We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Friendly”
Review of Hotel De La Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De La Paix
Ranked #3 of 22 Poperinge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was just a one night stop over whilst on route through to Luxembourg. This was a good choice. The rooms were very nice. We had a nicely spacious double room with a good size en suite. There was even a very spacious balcony that had a couple of sun beds, parasol, table and chairs. The balcony was the same size as the bedroom.(as we only stayed one night we obviously did not fully use this. Shame!) We had our evening meal in the hotel and it was very well presented. Tasted very nice as well. The hotel is in the centre of the town and after dinner we went for a short walk around and found a great Irish bar jus a couple of minutes away. It was market day the next morning and this was set up in the square right outside the hotel. Great to have a walk round before setting off.
This hotel is clean and well run. The staff were very friendly and seem to speak any language that was put in front of them. It was perfect for our one night stay and would suggest that it would be good to use as a base and stay a few nights.

Room Tip: No lifts. So if you have difficulty with stairs then this hotel is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in room 1. The room was very well equipped with nice furnishings. The bath/shower room was clean and modern and provided with toiletries. The breakfast was good but not remarkable and more than sufficient. The Hotel's cafe/bar terrace was right below our room which overlooked the cobbled square. The entire front wall of our room was glazed and we were unable to open a window. In the height of summer it would be very warm. The hotel lacks one essential - sound proofing materials between floors and rooms. The floors are all quarry tiled and the furniture is heavy and wooden. Lots of noise transmitted upwards from the dining room below. The staircase is wooden and noise of persons walking up and down them is intrusive. Noise from room above also a problem. Early morning traffic on the cobbled street and also the setting up of the Friday market in the square meant that you were disturbed early. I would rate this hotel 7 out of 10. I would give it 9 but for the noise issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite side of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had 3 nights in room 3 overlooking the picturesque market square. The hotel is clean,tastefully decorated and convenient for touring the area. The balcony was a consideration for us as you can step outside for a smoke. I didn't mind being awakened on Friday morning market day.We had a pleasant stroll around the stalls,after enjoying a well presented buffet breakfast (watch that toaster! we accidentally set off the fire alarm.. sorry!). There is free parking behind the hotel through an archway in the street. We recommend the Irish pub off the square for a relaxed atmosphere after a busy day. Just bear in mind that you will have stairs to climb if not on the ground floor. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: more to see overlooking the square;have a balcony if you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cojacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel looked delightful even from the images on the booking website, but when we got there it was even better than expected.
My room overlooked the picturesque market square, dotted with bars, restaurants, the town hall and a church.
The room was very sizeable with a good bathroom, a small terrace and an extremely comfortable bed; however, remember to close the curtains at night because all the bars on the other side of the square could easily see into the room!
Adjoining the hotel was the Cafe de la Paix, which had an excellent choice on the menu and though it may have seemed a tad expensive at first, the quality and quantity you got exceeded the cost paid. A well stocked bar offered a range of Belgian beers, some as strong as 12%!
The staff all spoke English and were very friendly and ready to help at any time.
Behind the hotel is a free car park; use this if you can as the square and other nearby car parks, while not unduly expensive, do fill up quick - and on Fridays (market day) your car will be removed from the square in the early hours of the morning and a E250 fine might have to be paid, so get used to using the free car park.
There appears to be a rota of opening hours and days with the bars and restaurants; the Cafe de la Paix is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, but others are open on these days and closed when the de la Paix is open. It's a quirk of Belgian life that you will have to get used to.
Overall this is a hotel I would be more than happy to come back to.

Room Tip: Guests in the rooms facing the market square could find they may be disturbed by noise from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywilson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friend and I had visited Westvleteren for the trappist beer and coincidentally missed the last train home. After going around town trying to find a place to stay to no avail, Linda graciously opened up an apartment that is undergoing construction for us to stay in. It was a beautiful little apartment right near the main square and the beds provided for an incredibly comfortable sleep. It was even more comfortable when compared to the prospect of having needed to sleep in the train station. Thank you for everything, Linda!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanInEur0pe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel de la Paix is a very nice, quiet, clean family-hotel. The room (2) was excellent and had a wide terrace. Lot of space, modern bathroom with separated bath and shower cabin. WC is in a separate room. I recommend this hotel managed by a very nice couple. and "I'll be back"

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillemRooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel between 8-12 September to visit family and for a small tour of some WW1 cemeteries.
Now, I've stayed in other hotels in Poperinge, and although clean and welcoming, some can be a bit 'Faulty Towers' esq so I wasn't sure what to expect. I needn't have worried though, this hotel was gorgeous! Stylish, modern and absolutely spotless with a HUGE bath! Well above the usual standard!
The owners were lovely and couldn't do enough for us during our stay.
It is in the centre of Poperinge so it's easy to meet other members of your party if they are staying elsewhere, only a short drive away from Ypres and we visited as many museums as we could which I strongly recommend!

My friend and I have booked to go back next year we enjoyed our stay so much! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough!
Thank you Linda for the perfect stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_Bobs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poperinge hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
198 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#4 of 6 in Poperinge
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manoir Ogygia
Manoir Ogygia
#2 of 6 in Poperinge
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 6 in Poperinge
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#3 of 6 in Poperinge
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Rentmeestershoeve
De Rentmeestershoeve
#1 of 22 in Poperinge
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix

Address: Grote Markt 20, Poperinge 8970, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Poperinge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Poperinge
Price Range: £83 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De La Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing