We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ski holiday ever”
Review of Olymp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olymp Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best ski holiday ever”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

just returned from 1 week ski holiday with wife and 8 year old son, seventh time skiing in as many years .i can honestly say best skiing holiday we have had . Brilliant staff ,top quality food , lovely clean rooms and facilities first class skiing and location.would go back tomorrow ! I can only agree with other reviews . just book it as long as there's room for us next year!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMONLUCY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have gone the last two years to Hochgurgl/Obergurgl ski area for skiing with a group from work. Each time we have stayed at the hotel it was great, with a half board meals included and the spa downstairs is free to use and excellent. Also, if you go earlier in the day the massage therapy spa is cheaper and excellent. ;)

Location of the hotel is also excellent being so close to the hill, from the time you leave to the time you are in your skis is 5 minutes tops. I found Obergurgl and excellent all level of abilities to ski and the two times we have been there the weather conditions have been overall good and the snow conditions good.

However, you would think that in this modern age of credit and debit card use a hotel bar would accept them, but no. We found this a little backwards and maybe it is an Austrian thing, but unless they have changed it bring chase. you can go to the front counter of the hotel to get cash, but it is a pain and I hope they have changed it for this year. The beds by European standards are good, but fair to North American standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Great hotel! Spent a week’s skiing here from 2 to 9 February and thought the hotel was excellent. Friendly staff, nice large room, great service, excellent cuisine, with six course dinners (more than you could possibly eat!) and wide choice for breakfast – even a fresh orange juice machine!

It’s in an excellent position for skiing. You just have to walk about 50 yards up the road to the steps up to the lifts – although being at over 2000m means that you’ll probably be out of breath when you get there!

Hotel facilities are good too, with an excellent leisure suite containing a pool, steam room, various saunas, hot stone beds and other facilities. Shy Brits should note that this is a “naked bathing area” and is unisex, but although most people do discreetly go naked, it’s not compulsory. So if you’re a bit self-conscious, just wrap yourself in a towel!!

A couple of things to bear in mind regarding the hotel’s location:
• It’s effectively in the middle of the mountain, which on the one hand is good as it is almost “ski in / ski out”, but it does mean that you are somewhat isolated. Buses to Obergurgl and Solden run from the bottom and you need to get down there by the bubble, but this stops at 4, so you can’t use it in the evening.
• It’s a very quiet area. There are only hotels and a couple ski hire shops in Hochgurgl, so it’s not somewhere that you can have a decent mooch about in during the evening or if you can’t ski. There’s more to do and see in Obergurgl, so if we were to come back to the area, we’d probably opt for there, or maybe Solden, which is larger still. And if you’re young and into après ski (which thankfully we’re not!), it probably won’t be for you.

The only disappointment for us (and this is nothing to do with the hotel) was the weather. We lost one whole day and two half days as it was snowing and the visibility was poor. In fact on the first day, it was misty by the hotel, so we thought we’d go up higher to see if we could get above the cloud/mist. Mistake! It got worse and we had to very tentatively ski down pistes we’d never been on before with practically zero visibility. It was very scary as we couldn’t tell where we were going, whether we were going up or down, or even whether we were moving at all! Eventually we got back to where we started and gave up. It cleared up a bit in the afternoon so we got some skiing in. I have to say that I’m amazed that they kept so many lifts running in those conditions as it was quite dangerous. When we were talking to others in the evening, some had even gone off the edge of the piste, which could have been seriously dodgy, although they returned unscathed. I’m sure we wouldn’t have allowed it in health and safety conscious UK!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bish53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here as a group of 6 in Feb 2013.
Great Hotel is in a great position. You can take a 1 min walk down to a piste or up to a lift. Ski hire etc. just as close. The food is superb (6 courses + coffee). The breakfast is huge with a chef cooking eggs, omelettes etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful and even sorted out a spare room to escape a snorer. Rooms large and spotless. Great Spa facilities. Nice Apre Ski bar attched.

The pistes are incredibly quiet (never queued once) with lots of off piste adjacent to and between the runs and a couple of unpisted red/blacks. Not too challenging but safe and good for families, beginners and intermediates. Experts will want to get a guide for the off piste.

Easy access to Obergurgl and the Nedderhutte (a must do). Taxi 24 euros if you have a night in Obergurgl. Much cheaper than France and a much higher standard. Great value.

Room Tip: Look at the Hotel web site and get the type of room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luisprtak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

What can I add to the other glowing reviews below? The Olymp is an immaculate hotel just 50m and a flight of stairs from the Grossekarbahn lift, which whisks you into the heart of the Hochgurgl ski area. We booked on a last minute bargain package deal with Inghams – who deserve a nod too. Set at the foot of the village (hamlet (if that)) with stunning views from the dinning room (more of that later) over the head of the Oetz valley. Service was professional and attentive from all the staff, with the standout member of staff being Christian the waiter who worked like a Trojan - often in Toni’s Almhütte the cosy old bar in an ancient wooden barn adjoining the hotel.

The room was large with comfortable beds (the Austrians have certainly cottoned on to something with their twins), and the bathroom spotless. The spa area was fantastic, with everything that could be wished for, and a few extra options beside. The hot stone beds are a blissful post skiing pleasure, and more comfortable than they sound. Public areas were pleasant with the fireside soft chairs a lovely place to relax before or after dinner. Ay, there’s the rub. The food. I can confidently say that I have never eaten better in a ski resort (in 30+ years of trying), and probably never consistently better in a hotel anywhere in the world. Buffet breakfast was the perfect way to set up for a day on the planks. Delicious bread, extensive cereals, a bewildering array of jams, fresh orange juice from a DIY machine, fresh fruit, omelettes / fried / scrambled eggs to order, cured meats, and cheese (c’mon this is Austria), seeds of every description, dried fruits, and yoghurts. Only problem was the agony of choice. Aprés ski snacks also served in the hut from 15:00 for the truly gluttonous. Dinner was a blow out of 6 courses nightly; the salad buffet is beyond description offering the full gamut of recipes known to the culinary world. Some inventive, small second courses are followed by a choice of soup. Main courses were a meat, fish, or vegetarian, with a 4th choice for the picky. All stunning, particularly the fish (if Austria can do it in a land locked country why isn't it easier to get good fish dishes in the UK?). Desserts were particularly worthy of mention, so I have. To finish the human foie gras experience there is a cheese board with many mountain favourites. Oh my word. The wine list includes an encyclopaedic choice of Austrian bottles (why the stuff doesn’t get a better press outside of the country is beyond me) and other international offerings.

If monsieur Michelin doesn’t get his fat Gallic butt sur his bicyclette and up to the top of the Alps immediately to bestow a star I am getting on the 1st train down to Cassis to do to him the sort of things that you only ever see happen in Korean horror films.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, a great find, particularly when I wasn't looking for it in the 1st place. My one gripe only is that they charge for tap water with dinner. Is this the only place in the civilised world where this practice is still acceptable? It seems petty in the extreme and so much out of character with the rest of the hospitality, particularly when the bottled water in the room is complimentary daily. If the 3 Euro charge is really necessary to ensure the margins, then surely it could be absorbed elsewhere without difficulty.

As Austria’s most famous ex US governor and adulterer would say. I’ll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenJohnBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We returned to this area because the skiing is guaranteed and the snow always good. We chose to stay in Hochgurgl rather than Obergurgl as we prefer the skiing. Hotel was good overall, but Reception was a bit annoyed on arrival when I asked for confirmation that we had a bath in the room. I was told that special requirements should be booked ahead of arrival!

We were surprised at just how basic our room was as we had booked a superior room - hard wearing floor covering rather than carpets, but the bed was comfy. It was incredibly hot in the room & we had to have windows open all the time - no views just a wall of snow. However it was conveniently near to the boot & ski store - which has heated boot racks. Food was good but not up to the superb standards of the Edelweiss & Gurgl Hotel in Obergurgl.

There are a few pitfalls to staying in Hochgurgl, nothing to do apart from ski. The ski buses are frequent to Obergurgl but be careful to be punctual and return before 4 or the gondolas stop - we were 10 minutes late & had to walk the 1hour 10 minute hike up hill back to the hotel! Our fault and our choice - there are taxis, but be warned!

We took a bus to Langenfeld for ice skating - it was closed even though it was perfectly frozen. There was no-one around to ask. Everything shuts between 12 -2.30 even restaurants in the pretty town!

The "gurgl" resorts are small, quiet and well run. Queues at lifts are short and some of the pistes are enormously wide giving pleasantly uncrowded skiing. But, having now been twice to this area next time we will return to one of the larger North American resorts that have a wider choice of pistes and alternative activities.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the pistes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have just returned from a ski trip in Hochgurgl staying at this hotel. I stayed here a year ago which was why I returned. The hotel is of excellent standard. Our room was a standard room which contained a double bed, sofa, table, two chairs, wardrobes and drawer. The room was roomy and clean with good decor and plenty of storage. If i had to nittpick all i could say is that the pillows were too soft, but that is really nittpicking. The bathroom was also well appointed with a bath and shower. The hotel's lounge has leather chairs and sofas with a log fire and is spotless. The restaurant and dining area is also impeccable. We stayed half board and the food is excellent. The staff are numerous, professional, helpful and we wanted for nothing, I cannot fault them. The hotel has a spa containing a pool, sauna, steam room etc. The spa was also impeccable. The Almhutte attached to the hotel is a four hundred year old building (mountain pub). It has a great atmosphere and is a total contrast to the hotel. We had live music here twice in the week we stayed (ended up doing the 'conga').
The ski resort is quiet, we had no lift queues. It is high altitude with plenty of snow. Between Hochgurgl and Obergurgl the ski area is not massive but there is enough piste, off piste and tree areas for an excellent week skiing, though Hochgurgl itself may be challenging for beginners. Both times I have been here (in January) there has been plenty of snow and snowed while we stayed. Due to the amount of snow the local (Innsbruck) airport does experience occasional problems.
I would totally recommend this hotel and believe that it provides an excellent service. If you have never skied in Austria before and are looking for a quieter resort I would totally recommend this hotel, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hochgurgl
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riml
Hotel Riml
#1 of 4 in Hochgurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
Top Hotel Hochgurgl
#2 of 4 in Hochgurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Laurin
Alpenhotel Laurin
#4 of 4 in Hochgurgl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Crystal
The Crystal
#3 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Gurglhof
Hotel Gurglhof
#19 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
#7 of 33 in Obergurgl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olymp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olymp Hotel

Property: Olymp Hotel
Address: Hochgurglerstrasse 1, Hochgurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl > Hochgurgl
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hochgurgl
Hotel Class:4 star — Olymp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling great at 2.150m in Sporthotel Olymp! The hotel for epicures and active holiday-makers in the heart of the ski paradise Obergurgl/Hochgurgl. Enjoy the comfort of a 5 star hotel and the Laissez-faire of a 4 star hotel in the Tyrolean Sporthotel Olymp. Embedded in a fascinating alpine scenery and right in the middle of the ski paradiseHochgurgl/Obergurgl, our hotel is an ideal starting point for long ski runs between 1800 and 3100 m or for restorative walks around the ski area. You can put on your skis right in front of the hotel and be off! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Olymp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing