We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property! Paradise found!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

About 4 km down a twisty turny road to this gorgeous property flanked by mountains, a river, a waterfall, and beautiful flowers everywhere. I truly felt that I found paradise! The property consists of multiple buildings. We stayed in room #10. It was a basic room with 2 beds, a closet, a bathroom...and a heater that they come and light at 5pm because it does get chilly at night! The bed was comfortable and the shower was awesome! The only down side to the room was that the lighting was quite dim. We really didn't spend much time in the room though so it didn't really matter. There was a rocking chair on the porch and we had a beautiful view of the river. Everything was clean and comfy. There is a "living room" in another building where you can watch DVD's or read books. There's a bar with a pool table and they serve snacks there. They have a cute little shop where I bought some gifts. Outside you can wander around the property through the trout ponds and gardens or you can wander off to the hiking trails which wind by the river/waterfall. They also have 8 zip lines through the woods ($35 per person). There are lots of little places where they've placed benches and chairs for you to sit and relax. We had dinner there one night ($18.75 per person w/tip and tax included). Of course the specialty is trout caught from their ponds and our meals were good. The dessert was not so good. Breakfast in the morning was nice as well. We did the guided Quetzal hike in the morning ($18 per person). We did see the quetzals but I did feel that it was overpriced for what it was. They are putting in a sauna and hot tub near the river which I think will be a great addition. We were told it should be ready in the next few months. I believe they have horseback riding too and they said there is a spa service that would come to the hotel if we liked. I felt this was a great place to stay, very reasonably priced, and I wish we had stayed one more day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAROL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear hammonds, Thank you so much for your generous review of our Lodge. We truly appreciate your taking the time to provide such a detailed description of what you were able to witness, enjoy and discover down here. But most of all, we couldnt we more thrilled that the tought of someone find paradise here!
Just one small correction, which is mainly intended to help any future readers. Once you deviate from the main road (Panamerican Highway) it is approximately 7 km to reach Trogon Lodge(glad to know that they felt like 4km though!).
Glad that you found the rooom to be comfortable, but will keep an eye on your comments about it being dim.
The "living room" is a new addition to our facilities. We wanted to create a small place where our visitors could feel as if they were in the comfort of their own place, where they could read a book, and even bring their own DVD (if they had one handy they were dying to see...) to share it with everyone here. We welcome all familiar cut style dvd movies. We also have a "read one, leave one" book rack and we hope many of our visitors will enjoy this new corner of the Lodge.
Trout is definitely our specialty, that we combine with home grown produce (vegetables) from our hydroponics along with fres fruit, specially from the area, where we can combine tropical fruit with the different ones found in this area (like figs, berries, and others). I am sorry to hear you didnt like your dessert, and would be interested in hearing from you what you had and why you didnt like it. It would truly provide a great opportunity for us in our pursue of offering top quality foods. Please contact us via a private message here on Trip Advisor or feel free to write.The Quetzal tour in the morning is a two hour walk, sometimes it requires more walking than others, sometimes they are easier or more difficult to spot than others, because they move around the area, but believe me, that our guides do tremendous efforts for visitors to enjoy it, even when it means waking up around 4 in the morning to be ready to provide the tour for you. The price, we have always felt to be a fair one, specially compered to similar in the kind around the area, considering also the quality of our guides and general offerings in the country. Moreover, we will also keep an eye on this.
Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Let me start by saying that getting to the Trogon lodge in San Gerardo de dota was far easier that it was made out to be. I must admit that I did have a gps in the suv I rented and that made a world of difference getting out of San Jose. I highly recommend getting one with any car rental in this country. Directions are hard for locals and very hard for everyone else. The major roads from San Jose to the Lodge are paved except for a few sections near the lodge that are dirt roads in fairly good condition. As you take the Pan-American highway from San Jose south you pass through some very beautiful highlands along the ridge and then descend down into the San Gerardo valley. We were greeted with clouds rolling along the forest clad slopes as we drove down to the lodge. Things are fairly easy going at the lodge and we checked in without issue and were immediately enjoying the abundance of flowering plants around the hotel grounds. The hotel is laid out around several trout filled ponds, surrounded by flowers. The paths can be narrow to reach some of the rooms, but this was not a problem since we are younger. However, for older folks, please be advised that some of the paths to the rooms have what some people would consider a steep grade and narrow. Hummingbird were plentiful as were rufus sparrows. The food here was excellent, but pricey. On the deck next to the dining room are several very busy hummingbird feeder. If you thin is to photograph hummingbirds, then this is your place. There is a restaurant down the road that had some more reasonably priced food and great views. The hiking trails from the lodge go up the hill heading up valley. The trails were nicely kept and provide plenty of birding opportunities. After we arrived we headed down the main trail and were quickly greeted by a male quetzal in a tree. He hung around for several minutes tolerating us taking photographs of him. further down the trail is a stream with a bridge and several up and down sections heading through the valley. The lodge has a zipline tour that also follows some of this route. The two day we were there we say nine male and five female quetzals, one emerald toucanet, several green-shrike vireos, rufus sparrows, and an assortment of hummingbirds. The temperatures are nice during the day and are chilly at night. The rooms are equipped with heaters which come in handy. I loved this valley and the birding here. The lodge is beautiful and well maintained. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in birding or escaping the heat of the lower elevations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Magnificent gardens filled with flowers, birds, trout-filled ponds and tropical plants. Meals were excellent included home grown lettuce and fresh trout. Rooms were lovely and staff were friendly and very helpful. Great to see quetzals on guided and unguided hikes. Canopy tour was lots of fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDBotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear SDBotkin,
Thank you so much for your visit and your candid review about our property. We are truly delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit here.
Our hydropinics is definitely something we are really happy about. We now produce our own lettuce, tomatoes, celery, chives, cherry tomatoes and much more! We are trying with new vegetables and glad to offer fresh ingredients from this garden to our visitors.
It is great that you tried the Canopy tour. It surely is fun.
Muchas gracias and pura vida from Costa Rica.
Sincerely,
Eugenia Jurado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stumbled across this gem a few years ago. It is near the highest point on the transamerican highway, in a cloud forest. Drive down into the Saverge valley find this superior landscaped property with hummingbirds aplenty. Cabins are rustic but clean and comfortable, just follow instructions on the little heater, or you'll be calling front desk to re-light lol. The whole property and valley is just spectacular, a diverse change from the heat of the beaches. If you love birds, you will love this place. Our teenagers really loved this spot too, trails everywhere and nowhere near the amount of poisonous critters the coastal forests have, so it was safe for the boys and me to do a bit of canyon hiking and bushwhacking. Get there early to take advantage of trails, and zipline etc. because the sun goes down really early. It gets cool at night, jacket or sweater required. The Quetzal walk goes to a small farm where the quetzals come to feed on fruit trees right beside the parking area. Not really a hide and seek trip for these amazing birds, as they do a feeding routine in the morning. Us humans just figured out where they eat breakfast and we visit them at their fave tree. Truly resplendent birds, and pretty tolerant of people.
You are guaranteed to see them without a strenuous hike, we walked down the road but we'd rather take the guide down in the car and walk All the staff were pleasant and helpful, there is a brand new lounge bar with a pool table and bar now too.
If anyone is visiting the south pacific region (Dominical and south), driving thru st. Isidro thru the mountains to San Jose is the most spectacular scenery and worth a day to stay at Trogon lodge for the night, a diverse change from the crowds and the heat. Worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: End cabins by the trail entrance are our fave, away from others and hummingbird central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krazykawarthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

dear krazykawartha,
Thank you for visiting us again! We undestand this wasnt your first visit and we surely hope it wont be your last. We are glad that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit, and hope that next time we will do it even better and youll give us the 5 star rating on your visit!!
Yes, as you say, it is important to note that in Costa Rica it gets dark very early, and sunrise is also early. With small variations throughout the year, it should be clear around 5:30 am, but it will also go dark around the same hour in the afternoon, so it is important to plan your day accordingly.
quetzals reside here around the year, they move around depending on the availability and amount of their main source of food, the Aguacatillo tree. Sometimes easier to spot than others, that is why San Gerardo is considered as the "Valley of Quetzals". But, I also think it has to do with the proper handling of this little haven. Small and few hotels, that cater and work towards sustainability, a proud community that protects and cares for the area as well as visitors who truly care for the environment and the area.
Thank you again for your visit. We truly appreciate your candid recommendations of our area and property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful ecolodge! Amazing surroundings and super friendly staff who come and bring you a hot water bottle for the colder nights in the mountains. Food is nice and authentic and local! Everything is done to minimise the impact on the environment! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank belgiankim_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear belgiankim_london,
We are so happy to ready through your review and how you enjoyed the visit in San Gerardo. It is always a delight to learn when we have done our job well and it is appreciated.
We do work hard on providing an authentic experience in all respectes, minimizing impact on nature, providing more and more options each day for meals that use fresh and preferably locally grown ingredients, and work with our staff to always be on the look of the needs and wants of our visitors. Thank you for coming and for sharing your experience. Muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Located in a valley, this lodge is very scenic and boasts of large variety of exotic flowers and some species of birds. The rooms are clean and cabin style. Since there are no nearby restaurants, you have to have all three meals in the hotel itself. The only interesting activity is a quetzal trek to a tree which is 5 to 8 minutes by walk from the lodge. This trek costs you $18 per person and you are almost sure of seeing 4 to 6 young quetzals. There are 2 trails which take you to the cloud forest and you can see variety of trees and leaves there. There is a small waterfall on the way. After 2 nights, you might find it boring as you have nothing else to do and the food also becomes repetitive. The staff is great and very helpful and friendly. Wifi can be painfully slow in the rooms but quite fast in reception. Room cleaning can be improved.
Overall, a lovely place for 2 days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iyengars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this picturesque setting. Went out early one morning with the very knowlegeable guide and saw quetzals. Took many pictures of one of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen. Enjoyed the food at the cozy restaurant, and a hike on the "long" trail. The people there were very cordial. We highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a beautiful ride out of San Jose, and a cloud forest experience. A bonus: driving further down the road gets you to the Kawaka Cafe, a lovely place to have lunch, and another waterfall hike.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnnP865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear JoAnn P,
Thank you so much for visiting us, and for your sharing your comments about the experience in Trogon Lodge, San Gerardo de Dota. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed it thoroughlly and got to see the Quetzals!. San Gerardo is definitely a special place to see the Quetzals throughout the year, and it is truly delightful when we hear from our visitors that they were able to spot it.
Thank you for sharing the picture too and for also visiting Cafe Kahawa, it is a new developing Cafe in the area, with specialties in trout and right next to the river...a nice new option.
Hppy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
783 reviews
30.9 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
152 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
406 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: £107 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing