We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Rentmeestershoeve
Ranked #1 of 22 Poperinge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I was totally amazed by this wonderful place. Obviously Ann, our hostess, is dedicated to making everyone feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for her. She speaks excellent English, recommends lovely restaurants to eat in, provides you with all the information you could wish for in the form of a folder packed full of leaflets and maps and has the most amazing property which her and her husband have lovingly converted to the highest standard.

Truly wonderful and we will return.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful but the "Princess of Hearts" which we stayed in was so very roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchild094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
85
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

What a perfect place to stay! We were visiting from Australia for Anzac Day and touring the WW1 sites and it was close to Ypres and many other areas of interest.
Ann is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble and our room had a gas fire and every possible comfort. We can totally recommend this great 'home away from home' - breakfast was sumptuous and the dinner Ann prepared was first class. We can recommend staying at B&B De Rentmeestershoeve to anyone who enjoys style, comfort and a host with a wonderful personality and smile.

Room Tip: Because we were staying 4 nights Ann gave us the family room and it was wonderful with a lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We all value quality. And nobody understand this better than Ann and her husband who have clearly spared no expense in renovating their beautiful home.

We arrived a little late but it was no problem for Ann who came out to welcome us and then took us up to our room which was airy and stylishly decorated. Our daughter was delighted with the little platform up in the eaves where two beds were set up.

So glad we chose to eat the food that Ann herself prepared. amazingly fresh and tasty local ingredients, cooked and served with style and generosity.

The beds were the most comfortable we've slept in and the construction quality means no noise from neighbouring rooms.

Breakfast is a work of art using delicious local ingredients and we can certainly say that if we ever visit the area in future we will certainly want to stay at the rentmeesterhoeve.





Everything has a quality look and feel and door handle and works perfectly. All the plumbing

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

When we happened upon B&B De Rentmeestershoeve via Google earth, we knew it would be the perfect rural location for WWI exploration & cycling (located very close to the famous Kemmelberg). We had no idea what a gem this B&B would turn out to be and fully enjoyed our 2 night stay. Upon arrival we were graciously greeted by Ann (we were running late). She sat and visited with us and shared her recommendations for the area while we relaxed and enjoyed a welcome drink (local aperitif). She also loaned us some of her hiking and cycling maps. Ann then showed us to our beautiful room - huge bathroom, sitting area & gas fireplace, and a gift bag containing homemade jam, liquor & local honey. After a tiring 10 hour drive, we opted to stay in and have dinner at the B&B (salad and local cheese/fruit plate). Breakfast was just as tasty and beautifully presented (the other guests raved about the eggs and shrimp). After a day out exploring, we came back to our room to a great surprise of late afternoon pastry & coffee that we enjoyed in front of the fire. This B&B is first rate and has none of the pretentiousness that sometimes is paired with such high standards - We highly recommend it! Thanks Ann & Philip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in a family room although there were only two of us. The room was spotless, quiet and a king sized double bed (with a sound new mattress). Much thought had gone into the furnishings, indeed the whole place was so stylish. Plenty of space for everything, nice blackout curtains and lovely touches such as hand written poems and fresh roses in your room.
We ate there one evening and had breakfast there for the two days - the standard of hospitality, food and surroundings was really outstanding.
The situation is lovely and rural yet Poperinge is less than 10 minutes drive. If you get the chance and the weather is good then use the patios and sit outside would be heaven. We really could not fault this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSurrey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gentbrugge
Level Contributor
282 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Whether you are visiting the flanders fields region (westhoek) for a walking vacation or a biking vacation or just to relax, you have to stay in the Rentmeesterhoeve. The host Ann is is a most likeable, friendly and joyful lady. She makes you feel very welcome and is happy to help you with pointing out some interesting places and points of nterest or some tips to make your visit worthwhile. The rooms are very clean, elegantly furnished and very stylish. The house and grounds are wonderful.
Ann serves a great breakfast and upon request she even serves you a wonderful dinner.
Everything is prepared with love.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Had a wonderful 3 night stay .
Ann the owner was an amazing hostess, from the welcome drink on arrival and the gift bag plus little home made treats left in our room made us feel really special.
Beautiful rooms and gardens would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boolincs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poperinge
3.1 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
164 reviews
3.3 mi away
Manoir Ogygia
Manoir Ogygia
#2 of 6 in Poperinge
96 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostellerie Kemmelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#5 of 6 in Poperinge
126 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel 'T Heilig Genot
Hotel 'T Heilig Genot
#1 of 1 in Westvleteren
70 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rentmeestershoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rentmeestershoeve

Property: De Rentmeestershoeve
Address: Reningelstplein 5 | Reningelst, Poperinge 8970, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Poperinge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Poperinge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rentmeestershoeve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Rentmeesterhoeve" is located on the historical site of the former manor of Reninghelst. What remained of the old farm, adjacent to the manor's foundations, has been transformed during 2007 and 2008 into an attractive and comfortable B&B. You'll wake up in the pastoral atmosphere of the inner courtyard and in the reassuring proximity of the Saint Vedast's Church, just as it used to be many centuries ago before the French Revolution. The "Rentmeesterhoeve" radiates an intimacy imbued with flavors of a long gone past. However, you'll be pleasantly surprised by its modern comfort. Here you'll find at last the peaceful surrounding you've been yearning for so long, while savoring your copious breakfast with a view of the old moat and the village church beyond. The "Rentmeesterhoeve" is the ideal starting point for many a fine spin on your bicycle, by far the best way to explore the Westhoek, the most western part of Flanders. You'll discover the panoramas of Heuvelland (the hilly country) and the hop-fields. You'll sample the local beers of Poperinge and Westvleteren, or a "picon", the appetizer of the French part of Flanders, over the border nearby... And above all, you're in the heart of Flanders Fields, so dear to the British and Commonwealth people, with its multitude of military cemeteries and monuments and the sacred city of Ypres only 12 km away ; whilst there, don't miss the Peace Museum and the daily moving Last Post ceremony under the Menin Gate. To make things easy, a network of both cycling and hiking routes (numbered) has been created in this lovely Westhoek area of ours. Our roads are easygoing, but beware, there are also some treacherous slopes. You can map out your own itinerary. And you'll meet appropriate signposts to keep you on the right track. One thing is certain: you'll always find a welcoming cafe to take a "refill", and after your efforts you can be sure, on returning to the "Rentmeesterhoeve", of a refreshing shower awaiting you. Heritage and history, nature and tranquility, gastronomy and friendship form a bouquet of opportunities to create a little heaven on earth... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your De Rentmeestershoeve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing