We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for quetzal watching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ideal location for quetzal watching”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Nestled in picturesque valley high in the beautiful mountains surrounded by colourful, cultivated gardens.
Cabins are semi detached and squeaking floor boards transmit noise from on to the other. The cabin was clean but not luxurious, which wasn't a problem, but was let down by small things such as missing light bulbs and intermittent hot water in the shower.
The food was poor, buffet style with limited choice and imagination, we had a choice of their farmed tout or dried up pork. Portion sizes were unnecessarily mean.
Quetzal tour was ideal to locate the two nests in the area, we had a great view of two pairs visiting their nests. The guide was friendly and knowledgable.
We are fit people who do a lot of walking however the distance to our cabin up many steps at the high altitude was physically demanding, make sure you request a cabin near to the facilities if you can't manage this.
The lodge offers a tour to the waterfalls but this is easily accessed by driving to the end of the road and following the signs past the trout farm.
Overall a good place to stop to bird watch but 2 nights is plenty of time to do this.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    139
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
125
322
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After a long trip from Carthago,we finally arrived in this very special place,just before nightfall.Surrounded by forest and one paradisiac garden with many Hummingbirds and beautiful plants,we jelt so sorry that we could not stay more than one night!The food and atmoshere in the common house was very nice.It would be could at night,around zero degrees,but then stuff come in and lighted gas-heaters in every single bungalow,and the stay would be cozy.A nice place to be and good humered we went to explore Quetzal-region the next morning...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Trogon Lodge. Beautiful setting and bird watcher's paradise. Our guide Greivin was fantastic. The food at the on-site restaurant was delicious. The nights are chilly in the cloud forest but we had gas heaters in our room to keep us cozy. The 7 km. dirt road into the lodge was a bit of a challenge for our little put-put but we made it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a wonderful retreat. I live in Costa Rica and have visited many places. This little mountain lodge is absolutely beautiful! They plant flowers and tress on the property to attract birds. So many hummingbirds at the place it is unbelievable. The guide on the birding trip was very knowledgeable and knew exactly where to find the Quetzals. Totally relaxing if you're not into birding just sit and enjoy the grounds and the ambiance. Very quiet, no barking dogs, trains, planes or automobile noises. A bit cool because it is at 7,000 ft but the staff comes by in the evening and lights up your heater and also puts hot water bottles in your bed. Some excellent food too. I'm coming back!

Room Tip: If you have ambulatory issues ask for a room down low near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived at night after the office closed but the bar was open and we were welcomed by family. The office was closed but the bar was open with wood stoves going and plenty of couches and chairs with comfy seating. The bartender immediately offered us a coffee or hot chocolate and then went to wake up the manager. Their office did not have our reservations in their computer yet but he told us not to worry about anything until the next morning and took us to our room.

The room had two bedside tables, reading lights, a large desk and chair, shelves for suitcases and clothing and hooks to hang things. The bathroom was modern, plenty of hot water, towels and soaps provided. There was a small space heater and super cozy bedding. The room was spotless and had a large picture window with a view of the gardens. There was a rocking chair and a hammock in front of our room.

Our reservations included a buffet breakfast which exceeded our expectations.

The gardens are simply exceptional and filled with hummingbirds that are a delight to watch. The river runs through the property and through several stocked trout ponds. There are quiet paths to explore, places to sit along the river and countless varieties of flowering and fruiting plants.

The family and staff have worked very hard over the years to create a mountain sanctuary that should not be missed. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived and I would go back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room convenient to parking for a shorter walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DharmaMtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What beautiful grounds!! We have seen some amazing landscaping at hotels in Hawaii, but I have to say the grounds at the Trogon Lodge were much more beautiful than anything we have seen in Hawaii. The setting was almost unreal, it was so beautiful, and yet is seemed very natural. The food was some of the best we ate in Costa Rica, especially having fresh Rainbow trout, which we both grew up catching and eating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing retreat in the mountains of Costa Rica, Trogon Lodge is for you! The Lodge is located in a beautiful setting at about 8000 ft with gorgeous grounds that are excellently maintained. The cabins are set along the Sevegre river which cascades down the mountain side - stunning! There are fruit trees and a variety of flowers that attract a plethora of bird life - the main attraction of the area. If you want to see birds, this is your spot. There are a ton of hummingbirds that come to the many feeders on the grounds and of course, there are quetzals in the area as well! The morning tour arranged by the Lodge will surely give you a sighting of this magnificent bird, wow! As for food, the breakfast was awesome with an omelette stand, hot buffet, fresh baked bread and fresh topical fruit. The lunch was a set course with options - I had the trout which was very tasty. Our cabin was very cute and comfortable with a nice hot shower and great heating at night (they light the gas for you at 5pm). The only drawback of this rustic cabin is that most cabins house two rooms and the walls are pretty thin - we could hear our neighbors which was not ideal but with the bathroom door closed, it did not really bother us. The staff was very friendly and when we had left a valuable behind in the room after check out, they stowed it safely until we could retrieve it again. Overall, this is an excellent choice for a peaceful retreat in the mountains. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVida365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
30.9 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
5.8 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Property: Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing