We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel Zima(San Isidro del General)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Roberto - Hotel y Cafeteria(San Isidro del General)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge(Alto de San Juan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Uran(Chirripo National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
78
48
17
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
48
17
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan gerardonarrow roadresplendent quetzalsrio savegretroutflowersvalleylodgeheaterbirdsfireplacemealsbushestrailtemperaturegroundsporch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have a great stay at this magic place. Nice rooms, basic but clean and comfortable. Great birding and good food. The staff was very helpful, and able to inform us about the activities on the area, and the best places to find the great quetzal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carcalumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

First of all the Suria Hotel is not for anyone looking for first class accommodations. It has very basic rooms, but they are clean. There is no TV or refrigerator, just beds. We had room 4 with a king size bed that is actually two twins pushed together and there was another single bed. One side of the king size bed really needs a new mattress. The water for the shower was warm, not hot, but we were able to shower quickly and be OK. The grounds are beautiful and there are a lot of birds to be seen. As for the food - not a lot of variety, but it was good - the trout was excellent. As for the family/owners they were very accomidating, but except for Agniel, they spoke little english - we are in Costa Rica it is our fault our Spanish is poor - we did our best and managed well. The Suria is located at the end of the road, the last 200-300 yards are up hill - it might be worth having a car for that reason. We were a bit unprepared for the fact that there is no beer and little ice at Suria - again our fault. Every day we would walk down the hill and about 1/2 mile to Savregre Ladge for 4-6pm happy hour then back up the hill for dinner at Suria. All & all i would stay here again, but be more prepared supply wise. We did not see the Quetzal until we were on out way out. Our driver stopped so we could get pictures - both male and female.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doobie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Suria and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! The hotel itself is fairly basic, but our room was spacious, clean, fairly new, ample hot water and comfortable beds. The family that owns the hotel was wonderful. We went on a birding walk early one morning with Agniel, the 22-year old son, who was quite expert both sighting birds and hearing bird calls. He found us a pair of resplendent quetzals among many other birds. Later that day, we drove up to Cerro de la Meurte with Agniel and his mother Hilde. Agniel and the two of us disembarked at the top and hiked down down down 10 miles or so, while Hilde drove our car back to the hotel. It was a beautiful hike, descending through many different kinds of vegetation, including cloud forest, with spectacular views. The food was fine; basic Costa Rican breakfast and a trout dinner which was very tasty! The prices were reasonable for the room, meals and excursions. This is not a five-star hotel in terms of luxury, but it was just what we wanted. We wished we had more time to spend there and would happily return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

In 2012 we went to San Gerardo de dota and stayed at Suria Lodge. We found the cabin, food and service to be wonderful. The owners son, very personable and eager to help was also an accomplished birding guide. He took us quickly to view not only the famous quetzals but also other local species. He was invaluable in helping me to secure my luggage which the airline had misplaced, making numerous calls until he was successful in having it delivered to my room. We highly recommend this terrific place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A friend took us here as a surprise so we could see the quetzal. Well, what a place. Run by a local family the cabins are basic but lovely! The grounds are even BETTER! Hummingbirds and lots of other birds play around the well cared for gardens. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff great and the walk to the waterfall nearby was well worth the time. You can hire a private guide from the hotel at a very reasonable price. He is very knowledgeable and will be your best bet to see the quetzal, among other amazing birds and mammals. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Stay at least two nights, preferably three!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon_Wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews