We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something for everyone at Top Hotel Hochgurgl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“something for everyone at Top Hotel Hochgurgl”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful hotel,location,food,service and lovely staff especially in the restaurant, Gergely and Martina. Spa and ski service excellent. Can not fault rooms or cleanliness of hotel. Good fun, high class and we would go back.

Room Tip: High rooms at the front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romeBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top Hotel H, Manager at Top Hotel Hochgurgl, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear rome Buddy,

first of all thank you for your kind and honest comment. We will pass you feedback on to the whole TOP Hotel Team.

We are pleased to hear that we reached your expectations and hope to continue so in future, as we would be honoured to welcome you back in Hochgurgl soon!

With best regards,

Family Scheiber & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    14
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
40
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Set in wonderful surroundings high up in the Alps this is a charming family run hotel which provides all you could ask for. From the moment you walk in through the door you are made to feel at home and the staff at reception (and indeed throughout the hotel) are incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are extremely well appointed with the most comfortable beds I have discovered in the Austrian Alps. The location next to the slopes is ideal since you just need to step out of your skis to enter the hotel. The spa facilities are first class with the biggest indoor swimming pool I have seen at a ski resort. The outdoor jacuzzi with its panoramic views of the mountains is a great place to unwind. There is a varied and interesting menu for dinner with an extensive wine list. The ski shop in the basement of the hotel makes the process of hiring ski equipment very easy, especially after a long journey. I could not recommend this hotel more highly and we are definitely planning to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top Hotel H, Inhaber at Top Hotel Hochgurgl, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Andrew T ,

first of all thank you for your kind and honest comment. We will pass you feedback on to the whole TOP Hotel Team.

We are pleased to hear that we reached your expectations and hope to continue so in future, as we would be honoured to welcome you back in Hochgurgl soon!

With best regards,

Family Scheiber & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from the best skiing holiday I ever had. Everything was perfect: The skiing conditions, the service at the hotel (I was ill when I arrived but the staff did everything they could to make me feel better - eg. got pills for me from the pharmacy), the excellent food, the wonderful room facing the slopes, the spa area including the fantastic outside hot pool.
We are going back next year - that's for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsebeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top Hotel H, Inhaber at Top Hotel Hochgurgl, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Elsebeth V,

first of all thank you for your kind and honest comment. We will pass you feedback on to the whole TOP Hotel Team.

We are pleased to hear that we reached your expectations and hope to continue so in future, as we would be honoured to welcome you back in Hochgurgl soon!

With best regards,

Family Scheiber & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel has real charm and character, with friendly and helpful staff and brilliant service.

The hotel itself is quite traditional but full of character and there has been clear attention to detail with next to no signs of wear and tear that you normally see in hotels (even the 5* ones), and some really beautiful and unique touches all over the place. The pool area is great with a good size pool and an outdoor jacuzzi that allows you to watch the skiiers come down!

The restaurant is also brilliant, staff are particularly attentive and the food is brilliant. If the weather is nice then they open up the terrace outside which is a great spot to stop for lunch. In terms of location for those looking to do winter sports, it could not be better, you leave the hotel and in less than a minutes walk are at the first chairlift. (We did also have a member of our party that didn't ski and was more than happy in the hotel!!)

I genuinely find it difficult to find fault with this hotel, in particular I would like to mention that Phillip who looked after us for dinner and lunch everyday was particularly attentive, choosing different wines for us to try every night and really could not do enough for us.

All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel.

As a final note, for anyone wanting skiing lessons/guide Heike from the Hochgurgl Ski School looked after us and was brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top Hotel H, Inhaber at Top Hotel Hochgurgl, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Hannah,

first of all thank you for your kind and honest comment. We will pass you feedback on to the whole TOP Hotel Team.

We are pleased to hear that we reached your expectations and hope to continue so in future, as we would be honoured to welcome you back in Hochgurgl soon!

With best regards,

Family Scheiber & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

we , my wife and I together with a group of friends, stayed for the 4 th time one week end January, and as always we had a real recreative holiday, this is one of the best hotels we know for skiing. Food, Spa , atmosphere is unique and the fact that we put on the skies in front of the door makes it so comfprtable and perfect.

Room Tip: we recommend delux or suite with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrold emil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top Hotel H, Manager at Top Hotel Hochgurgl, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Wrold emi...,

first of all thank you for your kind and honest comment. We will pass you feedback on to the whole TOP Hotel Team.

We are pleased to hear that we reached your expectations and hope to continue so in future, as we would be honoured to welcome you back in Hochgurgl soon!

With best regards,

Family Scheiber & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just got back from an excellent skiing trip in Austria. Though most of Europe suffers from very little or no snow, skiing conditions at Hochgurgl were excellent. And what added to the experience is an amazing and quiet property - Top Hotel Hochgurgl.

Part of Relais & Chateau, I loved staying there from moment of checking in to departure - so much that I will return next week. No wonder, the guest checking out before me were already booking their 2015 holidays there.

(++++) It is ski-in and ski out
(+++) Excellent Austrian cuisine, though all I ate was tafelspitz (my must when in Austria)
(+++) Very friendly staff - front office, doormen, restaurant etc
(++++) Rustical, warm design
(++) Spa and saunas are cool, not many people there at time of my visit
(+++) Hotel lobby / bar - great selection of drinks, champagnes, food, at tentative service
(+) Nice spacious rooms, newly refurbished - only issue I had is that I felt air was somewhat dry
(-) I try to be nice, but I do feel Russian guests are like intruders to any posh resort. Being loud, disrespecting dress code etc they usually ruin the experience. There were some this time, but it was bearable.

I am glad to find Top Hotel and will come as often as I can. With Stanglwirt, it comes as my Austrias favourite hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top Hotel H, Manager at Top Hotel Hochgurgl, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Milan P.,

first of all thank you for your kind and honest comment. We will pass you feedback on to the whole TOP Hotel Team.

We are pleased to hear that we reached your expectations and hope to continue so in future, as we would be honoured to welcome you back in Hochgurgl soon!

With best regards,

Family Scheiber & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent food, service and hospitality. This hotel cannot be faulted in anyway. I would recommend this to anybody who wants to be pampered and can ski directly from the front door. We loved it so much we are going again next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top Hotel H, Manager at Top Hotel Hochgurgl, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Erica W,

first of all thank you for your kind and honest comment. We will pass you feedback on to the whole TOP Hotel Team.

We are pleased to hear that we reached your expectations and hope to continue so in future, as we would be honoured to welcome you back in Hochgurgl soon!

With best regards,

Family Scheiber & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hochgurgl
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#18 of 33 in Obergurgl
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
Hotel Edelweiss & Gurgl
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
428 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mathiesn Hotel
Mathiesn Hotel
#23 of 33 in Obergurgl
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olymp Hotel
Olymp Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hochgurgl
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Hotel Hochgurgl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Hotel Hochgurgl

Property: Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Address: Hochgurglerstrasse 8, Hochgurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl > Hochgurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Top Hotel Hochgurgl 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.The Top Ho­tel Hochgur­gl is lo­cat­ed at an al­ti­tude of 2150 m in the high­est ski­ing vil­lage of the alps and be­longs to fam­i­ly Scheiber since 1961. The slopes of the Ober­gur­gl-Hochgur­gl ski­ing area- sev­er­al times distin­guished as one of the 10 Best Ski­ing Ar­eas in the world-strech out di­rect­ly in frot of the ho­tel. On the sun­ny side of the moun­tains you will find the on­ly ho­tel with peace, com­fort and ser­vice of an in­ter­na­tio­n­al Ho­tel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Top Hotel Hochgurgl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing