We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel in a perfect place.”
Review of Olymp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olymp Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We (family of 4, 2 kids aged 7 and 4) have just returned from a week skiing in Hochgurgl where we stayed at the Hotel Olymp. WOW!!! What a fantastic hotel.
Where do I start? Well, cleanliness is always at the top of my list whenever I first go to a hotel, and this hotel is not just clean, it is almost sterile. Our room was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. The room was cleaned every day, and tidied again on an evening. There were enough towels to satisfy even the most frequent of bathers, as well as complimentary (and very good quality) dressing gowns, slippers and even more towels for the sauna/pool.
Food was equally as impressive, with a phenomenal buffet breakfast that could not fail to have something for your taste - cooked, cold, fruit, cereal (all branded) and even freshly squeezed OJ. On an evening, there is a 5/6 course A’ la Carte meal which is served at your table. (You keep the same table all week, which is priceless, as the views from the restaurant are breathtaking). The staff are fantastic, very professional, but at the same time pleasant and friendly. There is definitely a sense that this hotel is family run, not just another chain with anonymous management.
On several days we bought lunch in the Toni’s Almhutte, which is attached to the hotel and is again brilliant quality, and also, as a guest of the hotel, we were never charged for the children’s food. This place is also great at teatime after skiing as they put on free soup and cake to bring you around! The drinks are very reasonably priced considering that you are in the heart of a tourist resort.
The swimming pool and spa/sauna is the best that I have used. Again, it is incredibly clean, with even more towels, and complimentary drinks and fruit. Just be aware that the main part of the sauna is over 16 only, although there is a family room which is just as impressive.
As most people will be attending this hotel to ski, a few tips that we picked up over the week that may help.
If you do have children in the ski school, the walk to the meeting point is about 100m uphill. This can be awkward depending on the age of the children; however the hotel runs a free shuttle to and from the slope for the kids to coincide with the ski school lesson times, you just have to mention it at reception..
The conditions during our stay fluctuated greatly, particularly the temperature, and even with two pairs of gloves and hand warmers, our youngest was getting cold on a couple of days due to the wind chill. (Actual temperature -18, so felt like -25)!! As a result of this, we found that the hotel has a free supervised kids club where children can be left if required for a morning or during the late afternoon/evening.
The main chairlift from the hotel (Grosse Karbahn) is situated at the bottom of run 24. The last 150m of this run that actually drops into the chairs is quite steep, and we saw and spoke to a few people who were quite intimidated by it. However there is an alternative route if you ski around the back of the cable car station that avoids this.
A major feature of this resort is the “Top Mountain Star” restaurant and viewing point at the top of the Wurmkogl Mountain. This is an absolute must for a visit as the views are extraordinary. There is a blue run (26) that takes you back down from this point, but it is rather steep and narrow, and would not be suitable for first time or nervous skiers.
The ski room in the hotel is fantastic; however it is well worth taking a small padlock to secure your skis. Not due to items going missing, more due to the fact that some people clearly are unable to remember where they have left their own skis, so tend to pick up the nearest pair to them!!
I really cannot rate this hotel highly enough. It is not “ski to door” as described in the UK brochures, however this should not put you off, as the lifts are extremely close, and everything else that the hotel has to offer more than compensates for this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marketa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Olymp Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Great food, clean, helpful staff (but mostly german - same as the whole resort), VERY small pool gets taken over by kids in the evening, fitness room is small but good, heated boot room but hard to get space for skis on the rack later in the evening.

First of all, the hotel isn’t really doorstep skiing - you have a choice of walk down the road and join on to a low run which is very hard and crusty in the morning to a lift, or walk up a not very steep road but you feel it in your legs to some stairs which takes to a restaurant and a chair lift. Keep walking up that road to get to a few ski shops.

The hotel has a great variety of food at morning and in the evening. Nice soups and desserts at the apres ski but you do have to get back to the hotel quite early as most of the food had gone at about 20 to 6 it usually closed at around 6.

The menu has an english translation, as does most of the signs in the hotel. But most guests and staff speak mostly german. Not really a problem unless you have young children. Staff, especially in the restaurant, are extremely helpful though and try as hard as they can to make sure you have a nice holiday.

The heated boot room could be mopped every now and then as the floor gets EXTREMELY wet and never seems to go. There is enough room for the boots, but on the ski rack its really hard to find spaces to put your groups’ skis together. You can get padlocks from the reception with your room numbers on them to stop people moving them once you’ve put them there, but when you try to reserve the places again, people tend to put their skis in front of the chains regardless. Also, my brother left his gloves on the bench for a few seconds while he went to get his boots, then came back and someone had taken them. Then 2 days later, we found that someone had put them back on top of the ski rack, so be careful not to leave any of your things anywhere, even for just a moment.

We’ve stayed in Obergurgl before and like the overall area and found Hochgurgl a bit cheaper so stayed there in stead, only to find that the majority of the resort blends into about 3 runs all next to each other so it’s not the best if you like variety. You can hop on the gondola to Obergurgl, but it gets quite slushy near the bottom in the afternoon.

Don’t go near the T-bar drag lift on the far left of the resort if you have kids as it gets really quite steep and narrow and hard to stay on it (I’ve fallen off it a fair few times…). The only way to get there is a narrow, soft snow run which you pick up A LOT of speed on so don’t go down it if you like control or your legs ache easliy, or a hard, crusty section just above it which does hurt your legs without skis which absorb some of the pressure when your on your edges.

Overall, great hotel, helpful staff, lovely food, very clean, not much entertainment, okay location but could be better and reasonably good resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor (I think it’s the first floor) don’t really have a balcony, it’s more of a...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank britstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Hotel Olymp had charm. The service was superb - staff were efficient but very friendly and most accomodating. The food was wonderful with plenty of choice and so much of it!! The pool, spa and wellness area is excellent. The views were breathtaking, as the hotel is already at 2100 metres, meaning that you are already up on the mountain therefore you could ski down or take the gondola up to a good ski area with a mixture of runs. For non-skiers who are healthy there is plenty of walking but a ski pass would be valuable to facilitate this. There are no shops or bars, so it is very quiet but the Olymp has Toni's Almhutte which is very lively. transfer tie from Innsbruch is only 90 minutes, so all in all, a wonderful hotel and a wonderful place. I thoroughly recommend it all with the exception of Crystal who we travelled with and I was not that impressed!

Room Tip: We had 402 and 403 and these rooms look over the mintain and ski area - I couldn't get enough of...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have just returned from a week ski-ing in Hochgurgl staying at this hotel. We had been to the neighbouring village of Obergurgl a few times staying in the Edelweiss and Gurgl which we loved. However this was far better. The hotel is not as grand but much more comfortable. it has a relaxed atmosphere which makes you feel at home right away. All the staff were fantastic, particularly Valerie, our waitress. She looked after us so well. Food was out of this world, but I have put on so much weight. Should have more will power.
Our room was lovely, only negative was that we had no view from window, but our table in the restaurant had a fabulous view and how much time do you spend looking out of your bedroom window on a ski-ing holiday?
Holiday company had led us to believe that we had door step ski-ing which was incorrect, but we were only a couple of minutes walk from the slopes.
The wellness area was excellent and I liked the little touches, like the juices and apples left for you to help yourself to.
The hotel went in for these little touches that make such a difference, like fruit in our room, sparkling mineral water every day, chocolates on our pillows each night and the occasional glass of sparkling wine.
The snow in Hochgurgl was really good and the runs suited a timid skier like me, though there were lots of harder runs too. it was easy to go across to Obergurgl on the Top Express, so you could ski the whole area.
Hochgurgl is quite cut off in the evenings and is not the place to go for night life, but we were happy to have a drink in the bar or in Tonis Almhutte.
I felt that I would prefer to go back to Obergurgl as it is that little bit bigger, but very tempted to go back to this hotel instead.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheenathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Hi, this is a review of the hotel, resort and crystal.

Hotel
The food here is fantastic, 5, 6 courses plus a themed night (italian) and a local farmers buffet, top notch and if you don't like the course you have chosen, just choose another.
Breakfast, everything you could want including bacon frankfurters, eggs fried scrambled and omelettes made for you, loads of breads meats cheeses cereals etc. Special mention to Valerie who was a fantastic waitress, spoke perfect english and pretty good french too alongside her native german.
All of the staff were friendly but lack of english speaking was an issue (or my lack of german speaking). Housekeeping was good.
Rooms are a nice size (we had booked an upgrade through Crystal which we didn't get though) ours had a tv from the 1990's with just 2 english channels.
Beds are hard as a rock, not what you want after a hard day's skiing.
Lots of wellness facilities, pool, sauna, massage etc.
Free wi-fi yes, but it didn't work, boo!
Despite what the Crystal brochure says this is not a ski to door hotel, close to the slopes yes, but to ski to the door you have to ski across the road! The 6 seater chair is about 50 meters uphill and the gondola a further 30 meters or so, to the right and uphill

Resort
Hochgurgl is just 5 hotels, not even a supermarket here, would i stay here again, simply no, this is not the fault of the hotel, but the resort.
Most of the infrastructure is at Obergurgl so i would stay there or if you are younger, Solden.
Transfer took 3 hrs in the snow, 110 mins going back in the dry.

Crystal
Not good. Anyone surprised?
Transfer was over 3 hrs. 90 mins of which was waiting for a rep to arrive at the airport. We were then taken to obergurgl and transferred by taxi to Hochurgl. By the time this had taken place we had missed dinner in the restaurant, we were given a plate of food, but seeing as how good the food was in the restaurant we stilled missed out big time.
Saw the rep once at the welcome meeting that was it, attitude was basically if you want them phone them, which is fine but lacks any kind of personal touch. No info or welcome book in the hotel, so we looked at the Inghams one!
Booked a superior room, but didn't get one, they are looking into this.
Ski to door, no not quite, up hill across a road, but if you really want ski to door and like us hate walking in ski boots and carrying skis then this isn't for you. It's not far, but it takes the edge off the holiday. payed just shy of 2k for a week for 2 for crystal finest.

Summary
Hotel had good food, good service and hard beds. The resort was non existant.
Good hotel in the wrong place, i'd stay in obergurgl or solden. hope this helps

Adrian

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We enjoyed the hotel very much. One of the better ski holiday I've ever had with very nice ski slopes in the neigberhood. The location of the hotel is close to the skilift to the main Hochgurgl slopes. The town is rather quiet, so if you are looking for night-life then I would recommend Obergurgl or Sölden. The spa and pool area of the hotel is good. Toni's Bar is lovely and good in the afternoon and/or evenings.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonDKBenelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a weeks skiing. The food is amazing and is of excellent quality. Far better than any ski holiday I've ever had. The location of the hotel is very close to the lift to the main Hochgurgl slopes. If you need to get to the ski school then it is a walk up hill. The boot changing area has heated boot racks which were useful.

The resort (when we went) was very quiet. If you are looking for night-life then I would recommend Obergurgl, which you can ski to (via gondola) or get a bus.

The spa and pool area of the hotel is well equipped and good. I would recommend visiting at least once. The hot stone beds are very relaxing. My partner had a massage too which was apparently good.

Toni's Bar is good on an evening. We ate there one lunchtime - the food was good reasonably priced.

Why didn't I give this hotel 5/5/? The room we stayed in (top floor) was quite small compared to the relative luxury elsewhere in the hotel. One of the two single beds in our room was quite uncomfortable.

Aside from that i would definitely recommend this hotel and resort for skiing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Namrogeht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hochgurgl
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
#2 of 4 in Hochgurgl
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#5 of 33 in Obergurgl
348 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Josl Mountain Lounging
Josl Mountain Lounging
#24 of 33 in Obergurgl
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olymp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olymp Hotel

Address: Hochgurglerstrasse 1, Hochgurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl > Hochgurgl
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Price Range: £154 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olymp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling great at 2.150m in Sporthotel Olymp! The hotel for epicures and active holiday-makers in the heart of the ski paradise Obergurgl/Hochgurgl. Enjoy the comfort of a 5 star hotel and the Laissez-faire of a 4 star hotel in the Tyrolean Sporthotel Olymp. Embedded in a fascinating alpine scenery and right in the middle of the ski paradiseHochgurgl/Obergurgl, our hotel is an ideal starting point for long ski runs between 1800 and 3100 m or for restorative walks around the ski area. You can put on your skis right in front of the hotel and be off! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olymp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing