We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hipotel Paris Hippodrome
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is by far the worst place I've ever stayed at. The bathroom is covered in mold, the staff is unfriendly and not helpful at all, the room is extremely small (a bed partly blocks the entrance!!!), the window doesn't close. The elevator (right across the hallway) makes a screeching noise every time its door closes. The door to my room gets jammed because the floor is not even. Seriously, what am I paying 109 €/night for? An A/C? A fridge? No way, this place is just expensive and has nothing to offer. Paris has lots of bridges and I'm sure sleeping under one of them is not less comfortable.
After I've seen the mold in the bathroom, I passed on the breakfast. If a public area looks like that, I don't want to think about what the kitchen might look like.

Room Tip: Rooms far away from this place may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    37
    26
    57
See reviews for
24
40
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 5 nights because we couldn't find a hostel with any free beds. It was surprisingly clean in the room and in the bathroom. The room was quite small even for 2 people, but the bed was comfortable. The shower is either really cold or really hot, I could never find a happy medium with the temperature controls.
No English channels on the TV, that was a bit of a bummer. There is a microwave in the lobby but you can only use it if you buy their food. We never tried the breakfast based on other reviews.
There were no restaurants or any places to eat/go at all nearby. The only thing was a small convenient store around the corner, open a bit later. However it was 2 minutes from the metro, and it was easy to get into central Paris as well as Disneyland if you plan on going there.
Reception was quite unfriendly and unhelpful, except for 1 staff member who was the opposite.
Wifi is NOT free, and doesn't work in the room (the staff even said it sometimes does/sometimes doesn't). The only place it works is in the lobby, where there is only 2 dinky tables with 2 chairs at each.

Despite the shortcomings I would recommend it for anybody on a budget, and would consider staying there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktskinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for one night and the room and the bathroom were very clean. We had enough space for the 2 of us, it was accessible from the train station though make sure you know where exactly it is beforehand cos its a bit tricky to find otherwise. The man on the desk was very friendly and helpful and we were able to get anything we needed very easily. The wifi was very good and the meal we had in the restaurant was wonderful and very good value. We were looking for a cheap, nice hotel accessible to Paris and that's what we got!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emilymaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights. It's located in urban area, but far from main city of Paris. you must use train (RER) for around 30 minutes to reach the sightseeing. the price was reasonable in comparison to Paris's hotels.
The room and linens was clean.
The breakfast was 5 euros per person, but it wasn't worth at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BehnamBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel was fine for a short stay, we were here for 5 nights. As previous posts have noted, it's location is it's redeeming feature. Literally a couple of minutes walk from the metro station via a footbridge over a busy road. The room itself for a family of three was a little bigger than a ships cabin, but of course we were out all day and really only slept here.
It was cleaned every day of our stay and toiletries replenished. BUT the bathroom was grotty. Mould, and lots of it. Also the skirting boards were dusty right the way round, not a problem particularly but an indication of the cleaning standards! Staff were polite and helpful and spoke good English.
All in all we probably wouldn't stay here again, but it was so inexpensive one can't really expect to much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jofar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Joinville-le-Pont hotels

ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Positives: Location, location, location. It was just a minute or two from the metro station, making it incredibly convenient to get into the city. Even though the area wasn't exactly nice, I felt quite safe walking from the metro stop to the hotel in the dark. This was also the least expensive place we found to stay in Paris.
Negatives: Staff was not very helpful. Our 3-person room had only two pillows, and when I asked for another, they told me they didn't have any. The bed linens were clearly used and quite dirty, so we asked for clean ones. The shower was leaky and the bathroom not very clean. Our window didn't close all the way, and faced out into the courtyard of an apartment complex. Rooms were very small (the third bed in our 3-person room pulled out from under the second bed, and we had to move the nightstand to pull it out all the way).
Bottom line: Despite all the issues, I would actually stay here again if I was on a tight budget. The location made it worth it. Also, despite the tiny size, we did get five people into our 3-person room, so it wasn't so awful we couldn't fit. I'd recommend this place to college students and backpackers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed here for three nights in June. The elevator did not work on arrival, so we had to carry our luggage up to the 5th floor through a fire escape. The staff were not terribly nice. The rooms were small, even more so considering our three bed room had two proper beds and a pullout bed between them.

Room Tip: Don't book 3 bed rooms if you value space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinkpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joinville-le-Pont
Ibis Budget Saint Maurice
#2 of 2 in Saint Maurice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Hotel Cinepole
#1 of 4 in Joinville-le-Pont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Kyriad Prestige Joinville Le Pon...
#2 of 4 in Joinville-le-Pont
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Moderne
#1 of 2 in Maisons-Alfort
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Entrepôt
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#1,373 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Campanile Nogent Sur Marne
#1 of 4 in Nogent-sur-Marne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotel Paris Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotel Paris Hippodrome

Property: Hipotel Paris Hippodrome
Address: 1 allee Edmee Lheureux, 94340 Joinville-le-Pont, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Joinville-le-Pont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Joinville-le-Pont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hipotel Paris Hippodrome 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hipotel Paris Hippodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotel Paris Hippodrome Hotel Joinville-Le-Pont
Hipotel Joinville Le Pont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing