We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting, stunning place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A beautiful little B&B tucked away in the fields of Risby. The owners, Adam & Juliet, were welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. I couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: Any one will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggins505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

My partner and I recently visited the Highwaymans and feel it met our needs entirely. The grounds were beautiful, the owners were polite and welcoming and the food was delicious. I highly recommend this B&B to any Bury newcomers. It's a great base to learn about the historic surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at the Highwaymans for our anniversary. The setting of the B&B which is tucked away on acres of farmland was so peaceful & relaxing. Stepped out onto the patio around 3 a.m. and I couldn’t believe how many stars I was able to see. Even though I was only 30 minutes from home, I felt like I was a world away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Position of B&B. Other guests. Breakfast was acceptable. Room quite a good size as was the bathroom. Quantity of towels good.

Owners away. Shown to our room by a young man from the gallery? Not very clear about things. Cleanliness not that good. Certainly not crisp bed linen on bed,to the point we were not sure if the bed had been changed from previous guests. Room not been vacuumed thoroughly. Spent 5 minutes getting flies out of bedroom windows when we first got to the room. Later when we returned from having a meal in town and put on the bathroom light it was like a scene from a Hitchcock movie. There was an infestation of dead and living flies in the bathroom light fitting. We were too tired and not sure who we should contact as the place seemed deserted. So we used the bathroom without putting the light on and decided to discuss after breakfast with the owners. We don't like making a fuss. We were not going to pay the full amount due because of the distress of the flies but were told by the very nice lady serving breakfast that the owners would take the remaining amount from our credit card, (we had paid half as a deposit) without the owners there there was little we could do. Flies are clearly a problem at the Highwayman and the light fittings apparently have to be cleaned weekly, but clearly it was the wrong week for our room. Can't really recommend this B& B sorry.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Atravellingcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliet F, Owner at Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Bed & Breakfast home. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we truly are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our top priority. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed and ready to enjoy your day.
Having read your review it is truly heart breaking, especially as we very rarely get to go away ourselves, it was a shame that we were not around as owners to speak to – however the lady looking after the B&B whilst we were away – would so much have addressed your issues. We strive SOOOOO hard as an establishment and are SOOOO aware of the high standards of cleanliness etc to adhere to. Our staff would have been there in a heart beat to make sure that things would have been straight for you. To be honest due to our rural location and the time of year – we do get some cluster flies – they are simply looking for hibernation for the winter months. They are harmless creatures and as we have had a mild autumn with beautiful sunny afternoons that has been what’s happened. Obviously having written your review, putting it on a second site and not having replied to an earlier email to you, you have had you comeuppance. We certainly are not the right place to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

On a rainy day. Truly a pleasure to arrive and to receive a warm welcome from Juliette and Adam, the owners.
I stayed just one night, slept well in a lovely room with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. The room and ensuite bathroom was spotless and so very comfortable. All amenities provided including TV and hairdryer, shampoo etc.
I was offered a full English breakfast which I did not have time to eat as I had a train to catch.
The art gallery was lovely with some beautiful artwork and crafts made by local artists. Toasty warm, spacious, refreshments including home made cake available on request at a good value price.
I would definitely visit again when it that part of the world. Only 10 minutes from the delightful town of Bury St Edmunds. Thank you so much for the country house experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed with five other couples. We were a scary party, aside from the numbers, we were dressed for Halloween weekend! We were a mixture of family and friends, What a house! Such a lovely setting, with amazing rooms. All of our party thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Juliet, Adam and the family made us welcome, and we had a superb breakfast -thanks Adam!
So much space to roam around in, and an excellent gallery to visit to boot.
We'll definitely be booking again - thank you!

Room Tip: All of our rooms were spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leglesslil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed overnight B&B and found it very welcoming and friendly. Very quiet and comfortable. The downside was the amount of flies, both dead and alive, but what do you expect from a building in the middle of acres of fields? Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. I would highly recommend Highwaymans.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7tno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliet F, Owner at Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! - Its typical at this time of the year - with the most specific cleaning structure in place - you are quite right - the joys of living in the middle of the countryside.
Caption attached re Cluster Flies -
During the summer and early autumn cluster flies are of no importance. As the season cools they seek shelter in nooks and crannies in houses and other buildings.
Do hope that we will welcome you back to Highwaymans in the near future.
Many Thanks - Adam and Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risby
4.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
537 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,270 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering

Address: Cavenham Lane, Heath Barn Farm, Risby IP28 6QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Risby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Risby
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Self Catering Guest House. Perfect for the traveler requesting privacy and own access. Holiday homes available. All self catering. Communal kitchen if required during your stay. No meal options. At check in & check out - staff may not be available - keys and payment will all be informed. Please do contact Highwaymans directly for any further communication and questions. Many Thanks - Juliet Owner/Manager Please NOTE - *Family Home - Children and Pets onsite* *Self Catering Guest House, No meal options available - there is use of kitchen* *Owner not always available for check in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highwaymans Rooms & Self Catering Risby, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing