We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Fall Creek Falls State Park
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Dayton(Dayton)(Great Value!)
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Dayton)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dayton(Dayton)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn(Sparta)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McMinnville Inn(McMinnville)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Scottish Inn(McMinnville)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
57
96
45
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
96
45
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkfishview of the lakeget awayhiking trailsdining roomgolf coursebeautiful locationnothing fancyonly complaintconference centernice staylook forwardplenty of hot waterpet roomback porchdesk staff
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife, teenage daughter, and I recently spent a week at Fall Creek Falls State Park. When you get there, check with the office to see what's available, then go pick out and set up, then go back to the office and let them know where you set up at and pay up. I understand that they take reservations now, when we visited there a couple of years ago, they didn't.
Our site was in "D", at the end of a cul de sac, as far as I am concerned, it was the best site in the park. Our site was large, with lots of trees and grass. Each site has a garbage can, and daily garbage pick-up. Fire pit for campfires. We also had 30 or 50 amp service, and sewer. The bath house is new, and was always clean, although small. I might also add that we had very nice neighbors.
There are two very good and cool swimming holes in the park, the "George Hole" , and another at the waterfall at the visitors center. There is a beautiful lake with an awesome 2 mile bike/hike trail, and other bike/hike trails throughout the park. There is a lodge with hotel rooms at the lake, and cabins, too. there is a restaurant at the lodge, on friday night they have an out of this world all you can eat seafood buffet.....fried shrimp, catfish, and frog legs, and snow crabs, great desert also. there is a beautiful 18 hole golf course, my daughter and I played 9 with cart for $38. Saw deer while we were playing, in fact, you will see deer every day at the park. There is a horse stable where you can go on a 2 mile ride thru the woods for $25. Ask for "Cuz", he is gentle. Friday nights there is usually bluegrass at the pool. Don't forget to go to the Crossville Flea Market Saturday morning....get there early, the vendors go home at noon. Really good flea market. There is a good Bar BQ a mile out the north gate, and a good Indian trading post as well. 90 miles north of Chattanooga, in the middle of nowhere, you will llove it!! Did I mention Several waterfalls, one at least 300 ft., and swinging bridges, too!

9  Thank Wolfbayplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

8/13 to 8/15/11
This is a beautiful park in a secluded, quite setting. Peaceful lake surrounds the Inn. We stayed in a king room in the seperate wing next to the water(top floor of a 3 story building). This is a state park - they don't have a lot of money (especially in the last few years) to update anything. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The sheets are old but clean (and pressed). Each room has a small patio (big enough for 2 chairs) looking over the water. It was wonderful to sit out at night and listen to nature while the moon reflected off the water. Your out in the middle of nowhere, so don't expect a 4 star accommodation. The lobby area was nice and they have a small gift shop. Internet is accessible in the lobby area but not in the rooms.
The food at the restaurant was basic, filling and decent. The service was excellent. The buffet was usually the best deal but you can order from the menu. The desserts were wonderful!
We hiked most of the day trails. They are all short hikes (except for the overnight hikes). Most are 1/2 mile or less. Some are more strenuous (like the cable hike to the bottom of a fall) and dangerous. I would NOT recommend allowing my children to run free on some of these hikes. The scenery was beautiful. The animals were plentiful. We counted almost 30 dear and 4 turkeys one day. If you hike the cable drop to the bottom of the fall (I think it was Cedar Creek Falls), take your swimming suit. It has a beautiful pool and very secluded because it's harder to get to. This hike is not for small children!

It took us a day to hike all of the day hikes at FCF. Then we drove (about 40 min drive) to Rock Island State park. Absolutely the most beautiful falls are at this park. Again, be sure to take your swimming suits because they have some great places! Rock Island had less hiking to do than Fall Creek Falls, so it worked better for us to stay at FCF and drive out from there when we wanted more to do.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisatrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed in a fisherman's 2 bedroom cabin. We arrived and were overwhelmed by the dirtyness of the room. There were bugs on the walls and ceilings. There were spiderwebs on the towels and dried food on the chairs. We had no cell reception and our room phone did not work until mid week. The front desk called us mid week to let us know they did not get clean linens, but would bring us clean linens and towels the next day. They never came. We had only 8 towels for 5 people for 7 nights. There were only two chairs on our porch and both were broken. It rained one day and we were not in our cabin. We came back to huge puddles on the floor and some ruined things. The roof leaked. We tried to check out after two nights but were told that the cabins book by the week. However during our 7 night stay we had 3 different families stay next door to us. We also noticed across the lake the different guests. I asked the front desk about this and they said, the guests "must of gotten a last minute cancelation room." There were empty cabins everywhere, so I did not believe it.
With all this negative stuff, we were still able to make a great vacation out of it. My kids 11, 7, and 5, loved fishing and seeing the deer and racoons everywhere. We hiked and went swimming in the falls. On our way home, the kids said it was the best vacation ever!
My husband and I tried very hard to stay positive in front of the kids and will not be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dnplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had 12 family members spend one week at Fall Creek Falls State Park. Several of us slept in one of the Landslide Cabins and the others slept in tents at one of the walk-in campsites. Only complaint would be that the ladies at the welcome desk, where you check in for the cabins, were pretty rude. They were talking amongst themselves when we arrived and looked at us like we were an inconvenience for showing up and interupting their conversation. They were also pretty snippy when we asked any questions about the park...no need to be rude at all!

The park - what can I say, 26,000 acres and they have it all! The waterfalls are spectacular, the hiking is fantastic (several of the hikes were pretty difficult so make sure you read about each one's difficulty level before you go), the water is refreshing, the stores are a bit overpriced but they have what you need (if you don't want to take the 30 minute drive out of the park and into another town to hit a Wal-mart...which we did twice), the laundry mat was also convenient. The views driving around the park are wonderful, make sure to pull over and read the stories that are posted, very interesting.

Fall Creek Falls is stunning, the hike down to the base of the falls is a bit challenging and make sure you watch where you are walking. Several people slipped and we saw a venemous snake on the trail (it didn't bother us but just reminding everyone that this is the wilderness and there will be animals around you!).

George's Hole was our favorite swimming spot...watched several people jump off the side of the rocks which is very dangerous since the bottom of the rocks sticks several feet out into the water and others jumped off the swinging bridge. If you dare to walk below the cascades at George's Hole make sure you are wearing water shoes, it is extremely slippery and I lost a toenail after falling my 3rd time...OUCH!

The cascades at Cane Creek Falls were extremely crowded...so we skipped that one.

The Landslide cabins were much larger than we expected which was a great surprise. There were two bedrooms, each with double beds, one bathroom, a living area which had two couches that had fold out beds (however, the foldouts were extremely uncomfortable), a full kitchen stocked with everything you will need and a table with 6 chairs (the table was a bit crowded and cramped into a relatively small space). The balcony is huge and the views were wonderful. There is no daily room service here but you are able to take in the dirty towels to be changed out as often as you like...we did this daily because of all the messy children.

The campsite we chose was a walk-in site which required about a 1/4 mile hike to reach the site which was very private with ample space. I would definately recommend one of the walk-in sites (which have no electricity or water) if you want to be away from other people. The rest of the sites are directly next to other campers and looked small. The boys had a great time at the site throughout our stay.

Lots of wildlife running around - we had a few racoons that kept walking up to us during the middle of the day begging for food (PLEASE DON'T FEED THE WILDLIFE!!!), as well as squirrels that would do the same thing. We also had several deer that would walk right behind the cabin every night. The frog calls at night were soothing. Great fishing on the lakes throughout the park, we were able to catch enough to have a fish fry which was very tasty.

Overall, everyone had a wonderful time and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CBrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

There are many things wrong with this facility. The design is 80's concrete institutional offering no aesthetic quality to fit in with its beautiful surroundings. The rooms are best described as somewhere between nice prison cell or a bad freshman dorm room with concrete block walls and uncomfortable beds. The upside is that every room overlooks the lake, making the poor comfort a bit more tolerable.

Further, no wi-fi in guest rooms, no cell coverage (carriers can't put towers anywhere close to provide service), and wi-fi in the lobby that doesn't reach the restaurant or conference rooms. To be fair, their technically is wi-fi service, via a second SSID in the conference room I was in, but neither I, nor my colleagues, could access it, even after reporting the problem to the staff repeatedly over two days. As a note, the router mounted in the Fall Creek Conference Room was not a commercial router, rathe a common Linksys consumer model, yikes!

To go on with some good things, the restaurant wasn't earth shattering, but it was satisfying. The gift shop had fair prices for drinks and snacks. The elderly gentleman doing Karoake in the lobby in the evening could do a decent Tony Bennett, but had many pitch issues otherwise. However, he was a nice man, and seemed to really enjoy what he was doing. Lastly, the staff was always impeccably friendly, which always helps.

You can certainly have a good time here, just don't set your expectations too high.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyak0472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews