We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maubec
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a little problem upon arrival and had to wait for someone to buzz us in. We waited about 10 minutes or so, but everything after this fell nicely into place. The grounds as you approach the main building are very well maintained and beautiful. We were shown immediately to our room which was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and made it clear if we needed anything how to contact them. They made arrangements to offer us breakfast the one morning a little early since we had an early departure. Dinner was good, but it would have helped to have a larger selection during our stay. We were served similar meals two of the three nights.

Would definitely stay again it was a nice getaway and very quite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francetraveltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Unlike other reviews we found this to be a charming retreat with the hosts greeting us and making sure we were confortable. It is a lovely quiet location and both dinner and breakfast were excellent. It was at the very end of their season and yet the pool was operational, and the gardens lovely. It is a unique old setting with charming common rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is extremely beautiful but the service is terrible. Next time, I will stay in a nearby town just to avoid this hotel. Most of the time, the staff are away from the hotel (illegal in France, I believe). So if you have a problem or need something, there is nothing you can do.

Our room was not cleaned until after we returned from our day trips (at 6pm, still not cleaned). We left the wet towels to be changed in the bath (as the sign said) and instead, they just hung them back up on the rack. We arrived back to find the towels soaking wet, dirty and mixed up. The staff then pretended not to speak any English (after already speaking in English to us) and said they had no more towels and they could not help. Soaps and shampoo were also never replenished.

Breakfast was appalling. Continental breakfast only. Coffee cups were so cracked that they leaked and once something ran out, it was never replaced. Not just on the day, but for the entire stay. They ran out of cereal on the first day and days later, still no cereal, only the empty dispensers. The same cheese and croissants were re-used day after day. If no one ate them, out they came the next day, stale and sour and never replaced. Disgusting.

If you need internet, forget it. It's so slow, even Google could take 10 minutes to load.

It's such a shame, the previous owners ran a beautiful hotel. However, the new owners... For such an expensive hotel, you feel completely robbed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 52_hotels_in_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine G, Gérant at Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions d’avoir déposé un commentaire sur notre fiche. Notre établissement vous a accueilli durant une semaine au cours de laquelle vous nous informez avoir rencontré certaines difficultés.
Votre séjour s’est déroulé en fin de haute saison dans notre établissement. Sachez que durant cette période, notre personnel change, établissant donc un roulement des équipes et un temps d’adaptation peut leur être nécessaire parfois et nous en excusons. Concernant les serviettes, il n’est pour autant pas nécessaire de les changer quotidiennement durant un séjour de 7 jours, néanmoins les shampoings et savons sont renouvelés tous les jours.
Vous relevez que notre personnel ne comprenait pas votre langue et ce intentionnellement. A noter que lors de votre arrivée dans notre établissement, vous avez été accueilli par la réceptionniste qui est bilingue. Néanmoins, tout notre personnel ne l’est pas. Ils ont cependant, toujours essayé de comprendre et répondre à chacune de vos demandes.
Tout notre personnel a pour objectif de satisfaire chaque client et cela est pour nous une priorité, c’est pourquoi, nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire un retour de votre séjour afin que nous puissions améliorer les points abordés.
La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

So after staying at a basic but very lovely farmhouse in Peypin D'Aigues, we had 2 nights left of our family holiday & decided to treat ourselves & our kids to what looked to be a stunning 2 room family treehouse at La Bastide du Bois Breant... Car packed up, Kids excited as were we & after a long drive, we were thoroughly disappointed to discover that they had 'double booked' the treehouse. To our surprise, there was absolutely no apology nor responsibility taken by the 3 ladies on reception (one being the manager) only "this is not a mistake but a misunderstanding on both our parts" . Even though we showed them our confirmation text! Their attitude was arrogant, rude with absolutely no attempt of a resolution. Eventually, after an hour of these 3 ladies arguing with each other (it seemed) they said they had 2 rooms available & were prepared to put us all in the bigger one. This room was at the cheaper rate of €200, however, after they had shown us the room, which was lovely albeit a little cramped for 4!, they informed us that with the kids it would be the same price as the treehouse, €300. They would not budge. "Take it or not, that is our price" we were shocked & it now being 6.30pm with 2 tired, tetchy, disappointed girls, we had no choice. I informed them immediately of a broken toilet in our room, which, incidentally was whirring loudly when they first showed us the room, & they actually said we must've broken it?! They would not fix it till the following day & that first night, the broken toilet kept awake for the most part. Again no apology & no compensation. & so it went on... There were 3 other events of a similar nature. On a positive note, the hotel was clean, beautifully decorated, lovely pool & well located to visit Roussillion (a highlight for us). There was zero service & the food was poor. If I was to say, we will not be returning! If you still decide to go, get double confirmation via email. Do not pay up front, & please eat at the delightful restaurant in the village (5minutes walk) called Auberge (I think). Our experience was almost enough to put me off returning to France...

Room Tip: Treehouse looks great if you like to glamp & not scared of heights, if you're not double boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 99Simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrine G, Gérant at Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,
Lors de votre arrivée à la Bastide du Bois Bréant nous avons pu grâce à notre planning de réservation en ligne vous confirmer le malentendu lié à votre réservation pour votre séjour dans la cabane familiale. En effet, la réservation faite avait été réalisée pour la semaine suivante sur notre planning et vous n’avez pas été en mesure de nous montrer votre confirmation de réservation mentionnant la date demandée du jour.
Néanmoins, nous nous sommes confondues, toutes 3 en excuses à plusieurs reprises essayant de vous apporter la meilleure solution. L’hôtel étant plein, comme la majorité des hôtels à cette date, nous n’avions malheureusement plus qu’une chambre disponible que vous avez souhaité visiter, malgré nos mises en gardes liées à la superficie de la chambre qui ne semblait pas adaptée à un séjour pour vous et vos 2 filles vous informant également que le prix de cette chambre étant initialement prévu pour 2 personnes, sa capacité devant être doublée pour vous accueillir le prix a dû être révisé fonction des tarifs annoncés.
Vous avez fait constater à la femme de ménage que la chasse d’eau du WC coulait lors de votre installation dans la chambre à 18h30. La femme de ménage ne parlant votre langue a du mal s’exprimer, vous informant que le plombier ne pouvait pas se déplacer à cette heure-ci, n’étant pas logé sur place et que le nécessaire serait fait le lendemain, ce qui a été honoré.
Nous sommes sincèrement navrés que vous n’ayez pas pu apprécier le séjour comme vous l’espériez, mais sachez que nous sommes convaincus d’avoir fait tout notre possible pour vous apporter une solution la mieux adaptée fonction de vos attentes et de nos disponibilités.
La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The value for money is horrible. we spent eur 170 for a double, which was not worth it compared to all the fantastic chambre d'hote in the area. breakfast buffet hasn't been refilled, the owner has never greeted us and when we asked i we could reduce the number of nights we were advised that this was possible if we paid. the dinner we had was very well cooked and served by the chef, which was the only great thing here. sorry. never again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Staying nearby, so booked a table for 10 of us for two evenings and were delighted.

Lovely welcome, attentive service and great value (4 courses 28 euros with a choice of main course). Quality ingredients, nothing fancy, all really hit the spot. We were sat in an attractive courtyard and couldn't fault it.

This is not a restaurant so you won't have a great choice (though they did accommodate a few of menu choices) but feels like your eating at the table of someone who enjoys serving tasty/homely food.

Recomended. Also try Delice des Mets opposite the Mairie.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

With our flight from London to Marseille cancelled, we had to drive to the south of France to get to the wedding in time. You can imagine that after 750 miles of driving, and having to miss our first night at the hotel, how relieved we were to arrive at the hotel with a couple of hours to go before the wedding. We were thrilled with how beautiful the grounds and how pretty our room was. Unfortunately hospitality was wholly lacking...asking for a coffee to revive our energy, it was served..without milk..despite asking twice. On arriving back from the wedding at 11pm, we had to wait outside the gates, as we had not been told the code for the gates and no one answered the buzzer. Luckily another guest arrived in half an hour..not fun. We asked for dinner in the restaurant on sunday..the brochure and in room booklet said to ask before 11am, we asked at 8am..and were told, no - no dinner was going to be served as not enough people..a real disappointment. The house is full of character..but the two guest lounges were cold and uninviting. There was nowhere to be able to get a coffee or tea outside of breakfast time, as there are no facilities in room, and no staff to be found. No one was available late sunday afternoon, evening, or early Monday morning to check out with, so with a 750 mile journey ahead of us, we had to leave early monday morning, with no chance of making a coffee or seeing a croissant, and just asking for someone to call to settle account. Would have loved to relax in the hot tub..which you need to book..but no one around to book. Beautiful building, but dreadfully lacking in hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grimstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maubec
8.1 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
6.1 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#10 of 24 in Gordes
245 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
285 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
4.9 mi away
Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant

Address: 501 Chemin du Puits de Grandaou, 84660 Maubec, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Maubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maubec
Price Range: £136 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bastide Du Bois Breant Maubec, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing