We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful from start to finish! x”
Review of Manoir Ogygia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manoir Ogygia
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poperinge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful from start to finish! x”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Me and my Husband planned a visit to Poperinge to visit one of the military cemeteries in the area. We stayed at the Manoir Ogygia for 3 nights and had dinner at the castle for two nights. The owners were lovely people, very attentive and friendly. The food was outstanding and it was so good, that we had to go there again for the second night!!! I have never experienced such amazing as this, very special.

The rooms and décor throughout the hotel is tasteful and vintage. The town is a ten minute walk and the hotel has car parking facilities if you are driving. We absolutely loved it and we fully recommend for any future visitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammieb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
59
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our second stay and it was fabulous. We stayed in Hebe and walking in we had the wow moment. The room is luxurious and the place is truly peaceful. Great champagne breakfast to send us on our way, hubbie was driving I got both glasses:-)

There are cheaper hotels but if you want to feel indulgent and spoil yourself, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Gannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Kind attentive staff, wonderful breakfast, comfortable and spacious room. A bit pricey but excellent for a romantic getaway at that part of Flanders. Good restaurants and cafés within walking distance too! You can ask to have a massage (on surcharge of course) and it's well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pips188669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Spent 1 night in the hotel on the way back to the UK in September. Its quite pricey for the room and the meal. Possibly we were unlucky, there was no hot water in the room when we arrived. The meal was good, but fully priced for what they served. I was expecting a really great room and a wonderful meal, neither really lived up to the expectation or the price they charge. We have stayed in lots of owner occupied Chateaux in France and on each occasion we were made to feel as if we were part of an experience, more than just a room and a meal. There was no such engagement here, iys OK, but for the prices they charge there are other choices in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

You wouldn't know this hotel was here - only a few minutes walk from the town centre, tucked away in spacious and tree-filled grounds, with peacocks and chickens roaming freely. A little bit of luxury, with no parking problems.

Next to the hotel is a splendid smallish chateau type building, where dinner is served - and dinner is an experience in itself. A set menu, fine dining style, beautiffuly cooked and presented.

This hotel is perhaps not for lovers of minimalism as it is crammed full with objets d'art and bric-a-brac, but all very tasteful.

I was almost embarrassed at the amount of food laid out for breakfast, given that we were the only guests during our two-night stay. Six different cheeses, smoked salmon, six types of cold meat, three different breads, cereal, fruit, pastries, eggs/bacon cooked to order.

Congratulations to the owners on such a lovely place.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trafalgar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for just a night in the 'Hera' room. It is on the ground floor and is accessible with a wheelchair (So is 'Eos') The room is comfortable with a 'wetroom' style bathroom including a step free shower. The hotel staff were very helpful in ensuring we had a comfortable stay. We booked a 'Bistro Dinner' (4 Courses including specially selected wines) in the 'Castle' which was delicious. The dining room is intimate and feels like you're at a dinner party at a friends house. Carmen, our host, did everything she could to ensure we enjoyed our evening. (note that the dining room is the only part of the hotel that doesn't have step free access - it is up about 5 steps.) The following morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the breakfast room (which does have step-free access) with a large selection of breads, pastries, cheese, cooked meat and fruit. There were also freshly cooked eggs and bacon if we wanted.

All in all - a great stay.

Room Tip: Eos and Hera are on the ground floor and have step-free bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Picked this hotel for just a one-night stay based on other favourable reports. The hotel is in a suburban street about 10 minutes walk from the central Grote Markt (town square), but when you drive in through the gates you reach the manor house and adjacent "castle" (they call it that, but it's pushing it a bit!), in extensive wooded grounds with peacocks wandering around, very peaceful. Lovely large modern room with jacuzzi bath and separate shower overlooking the park (there are 9 rooms, all different, you can choose from the pics). Welcomed by the owner, very friendly and helpful. Had dinner in the restaurant in the "castle". We chose the rather expensive 6 course set menu at 77 euros p.p., but it included a champagne cocktail and almost limitless white and red wine -- when the glass was empty they just refilled it, with a "don't worry, we'll just open another one"! Food was excellent and elegant, perhaps not quite worth the price, but the ambiance was lovely so no complaints. The included breakfast was O.K.

Some minor gripes that just take the edge off 10/10. In the room, with 2 washbasins, a jacuzzi and a shower for 2 people, one small soap is inadequate. For the expensive dinner, the wine should have been better: a Pays d'Oc Chardonnay and a standard AC Bordeaux were very basic, the sort you can buy for £4.99 or so in a UK supermarket. And at breakfast there was only one cereal and very limited cooked items. But overall, a great place.

On the top floor there is a "Wellness Centre" with massage, sauna, steam room etc. but we did not try it . They offer various room and treatment packages at pretty high prices.

Room Tip: Choose a room from the pics on their website and book direct by phone -- same prices as on the trawl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poperinge
0.3 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
163 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#5 of 6 in Poperinge
126 reviews
7.0 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#3 of 6 in Poperinge
82 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,258 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel 'T Heilig Genot
Hotel 'T Heilig Genot
#1 of 1 in Westvleteren
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Ogygia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Ogygia

Property: Manoir Ogygia
Address: Veurnestraat 108, Poperinge 8970, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Poperinge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poperinge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir Ogygia 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Manoir Ogygia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing