We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slept easily”

Bassingers Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bassingers Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 15 Levin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have stayed in several motels in Levin. I have no complaints with Bassingers have stayed there several times each time for two or three days. The Manager is most helpful and friendly. Willingly gives advise on where everything is in town. The shops are all very close, so its easy to go to supermarkets for your favourite foods and do your own thing in well presented kitchens and units.
The beds are most comfortable, I slept very well indeed. Thanks Bassingers

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Bassingers is a extremely well maintained motel with well maintained rooms and incredibly friendly and helpful service.

The owner offered to lend me his car to go out and about, which was incredibly generous, and one I might have taken advantage of.

However, what virtually all of the previous reviews fail to mention is the train line that is just metres behind the hotel.

Trains thunder by here at incredible volume during the day AND night. On the first night there, 3 trains passed between 1.45am and 2.30am, and there was another one at 4.00am and 6.00am, making sleep almost impossible, Other nights had trains every two hours.

Whilst this might be OK for a one night stay, a whole week of it, working during the day, is pretty unbearable.

It really is extremely unfortunate given the extremely positive aspects of this motel, but when working away, good quality is essential, and it's virtually impossible here.

Room Tip: Ok for an overnight stop, but for a longer stay, choose somewhere else if you want to sleep. Unfortu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We located Bassingers half a world away from New Zealand. We had been on holiday in Europe for a year with our two small dogs and were returning home. Part of that return was a 10 day quarantine for the dogs at a kennel near Levin and because one of our dogs is old and requires regular medication we decided to stay in Levin to be near them.

Google threw up a range of motels and motor lodges but Bassingers stood out. They were not the cheapest but the photos showed a clean and well kept establishment. It looked reasonably new and my email communication with the owner was answered promptly and politely.

We arrived tired and scratchy after the long flight from London but the welcome was 'kiwi friendly' - that means laid back but genuine and helpful.

The room we booked - a studio - was large, spotlessly clean and pleasant. The bed was king size and the kitchenette had everything we needed for our 10 day stay.

The room was serviced daily with fresh towels, tea and coffee was restocked and it was returned to the spotless state in which we first found it. Overall our stay was relaxed and enjoyable.

With the motor lodge located between the main road and the main rail line north we were a little concerned about noise. But despite the occassional train or large truck passing we slept well - so no complaints here.

It was odd having internet that needed to be paid for as, in Europe, most places have moved to free Wifi internet. New Zealand is a little further down the curve in this area and pay internet is still the norm. Having said that the Wifi, when purchased, was strong and quick.

Of course all through our stay we were counting down the days to be able to collect our two dogs and head home to Wellington. But during our stay we found the motor lodge to be excellent.

Thank you Bassingers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graememo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

had a very enjoyable stay at Bassingers on the way south,very well positioned on state highway one on the way south and enjoyed the interaction with two very friendly owners.will be stay here if again in the ares

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SQUIRENAPIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have spent a fair bit of time at Bassingers lately, arriving at all hours of the night in rental cars, or motorcycles. The owners are very accommodating. The unit down the back with 2 bedrooms is fantastic. Of course they all are, and especially they are clean which is one of the most important aspects. We have stayed in nearly every unit :-) There is a couple of trains that come through in the night, but as long as you know its no big deal, they are gone in less than 30 seconds. Fantabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Mid week in early August - about 800m North of the centre of Levin - base that on McDonalds 24 hr - so an easy walk to the shops.

But - remember, it is situated on State Highway 1 - so, it's a busy road - take care crossing - even at night.
Also, be careful driving in and out - same reason.

Reception right at the entrance and easy to park outside it. Manager (?owner) - he was very friendly - one of those good people who actually shift themselves and show you to your room - not just wave in the general direction. He opened the door, turned on the lights and heater, put the milk in the fridge, pointed out an extra heater, and politely exited. That's called good, old fashioned, service.

A studio suite in the corner - clean, odourless, well appointed - nothing squashed in, a good feeling.
Bathroom - modern, plenty of space - would prefer a curtain over the heavily frosted window tho - there is a house out there - shapes could possibly be observed.
A good, powerful shower, with a shower-head that does not droop toward the floor - that's a plus.
One small picky thing - a wee area in the bathroom, under the window, by the vanity, where paint has flaked, a wee sanding and retouching would be in order.

Now, I knew there is a rail-line pretty close out the back - therefore, a couple of goods trains in the middle of the night did not surprise me - however, someone from, say, Christchurch who has gone through the earthquakes there, and didn't know about the rail-line, would most definitely think the mother of all earthquakes was about to hit - that would certainly be frightening. I'd suggest a note on the wall forewarning.

TV reception is clear and a good choice of channels - however, a news one would not go amiss.

A comfortable nights sleep, and value for money

I'll be back for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_KiwiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

nice clean motor lodge,the room seemed almost new. nice welcome on arrival,stress free and easy.
big rooms,be aware the studios dont have spa baths and internet access seemed hard to get but apart from those 2 things a nice place,real good shower pressure.
found it hard to find anywhere nice to eat dinner at in levin so grab stuff from the supermarket before ya get to this place,the one bedroom apts have full kitchen cooking and the studios a microwave.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levin hotels
0.1 mi away
Welcome Inn Motel Levin
1 mi away
Levin Kiwi Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bentons Motel
Bentons Motel
#7 of 15 in Levin
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#3 of 15 in Levin
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Totara Lodge Motel
Totara Lodge Motel
#2 of 15 in Levin
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#13 of 15 in Levin
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassingers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassingers Motor Lodge

Address: 374 Oxford St, Levin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Levin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Levin
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bassingers Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bassingers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassingers Motor Lodge Levin, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing