We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in every way apart from our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely in every way apart from our room”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We had booked with another couple. Their room was one of the newly renovated ones. They had a lovely bathroom with big tub. Ours-an un-refurbished room. It was fine, but basic I suppose. The bed was big and very comfy. BUT, the ensuite was the size of a cupboard. It was beautifully finished in marble and granite, just to give you an idea-the towel rail was up on the wall above the loo, so unless you were 6 ft tall you couldn't reach to hang anything up; the basin jutted out in front of the loo and the shower and there was barely enough shelf space to put anything. The whole space was about the size of a single bed. I suppose it wouldn't have been so bad if we hadn't had our friends' room to compare it with, but, all the same, this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel!!!

HOWEVER-the food was superb and the service charming. The spa and pool are great. The location is excellent, though I would not advise this as a spot for a beginner as the slopes are all pretty steep around the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with only an en-suite shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBux18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    14
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
40
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We just got back from our trip to Hochgurl and our stay at Top Hotel.
From the moment you get out of the car from the moment you leave you get pamperred.
The hotel has beautiful appointed suites of which some has been renovated over the past year and not without succes.. The new room a bright, well appointed and terrific beds.
What more do you want than to get up in the morning, enjoy a good breakfast, grab you skies and on the slopes. No waiting to get up and well prepared slopes.
Hotel has a great sun terras and for guest the reserve a table on the terras every day if you want too.
The food on the terras and in the evening is from a very high standard and have never been able to find anything what hasn't been delicious and the choice is more than enough(main course possibilities are Fish, Meat and Vegaterian)
Hotel is managed well by the Schreiber familie and staff is working hard to provide all one is looking for.
Skiservices in the store below the hotel is perfect
Although the prices are at the high end of expectations, its worthwhile the fun and pleasure you get from on the slopes hotel with high service and would definately recommend the hotel.
Be back next year

Room Tip: not really necessary as all room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seeshaupt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Perfect location (2150m and right on the lift station) in one of the 10 best skiing resorts globally. The owner family also runs the ski-lifts, sports shops and the mountain restaurants. The slopes are daily perfectly prepared, lift investments are significant, opening a perfect resort for every kind of skier. The hotel is very well kept, chalet type with suites including fire places. Cuisine is at a very high standard and food selection is wide. The wine list is extensive and offers high quality selections. The Spa is spacious, the 25 m pool is accompanied by in- and outside whirlpools, saunas (steam, standard and bio), cold and hot rooms and quit relaxation areas. All sorts of treatments are offered. Very Tyrollean style and very warm atmosphere. The owners and the management are visible and attentive. The beds/matrasses, linens and covers/cushions are very comfortable. This all has a price ( Five Star Relais&Chateau). One is happy to pay the premium due to the location and the food quality of the menus offered, yet service should be more personal and could be improved with two additional staff members and less turnover. Service suffered from understaffing and food prices at lunch appear expensive for the portions offered. Breakfast offers a wide selection and fresh pastry and juices.The skiing resort is perfect and makes us return (this was our fifth visit), yet service quality and price-value relationship needs to be watched.

Room Tip: The suites are recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lustsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Top Hotel in Hochgurgl is a ski-in/ski-out hotel right on the piste, with a wonderful southern orientation and great views. The chalet type hotel is old fashioned Tyrolean in style, very very cosy and several of the rooms have really well-functioning fireplaces that are easy to light. Unfortunately we did not have time to try the spa-wellness facilities, but the giant outdoor jacuzzi set in the snow certainly looked very inviting. The ground floor of the hotel houses the skishop and skilockers, which completes the feeling of convenience. The hotel operates under a halfboard concept if you want. And the halfboard dinner was wonderful, with good choices and no feeling of dining hall at all. The 'Speisesal' was actually arranged over several smaller salongs/rooms, and it really felt like an intimate à la carte restaurant. Great lunch-time outdoor serving in full sun. Very dog-friendly hotel. Really friendly and super service-minded staff throughout the hotel, some of the best service we have had in a long time. The lobbybar makes a GREAT gin&tonic, try the Martin Miller gin, with sliced fresh strawberries and a dash of black pepper, your choice of tonic. Only serious downside was that smoking was allowed in the lobby bar, which is really the only hang-out in the afternoon or evenings after dinner. It got quite smoky very quickly, which made us opt for retiring to the room instead. We would definitely go back with the kids another time, if they change their smoking policy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Top Hotel. This is a very special experience. It is a fine hotel with wonderful communal areas and fine cuisine. The hotel is right on the slopes and you fall out of the reception onto the lift and back again to the door when you are finished.

We booked a last minute trip in mid January. The package was for 5 nights. Because the hotel is an hour and a half from Innsbruck airport we managed to get on our skis by lunchtime on the first day and also skied on the morning of our departure so it felt more like a full week. Skiing in Hochgurgl and Obergurgl is a bit limited and good skiers could ski all the runs in one day. There are very few difficult runs and the resort is best for intermediates. You could not describe the slopes as pretty because it is so high the resort it is above the tree line. On the flip side it is very reliable for snow. A weekly ski ticket allows you to ski in Solden for one day for a 10 euro surchage, which provides some variety.

The hotel is a definite attraction. The main bar and reception area is a rustic delight. Lots of wood mixed with fabrics that are a pleasure to behold. Our room was comfortable and functional although it was one of the cheaper ones. It had a small separate seating area and a bath and shower. The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet except for the lift being in close proximity but that wasn't too much of a problem.

The SPA is very special with a decent sized swimming pool, three saunas, an outside and inside jacuzzi, a wet room and a cold room. It also had a relaxing room with heated water mattresses to relax on afterwards.

The restaurant is excellent with some very fine dining. There is a separate 'relais Chateaux' menu but the standard menu was quite good enough. The breakfast too was faultless with true fresh orange juice.

If I had a complaint it was that the place is a bit impersonal. They don't seem to remember whether you are return visitors or not. This is probably because this is quite a large hotel with a high staff turnover. All in all this is a hotel that you come away from thinking you have been somewhere special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennisnuts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

It is a nice hotel , especially the location with access to the lifts in front of the door.

SPA is nice

Food is nice although they would not deserve a michelin 1 stars.

Staff is very medium with sometimes unfriendly people

Staff is only friendly with German and Austrian. The rest (Benelux, UK, etc. ) is just an extra income. A very big income because very expensive .Not worth

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank BaltazarBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My wife and I have just returned from the Top Hotel. It was brillaint in all respects, the staff were 100%, food was superb, and the owners of the Hotel, The Scheiber Family, were very friendly too. We had a suite that overlooked the piste and down the valley too. We even had our own log fire with "real wood", not a fake gas one.
Well done on your 50th Anniversary which you celebrated on the 5th Feb, looking forward to the next 50 years. Thank you for making us both feel so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNobles58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hochgurgl
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madeleine
Hotel Madeleine
#1 of 33 in Obergurgl
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bergwelt
Hotel Bergwelt
#2 of 33 in Obergurgl
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olymp Hotel
Olymp Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hochgurgl
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Hotel Hochgurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Hotel Hochgurgl

Property: Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Address: Hochgurglerstrasse 8, Hochgurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl > Hochgurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Hotel Class:4 star — Top Hotel Hochgurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.The Top Ho­tel Hochgur­gl is lo­cat­ed at an al­ti­tude of 2150 m in the high­est ski­ing vil­lage of the alps and be­longs to fam­i­ly Scheiber since 1961. The slopes of the Ober­gur­gl-Hochgur­gl ski­ing area- sev­er­al times distin­guished as one of the 10 Best Ski­ing Ar­eas in the world-strech out di­rect­ly in frot of the ho­tel. On the sun­ny side of the moun­tains you will find the on­ly ho­tel with peace, com­fort and ser­vice of an in­ter­na­tio­n­al Ho­tel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Top Hotel Hochgurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing