We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quetzals, cool mountain air and bird watchers.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
348 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Quetzals, cool mountain air and bird watchers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

One reason you come here is to get a glimpse of the rare and beautiful Quetzal and a few hundred other bird species. If your reason is bird watching make sure you arrange for a guide through the hotel. The guides are expert bird spotters and will take you directly to the places where you will see the most birds including the elusive Quetzal. We were able to get about a half dozen sightings of the Quetzal while hiking about 1km into the forest canopy. The hotel facilities are simple but complete fortunately minus some modern distractions like TV. If you wear an expedition shirt and zip off quick dry hiking pants, you will fit right in. Binoculars are a must and even a modest telephoto camera will get you some great pics. Our guide put our iPhone up to his spotting scope for excellent pictures. Lots of hiking in the area, we even saw a capuchin monkey which is rare for this area. Excellent Costa Rican fare is served buffet style. Remember to tip the staff including guides. They do accept US dollars.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kyle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    208
    53
    12
    9
See reviews for
131
335
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

OK, this is birder's heaven, there are and you may very well see, Quetzals, among many other species. Oh, this is a hotel review is it? Nice big chalets, very comfortable and clean. We'd been roughing it for the past few days and this place seemed like heaven. The restaurant is busy and the food good - you'll note the fish ponds near the hotel - that's where the trout comes. You'll also notice a flock of black vultures lurking near the ponds, they get the leftovers.

Look, I give up, this is still a birding review. There are hummingbird feeders which are constantly busy, fruit and rice feeders for the bigger birds (expect tanagers, acorn woodpeckers, etc) and you may very well see flower piercers stabbing their funny shaped beaks into the base of the flowers in the garden.

There will also be a host of birders, some of whom are as much fun to watch as the birds. There are more giant lenses than in an astronomy workshop, attached to more cameras than seen at a paparazzi convention. It's all great fun and did I mention the birds???

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The rooms were beautiful, the grounds were spectacular, the food was delicious and the birds were plentiful and beautiful. The people who worked at the resort were accommodating and friendly. Because of misjudging the traffic through San Jose, our group of ten arrived late and the manager of the dining room held it open so we didn't have to go to bed without eating. We all really appreciated that. There is a delightful bar with fireplace that we enjoyed congregating in. The highlight of our stay was being able to view and photograph the pair of stunningly beautiful Resplendent Quetzals who were establishing a nest in a tree on the Savegre property. That was a once in a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: We were in 111 and it was lovely. This seemed like a newer room and it was excellent. It was an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryloumellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location is superb of that there is no question. Situated at the bottom of a steep and windy dirt road, Birders clearly love this place for there were bus loads of them. Many may find the elusive Quetzal as we did and the delightful Hummingbirds are plentiful around the feeders outside the reception area. But .......lets talk about about the hotel. The room was adequate, and the bathroom OK but the basin tap was reluctant to deliver hot or cold water - it was nearly always tepid. The outside light didn't work and was only fixed after twice reporting it, and then it failed again. One day we had too many towels and no face cloths, and we left our towels on the rail to save laundry. But the biggest problem this place has is the restaurant which is geared to bus loads of people. It has a self service buffet which has a selection of poor quality low grade food and salads. Food that was supposed to be hot was often nearly cold - on one occasion the filling in the cannelloni a solid tasteless lump. A member of the Kitchen staff was unable to describe the food when asked. The desert table was pitiful. The waiting staff were adept at handling tables full of people, topping up their coffee cups but when it came to the independent traveller they couldn't cope. We were 2 people who found ourselves at the edge of the room where tables for 2 were sometimes laid. Breakfast was less than satisfactory and when we asked for an egg to be cooked without the statutory smothering of tomato sauce or scrambled dry it did eventually come but was stone cold........ oh and the coffee was awful.
Two other observations..... it didn't go down too well seeing a staff briefing in the bar/cafe area circa 11am. Those attending not looking happy.
Electrical work in the car park at 6am outside the block where room 105 was situated meant early morning din and the inconvenience of no electric light just when we needed it to get up in the morning.
All this is such a shame for the actual hotel buildings, gardens and décor are very very nice. The birding walks and trails interesting and challenging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The journey down the valley from the highway was breathtaking, I could have sat and stared at it all day. The hotels bedrooms are well spaced out and enormous. We had 2 double beds and a lounge area. The walk in shower worked well and there was always plenty of hot water. The bench outside the front door offered somewhere to just sit and listen to the birds. The fan heater saved the day and night! we knew it was going to be chilly but had under estimated how cold! The frost in the morning testimony to that!

The Restaurant served only buffet food catering to the large groups, we were a pair of lone travellers and the a La Carte option was not available. Though the food offering was varied and plenty of it. The trout soup and grilled trout were probably the best I have ever had.

We hiked the trail from the highest point of Buena Vista mountain, down through the forest to the hotel. Our most able guide was Rouel, he was born and raised in the valley, his family still farm it and his passion and enthusiasm for the area was infectious.

We wished we could have stayed a couple more nights

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our first visit to Savegre. Getting to the place is a little difficult, but well worth it. We enjoyed our stay and will return. The birding in the area is great and our guide Marino Chacon was the best. The whole experience was great. It is such a nice peaceful location. The food was good and there was always a good selection of items to eat. The rooms were nice. We had a suite with a sitting area and fireplace which was nice to have as the nights are cool. Each of the rooms had a small heater which was very nice to keep the bedroom warm. The grounds are beautiful. We were right on the brook and the sound was so wonderful. The staff were all great. We did have problems with the hot water, but that was fixed as soon as possible. They had to bring a plumber in from San Jose. My cousin and I had a massage while we were there and it was great.

Room Tip: All of the single rooms have been updated. The suite we stayed in had not been updated yet, but I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

When you start to decend the Gorge to the Hotel you have no Idea what you will find. The Gorge was only dicovered 50 years ago by the current owner parents who formed Trout ponds and hunted, Leaving the primary forrest. This now has a comunity supporting the tourists who wish to see the wild life. The resort is imaculate, set with small brick built chalets, ours was double bed with settee and table the bathroom well laid out with a Bath and shower and candles provided should you want a candle lit bath. You may need a fleece as the nights can get a liitle chilly. The restaurant is buffet style with quality food being provided, at reasonable prices, we only had Breakfast and evening meal but lunch buffet was also provided. The whole resort is clean paths swept daily and all building clean. The site like most in Costa is on the side of a hill, although some chalets I think in the 130 to 145 are on the flat next to the restaurant if mobility is concern. We only had two nights here it should have been 4 if you wish to spot the birds, but 2 night if you only have an interest in birds, of which they boast 190 species spotted here, from the Quetsals to the Sparrow you will be amazed how the humming birds miss you as they dart arround. From the room within 100 mtrs you can sit and wait to see what wild life comes to you, but if you want there are circular walks and out and back walks in the primary forrests. Be prepared for the twitchers who flock in to see the rare species of Costa Rica, they are very friendly allowing you to look though thier scopes. Binoculars are a must.

Room Tip: 130 to 145 if mobility is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
32.2 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
7.1 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Property: Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Address: 2km South from La Lidia School, San Gerardo de Dota 482-7050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty-nine kilometers (55.3 miles) south of San Jose in a private natural reserve of 400 hectares and just 9 km. (5.5 miles) from Los Quetzales National Park, Hotel Savegre is the ideal starting point for exploring Costa Rica’s magnificent tropical cloud forest in all its beauty. Hotel Savegre’s services are the perfect complement for every nature lover seeking a memorable experience. We offer 41 rooms, bar and restaurant, day spa, conference room, laundry service, shuttle service, tours and related activities, as well as our beautiful gardens and impressive private reserve with its extensive network of trails. Our helpful and genuinely friendly staff are the hotel’s signature feature.The Chacon family, pioneers in the San Gerardo de Dota region have been operating the hotel since its inception and it has always been our utmost aim to provide top-quality service that goes hand in hand with the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve And Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Savegre Mountain Cartago
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing