We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel Zima(San Isidro del General)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
525
255
63
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
255
63
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet styleresplendent quetzalmarino chaconcosta ricacloud forestbird watchingtrouthummingbird feederssalad barjunior suitefire pitthe riverexcellent guidebelgian chefhappy hour isbeautiful locationhidden valley
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Savegre mountain lodge and spa is a large complex of 48 bungalows built over a period of several years with a corresponding range in quality. It is accessed by 7 km of dirt road, some of which is probably tricky to negotiate with 2-wheel drive in the wet season. We had no problem during the dry. Our room was in one of the older groups of bungalows (rooms 131 to 148), closest to the reception and dining areas. Each bungalow was a joined set of two rooms. Our room, number 140 (joined to room 139) was at the end of a row and quiet. It was dark and dated, but clean and not smelly. The beds were fairly comfortable, but on the hard side. Furnishings were also dated, looking like something one might find at a jumble sale. Rooms farther up the hill (101-130) looked to be of newer construction and likely are of better quality. Our room had slat glass windows that leaked cold air, and the heater didn’t work, so our first night was a bit cool. There were plenty of blankets. The second night, with a working heater was much better. The bathroom was smallish, but serviceable and relatively clean. The best part of the room was the veranda that received warming afternoon sun till the canyon walls interfered.

Savegre had the feel of being transplanted into the environment from some other culture. The lodge building included a full bar, dining area, reception and small gift shop. The front desk staff and restaurant servers were efficient and helpful, if not particularly friendly. They do see lots of people, so I can forgive them that. Food was served buffet style and though unimaginative, did the job. Being located in the midst of a trout farming area, trout were offered at every meal and served in a variety of ways. We estimated that the hotel consumed close to 500 fish per week! The bar was full service and free wifi was available in the lodge building.

Hummingbird feeders located around the lodge building were active and some set in good locations for photography. The hotel is in the bottom of a steep sided canyon so nearly all the trails from the lodge were steep and or accessed via a very steep road, passable in 4-wheel drive. The Sendero Cataratas was probably the most gentle trail. Birding was great with lots of mixed flocks and few hikers when away from the Cataratas. A nesting pair of resplendent quetzals were located about a 20 minute walk from the hotel when we were there.

Would I stay here again? Probably not since there were other options in the valley that looked to be smaller and locally owned and one could gain access to the same trails from them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This mountain valley hotel and surrounding woodlands are a paradise. The Resplendant Quetzal, a very special bird, is usually easy to find as are many other beautiful birds. The lodging, dining room, and bar are clean and modern. The architectural design of the bar is extraordinary - wood, stone, and glass are used in perfect balance. One huge wall, entirely glass, provides a wide open look at the surrounding forest. The food is very good and features mountain trout. The wait staff are attentive and helpful, the best of my trip experience. The oldest son of the owner's family provides a passionate talk about the property and how it all started. This is a must see place for those who want to see some of Costa Rica's natural beauty at it's best. However, beware, you will have some COLD mornings. There is a fireplace, but my room was quite cold in the morning.

Room Tip: If you don't like to be chilly in the morning, ask for a heated room or lots of firewood.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent two nights here and really wished we had booked three. The only disadvantage to the hotel is getting here which is down a largely gravelled, long, thin and windy road. We found the staff here to be friendly and helpful and the accommodation excellent. Our room was large, well equipped and furnished, comfortable and clean. It was lovely to have a bath. The evenings were quite cold but the heater provided coped quite adequately. Meals are organised as a buffet and the choice was very varied– in the evening there was always soup and a choice of main course along with a salad bar and a separate dessert section. Breakfasts also came with a good choice of items. There were large tables provided for the many groups but also plenty of smaller tables. The bird watching here is excellent and the feeders provided for the numerous humming birds seen in this area were a permanent source of interest.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room which was up on the hill and gave us wonderful views but it was a distance away from the dining room etc.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedTeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked our reservations in October for a 2 night stay early March. The ride from San Jose took 2 1/2 hours, thank goodness our driver was cautious, I didn't have 'white knuckles'!
We arrived mid afternoon after traveling since 4 in the morning to a beautiful but manicured grounds (not good for most birds) with cluster units, 2 separate living spaces in each unit, all tastefully done from the outside. I say the outside because they wanted us to stay in a real rustic cabin off site down a dark wooded path...they basically sold our room to a tour group and expected us to sleep in a rat hole and pay top dollar! It took two hours of my vacation birding time to finally get the room we reserved! They NEVER APOLOGIZED not once!!! Food was OK, bring a fleece and rain slicker, it's cold and windy but the sun burns the skin fast.
Melvin was wonderful as a guide, the bar comfy. Management, a huge disappointment. I have friends that stay there every year and one that brings groups as a stop over to other destinations, management still didn't apologize when I mentioned the names, shame on them. We'll see who goes back to Savegre, not me nor will I recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbkCt_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Loved everything about this place. Stayed only 2 nights, but could have stayed longer.
Don't try to travel there on a dark, foggy, rainey night as we did though--very scarey. You really need daylight to navigate the roads. People at the hotel could not have been nicer and more helpful. Food was great and plentiful. Unfortunately, they did put us in cabins leased from another property the first night, but upgraded us the second night to their very best rooms near reception. Walking along the river to the first waterfall was great--the second waterfall--not so much. Hiring a guide is absolute must if you want to see birds and wildlife. Dress warmly - fleece and raingear worked. Take good binoculars.

Room Tip: Make sure room is on actual hotel property--not overflow cabins on adjacent property.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews