We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean and a massive bath!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De La Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel De La Paix
Ranked #2 of 21 Poperinge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and a massive bath!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel between 8-12 September to visit family and for a small tour of some WW1 cemeteries.
Now, I've stayed in other hotels in Poperinge, and although clean and welcoming, some can be a bit 'Faulty Towers' esq so I wasn't sure what to expect. I needn't have worried though, this hotel was gorgeous! Stylish, modern and absolutely spotless with a HUGE bath! Well above the usual standard!
The owners were lovely and couldn't do enough for us during our stay.
It is in the centre of Poperinge so it's easy to meet other members of your party if they are staying elsewhere, only a short drive away from Ypres and we visited as many museums as we could which I strongly recommend!

My friend and I have booked to go back next year we enjoyed our stay so much! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough!
Thank you Linda for the perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_Bobs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We are a middle aged couple that were looking for a peaceful and relaxing break. What we experienced this weekend at the Hotel De La Paix was a nightmare. We suffered for two nights a live concert just outside our hotel bedroom window. Saturday night from 7 -12 was live music then from 12 - 2am clubland style music on full volume in the square. We then had to suffer the noise of dustcarts cleaning the square till about 4am. I complained to the owner that if we had been told before hand we would have never had booked the 2 rooms. She was not really bothered. Be careful if you are booking for next weekend it's due to carry on till then!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koen S, Manager at Hotel De La Paix, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Our hotel is on the marketsquare and people organise events on the marketsquare, like Marktrock every last weekend of August. This year there was for the first time a dj set, which we didn't knew, so we could not communicate about this with the customer. We have 4.5 on Trip Advisor and most customers appreciate our business, it's a pity to be named with 'nightmare??'for something that's nothing have to do with our hotel or our service to the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed one night to visit my great uncles grave at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery. We had a lovely room overlooking the square. We paid an extra 10 euros to be on the first floor (there are no lifts). It was a bigger room with a lovely bathroom. The people ver friendly and helpful. Owner/manager offered to drive us to the cemetery after 3pm as there were no buses or taxis out there. We decided to walk both ways (3 miles each way) due to time. Happy with our stay. Very nice restaurant on ground floor.

Room Tip: No lift and steep steps to carry bags if heavy. We stayed Friday night and people go to bed very la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here for a number of years on our trips to the Great War sites, this time it was just for pleasure. The hotel is family run and very high quality. Their rooms are 5 star, all slightly different. The run a small cafe/bar restaurant next door, and being in the town square very popular. Food and drink all local, cooking by the owners. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. Train is only 7 minutes from Ypres. But Poperinge is a lovely town with a Hops museum and Talbot house, both well worth the visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jon5653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Booked online when traveling back from Bernkastel as a final night before taking the Calais ferry home. What a surprise when we saw the rooms. Quite exceptional. Modern, spotless, spacious and of high standard. We had a room facing the square, our friends opting for a quieter room at the rear which was complete with a large roof terrace, which we all used for a late night drink. The atmospheric bar, used also by the locals, served an amazing selection of Belgian beers at local bar prices. The restaurant, with inside and outside seating, served excellent food, also at a reasonable price. Breakfast was good and served in a small private breakfast room. Ample free parking at rear. Highly recommended, Poperinge being a charming little town.

Room Tip: I am sure that with only 5 rooms they are all to a very high standard, but the proprietors will happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Poperinge is about 7 miles from Ypres and we were visiting First World War graves of our family members buried in the Ypres Salient. This hotel is simply delightful. Small, only 5 rooms but big on style, comfort and the welcome from the owners. It's located in one of the corners of the main square which has many bars and restaurants. Parking is always an issue in such central locations. Parking in the square is for 3 hours maximum but there is free parking behind the hotel with no maximum hourly stay.

The rooms are very well appointed and each is different, we had rooms 3 and 4 and they both had decked balconies, with exterior lights for night time with chairs, plants and interesting knick knacks. Room 3 has a wonderful view across the square The bathroom was very well appointed and also has a superb shower. If I have to be hyper critical, the basin was a triumph of style over substance - beautiful to behold but impractical to use but really it's the tiniest of gripes in what was an oasis of pleasure. The beds were really comfortable and so welcome after a very long day out in the Salient. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which was very good and our host Linda boiled eggs to perfection to add to the extensive buffet choices available

I'd recommend this hotel without equivocation. If you need a modern, stylish but comfortable hotel with welcoming hosts who should be rightly proud of what they have created - don't hestitate, book it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Smaller balcony but a great view, choose room 3. For a huge balcony choose room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and are never disappointed. The hosts are so welcoming and attentive. The rooms are all very stylish and exceptionally clean. The hotel is situated in the main square with plenty of bars & restaurants although the hotel food is first class. Breakfast is buffet style with a large choice of fresh fruit, breads, cheese, meats etc. and is plentiful. In one of the side roads off the square we found an Irish bar called The Old Fiddler. They have a lovely garden to enjoy a cool beer and they also serve hearty food (they are closed on Tuesdays) . I cannot rate Poperinge and especially this hotel highly enough, we have already booked our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelawns11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poperinge
0.1 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 6 in Poperinge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#3 of 6 in Poperinge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#5 of 6 in Poperinge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel 'T Heilig Genot
Hotel 'T Heilig Genot
#1 of 1 in Westvleteren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manoir Ogygia
Manoir Ogygia
#2 of 6 in Poperinge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix

Property: Hotel De La Paix
Address: Grote Markt 20, Poperinge 8970, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Poperinge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Poperinge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De La Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing