We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrerets
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“In the details”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay at this historical hotel. Passed on from generations, you can feel new life being brought back by the current owners. The cuisine is amazing, the community area is great for kids and adults alike . Even a guitar at your disposition. The view over the river is just charming. I recommend this hotel to families , couples, and friends traveling together. It's not a party spot, but is sure to keep you happy. About 1km from the Pech Merle prehistoric cave, it's well placed between kayaking and a visit to St Cirq La Popie.
Limitatons: The rooms have thin walls and are basic But they are very clean and spacious. Overall highly recommended. Try the lamb!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lip_Aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldesgrottes, Gérant at Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for your kind message, all the staff will be pleased to welcome you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    41
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We dined at the restaurant this week and to say it was good would not do the justice it deserved. It was wonderful. The service, the food and the quality is the best we have had in the region for quite some time. And we know the Valley du Lot very well as we have a house in the nearby village. Thanks to the chef and the owners. Lots of stars from us and we will recommend the place to all,our friends

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 149Vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldesgrottes, Gérant at Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your kind message, all the Hotel Restaurant des Grottes' staff would be glad to welcome you back on the terrace !

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brsitol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

While driving through the area we found this hotel for a nights sleep. Loved it. Very comfortable, beautiful location, great service. Wanted to stay but had to move on the next day. Comfortable rooms, plenty of size and the food was good for evening meal and breakfast. Loved the area to watch the river drift by

Room Tip: The place is so quiet and relaxing in May any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Jessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A very traditional, family owned and run small hotel - perfect location for visiting the site of Pech Merle and others along the dramatic river. Lovely terrace overlooking the water, small swimming pool and excellent restaurant. The only drawback is lack of air-conditioning, which seems typical of small hotels in the area, and the rooms are quite small and old-fashioned, but adequate. Very pleasant staff and atmosphere - the restaurant seems to be popular in itself, deservedly. Breakfast is an extra 7 EU.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It is a charming place off the beaten tourist path and we are delighted to spend time here and visit the nearby Grottos. The hotel is a serene environment from which to explore the surrounding countryside. The lively village has its own boulangerie, post office, supermarket and numerous restaurants - the food is amazing at the hotel with al fresco dining.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Lola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrerets
2.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Falaises
Hotel Les Falaises
#1 of 1 in Bouzies
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel-restaurant Du Causse
Hotel-restaurant Du Causse
#1 of 1 in Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Gabarres
Hotel Les Gabarres
#2 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Auberge de la Sagne
Hotel Auberge de la Sagne
#2 of 2 in Cabrerets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel la Truite Doree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle

Property: Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle
Address: Lieu Dit le Bourg, 46330 Cabrerets, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cabrerets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrerets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing