We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden jewel, don't miss it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
200 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel, don't miss it!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel is built on an old mill with the river still flowing underneath and is set in a country environment with Strasbourg nearby.
Staying outside Strasbourg is a wise choice if you have transportation and the hotel is a great find.
The original mill building has been renovated and furnished with the most modern equipment and décor. Small but pleasant rooms with good size baths are well equipped. Free Internet is provided as is free parking adjacent to the building. An excellent restaurant is on premises but reservations are mandatory.
The owners live on the hotel grounds and oversee the operations daily so quality is consistent.
The hotel is an oasis near the bustling downtown Strasbourg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    53
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
50
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Beryl and I stayed at the Moulin de Wantzenau in January of 2013. I've been here twice before, this was her first visit. The rooms are colorful, quiet and well-appointed. As I recall, I paid a couple of Euros extra for a deluxe (corner, big...) room. Worth the small extra cost, we thought. Very friendly staff, fine location, clean and bright. Stayed here before, will do so again. G & B Ray, Wichita, Kansas, USA
PS/ Visitors should know that the restaurant, just next door, is owned by a family member, not the same management as the hotel. The restaurant's good but not quite as deluxe as it once was. I've dined here five times, note that there's a reason why Michelin no longer gives the place a star. We're optimistic that they'll hire more staff (the service was a little slow), spiff up the kitchen a bit and regain the star. Still a good place for dinner, but not what it was five years ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Clean, comfortable, chic and great ambiance. Nice quiet stay the first night, however rowdy guests were just a little too loud for my taste.

No frills...nice and clean. Plenty of hot water. I am not sure I would stay there with a family, however it is good as a solo or on business. No toiletries are offered, so bring your shampoo and shower gel. There was a bar of soap.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

They do everything right: the beds are great, clean, modern furnishings.
The service is impeccable.
The breakfast is one of the best I've had in hotels, everything is fresh and delicious.
The black tea at breakfast is wonderful, the espresso less good.
Great restaurant across the street, too.
And plenty of restaurants within the town of "La Wantzenau".
We'd return. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 is great, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I highly recommend Moulin de La Wantzenau to any traveller in The Strasbourg / Alsace region. Extremely hospitable and engaging owner with a true dedication to the business of running a fashionable, clean, well priced hotel in a very relaxed setting. The pictures on the web site represent exactly what we found when we arrived. We were made to feel like friends rather than customers. 10/10

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isyc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofstade, Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Everything is more than good: nice rooms, excellent diners and wine and the water passing through (relaxing when you go to sleep). It is well known for its restaurant, so reservation is necessary. We were very pleased staying there.
Only little remark: the breakfast is good but if it would have been a little more i would give the hotel a 5 (excellent)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andre_verbeemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I spend an evening at Le Moulin de la Wantzenau. It is located in a wonderful setting of an old water mill - just enchanting. The rooms were were new, clean and where decorated with nice taste. It was a hot day and there is no air conditioning in the rooms so that was a negative....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathasmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Wantzenau
Le Relais de la Poste
#2 of 2 in La Wantzenau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Hotel Les Haras
#4 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa d'Est
#7 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 127 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau

Property: Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau
Address: 3 impasse du Moulin, 67610 La Wantzenau, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > La Wantzenau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the warm and friendly setting of this old mill offers you the chance to enjoy the tranquility of the alsacian countryside while nevertheless beeing close to the great economic, cultural and holiday centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing