from ginger from the garden. Very thoughtful and unexpected! The food was amazing and everything was tasty and freshly prepared. Our favorite person on the ranch by far was Oscar our guide, our experience was truly made by him. He was open, honest, careful, and knowledgeable. He spent 5 hours with us trekking through the rainforest to Cerro Chato. We loved him!!! He has a quite sense of connection with his surroundings that helps you find a spiritual connection to the land, the people and the experience of Rancho Margot and Costa Rica. Tuanes.

Ranch Margot is not for everyone, you must be open to an experience that will change you forever. In my opinion to change you must stray from your comfort zone and be open to new experiences in new environments.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunoll2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share with others your experience at Rancho Margot. We are so thankful that you enjoyed your time here and will certainly pass your kind words on to Oscar. We sincerely hope to see you both again in the future!

¡PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Yikes I hated this place. Once you drive 40 minutes up a mangled dirt road you finally get to Rancho Margot. There is nothing even remotely around as far as convenient stores or grocery stores or even other restaurants. You're stranded. The staff was friendly but there was something about Rancho Margot that screamed green washing. I don't buy they're attempts to be sustainable in the least. I hardly recognized any of the food from the garden to actually be in the meals! Maybe some lettuce here and there and a chicken. On the ranch tour I saw some guy washing paint out of a bucket and the paint was going right into a channel that led to the garden! Disgusting! The owner Juan seemed sketchy. Overall I didn't enjoy my experience and wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simonsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your very honest feedback as it gives us a platform on which to improve and also, to realize the various perceptions of certain visitors to Rancho Margot. We are sincerely sorry that you left unsatisfied.

We completely recognize that the Ranch is not for everyone, and we try to be as transparent about this as possible on our website and with our slogan alone: "Where the Middle of Nowhere is Somewhere Special." We encourage guests to obtain toiletries, cash, and fulfill their supermarket needs before coming to the Ranch because yes, we are 26km from La Fortuna. If people are looking for a completely disconnected sustainable retreat, then as our previous reviews can attest, Rancho Margot is the perfect place for this. If people want bars, nightclubs and to grab Doritos when they're feeling snack-ish, then the Rancho may disappoint.

Regarding our attempts to be sustainable: Rancho Margot is 100% off the grid (you may not have noticed, but not a single power liner here!) and we produce 99% of our energy needs with hydro-electric turbines, bio-digesters and compost ovens. All lactic (milk, yogurt, cheese) products, eggs and meats are produced at Rancho Margot using mostly ranch resources. Vegetables are 80% from the ranch, while grains only 10% and fruits 40%.

We underwent the strictest of examinations under the international PAS 2060 norms to certify our negative carbon footprint and we continually strive to improve on what we do. Rancho Margot is not perfect, it may never be perfect, but it is nevertheless a very good start.

Ultimately, It saddens us to hear of your experience. We welcome you to share with us any relevant examples of other places offering the luxury and breadth of successful sustainable processes that the majority of our guests experience at Rancho Margot - those which you seemingly mistook for "green washing."

¡PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. The people, the food, the land, the views, the dogs will make you fall in love with Rancho Margot. There is nothing to do but be with yourself and open your eyes to a different but holy way of living. The owner is very accessible and will share with you lots of wisdom. I can't wait to go again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and positive feedback! It was a pleasure to host you at Rancho Margot and we sincerely hope to see you again in the future. !PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our group on 10 lady friends had a fantastic experience (adventure) at Rancho Margot!! We stayed for two nights in the wonderful bungalows. Our experience started with an introductory tour to learn about the facilities and the botanical gardens, which were magnificent. The food was fantastic and so healthy. With it being the rainy season, I do have to say it did rain quite a bit, but it is wonderful to sit in the hammock on the porch and stay dry and watch it rain. There were a few bugs to contend with, but actually much less than I had expected. The yoga was amazing, horseback riding for $35.00 dollars. I would definitely recommend this place for someone looking for a different unique style lodging for a few days. The staff is so friendly and willing to help out with anything we needed, including umbrellas and flashlights!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenm598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Rancho Margot. It was such a pleasure to host you and your friends here at the Ranch during your visit to Costa Rica! For days our staff was talking about the amazing energy you brought with you and we sincerely hope to see each of you again in the future. PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at Rancho Margot for two weeks by myself….but wasn’t really by myself at all! Upon arrival it took only minutes to meet fascinating people and to be sucked into the Rancho Margot experience. I suppose if you wanted time alone you could find it, but there were just so many wonderful people on the staff and amongst the guests that it would be a shame to isolate oneself. I stayed in both the bunkhouse (met so many people there) and later in a bungalow (wow what a gorgeous space!) The employees and volunteers were all charming, helpful, accommodating, and knowledgeable on topics such as sustainable living, politics, adventure, travel….I truly enjoyed everyone I met. The owner, Juan has many fascinating ideas to share and I know he will continue to develop this community into something simply terrific. I HIGHLY recommend this ranch, particularly if you are traveling solo. I also took Spanish classes from Ivannia and had a blast. I also went horseback riding and hiking, caught rides into town, and spent an afternoon at a nearby hot spring. For the adventurous and eco conscious traveler, this is your spot!! I will return!

Room Tip: There are NO bad places to sleep on this entire property. You will love it all. If you want more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gringo-in-Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for your visit to Rancho Margot! It's such a pleasure to hear from everyone who shares in this magical land, and we sincerely hope to see you again in the future! With Regards and ¡PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here during July 2013 with family (two adults, 4 teenagers). Food - as much as you can eat so great value with hungry teenagers. Lovely fresh salads, breakfasts were great too.

We stayed in the bungalows which had great views over the valley. Yes the ranch is a bit out of Monteverde but the children could roam around the grounds freely and they loved the swimming pool which was very warm because it was heated by the pizza oven! They had fun milking the cows in the morning as well.

We did acttivities in Monteverde and the trip to and from the ranch was not that bad, an extra 20 minutes or so but worth it. When our hiking shoes got very wet canyoning the staff were kind enough to dry our shoes out at the back of the pizza oven. So helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LargeFamilyGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Rancho! We're thrilled to hear that you and your children had a pleasant stay with us and so look forward to keeping in touch! PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
12.4 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Margot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Margot

Property: Rancho Margot
Address: 3km beyond El Castillo | La Fortuna de San Carlos, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Margot 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL RESERVATIONS AT RANCHO MARGOT INCLUDE DAILY BREAKFAST, LUNCH AND DINNER FROM OUR CHEMICAL-FREE GARDENS. ADDITIONALLY, 2-HOUR GUIDED RANCH TOUR AND TWICE DAILY YOGA CLASSES ARE INCLUDED WITH EVERY OVERNIGHT STAY.On the hills of Rancho Margot, you will find our 17 deluxe bungalows. The Caño Negro river whisper will guide you to the most peaceful rest possible, only to wake up the next day with the loud call of the howler monkeys. Hidden in our botanical gardens are bungalows, equipped to house couples or families of up to 4 people. Each bungalow has its own terrace on which you may enjoy the incredible view while relaxing on your hammock with a great book. Bungalows feature Orthopedic mattresses and are available with two queen beds or one queen bed and two singles. Additional amenities include mosquito netting, rocking chair, table & chairs, and handmade soaps. Each bungalow is equipped with a private bathroom with shower.Our vision is to protect our sustainable rainforest facility but also to make it an educational playground for adults and children alike, where we can inspire a new generation of global citizens to continue ‘closing the circle.’Rancho Margot is a family enterprise where everyone is welcome. We’re living our dream, and we invite you to join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Margot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Margot Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park
Rancho Margot Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing