We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mountain view motel Levin”

Mountain View Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #13 of 15 Levin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We planed to stay at Palmerston North but due to an event the town was fully booked so we stayed here one night. staff were friendly and laid back. Room was large and bed comfortable.quiet grass area behind unit's french door overlooking hens and sheep. we were not aware of traffic or train noise. the restaurant on site was excellent (not run by the motel)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cranmorebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for one night. The units are not soundproof and the noise from rail, road and the plumbing was intrusive. The television reception made watching almost impossible. The beds were okay. The crockery and cutlery supplies were limited. The kitchen facilities were adequate for a one night stay as we dined at the nearby restaurant and enjoyed the experience.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful but we were asked to pay a charge for using our credit card...this has never happened to us previously either overseas or in NZ.
The sheep in the paddock outside our unit gave a pleasant country outlook. There was a swimming pool but it was unusable so just as well the weather was inclement.
The units would benefit from an update in furnishings and decor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed one night, in a family unit with our 2 young children. The staff were very helpful with an early check-in time. The unit was basic, but clean and there was adequate heating. The 'playground' was only a trampoline, which was a shame, however there is a large playground in Levin. The beds were comfortable, but some road noise which might disturb light sleepers. We booked by phone and received a better deal than I'd seen online.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may prefer a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed here for one night in late March on our way further north after our late afternoon arrival in Wellington on the Inter-islander ferry. It took about an hour and half to get here from the ferry, but the traffic was heavier than usual. The motel is situated on State Highway 1, on the outskirts of Levin, so we didn’t find it to be particularly quiet due to traffic noise and the trains. We were given a unit at the end of one of the blocks and had a car port next to the unit for the car. There was a small patio at the back, with a rural outlook. The unit itself had a remarkable amount of furniture in it, which made it look cramped and the table and chairs were unusable due to the lack of space around them. The kitchen area had most of the equipment normally found in NZ motels, except an iron and ironing board, but the units etc weren’t built in, which gave it an untidy and old fashioned look (see photo). The shower and toilet were also very old fashioned.
However the unit was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly as was the lovely motel cat. The onsite restaurant was very homely and very popular with the locals. The food was good with friendly service and reasonably priced. This is an OK and cheap place to spend a night, but not if you like somewhere with all mod cons. One other point, they make a surcharge for payment by credit card, the only place in New Zealand where we came across this.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This is a smallish family-run motel right on highway in Levin with a restaurant next door. Rooms a little tired but functional and clean. Quiet location and friendly management.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levin hotels
1.5 mi away
Levin Kiwi Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Welcome Inn Motel Levin
0.7 mi away
Bentons Motel
Bentons Motel
#7 of 15 in Levin
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#3 of 15 in Levin
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Totara Lodge Motel
Totara Lodge Motel
#2 of 15 in Levin
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bassingers Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Address: Sh 1 35 The Avenue, Levin 5510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Levin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Levin
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motel Levin, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing