We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real (Italian) deal”
Review of Locanda Grifo

Locanda Grifo
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Lenno
Price range: US$35 - US$53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: During summer and spring you can enjoy your lunch or dinner in the outdoor garden where you can taste the local specialities into the shade of the lime-trees. Inside dining room is warmly decorated with local kitchen utensils. During winter we organize theme dinners and events. Dining room inside can hosts up to 50 people and garden outside can host up to 40 people. The restaurant also has a characteristic cellar with exposed stone and with a wide choice of wines.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The real (Italian) deal”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My work as a journalist has taken me to many restaurants around the world, and as someone who now calls Italy home, Del Grifo is the Italian dream. The local spot is genuinely that: Family run, orders taken by the owner, cosy, attentive service and naturally, wonderful, fresh, home-cooked dishes. The menu tends to be whatever is fresh that day. Personally I'm a big fan of their cured and fried fish and my daughter (16 months) loves their river fish with Salsa Verde. In the summer one can sit and watch the locals go by (it's genuinely a local place, we live in the village) and in the winter sit by a traditional fireplace. December is recommended when they're less tourists and the lake is spectacular.
To finish, this summer Del Grifo celebrated their one hundred year anniversary...how many restaurants can say that?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kerryolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    37
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Why not if in Ossuccio”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

With nothing else to offer in Ossuccio we stumbled past this place whilst out walking one evening. Stopped for a drink and enjoyed a quiet drink outside, surprisingly low prices for the drinks. So called again on another evening. The owner is a little strange in a nice way, I cannot speak Italian, embarrassingly, but he speaks good English (only a little he says but this is a normal response).

Looked at the menu which is limited but as others say, this Trattoria is not aimed at tourists! we booked a table for 6 for our last night and it did not disappoint, the pasta was excellent and two of us had the beef steak which we all sampled it was so juicy and tasty!

I would recommend this to all in the area simple, cheap and excellent food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSTSAFETY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Poor Value”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We visited here because our favourite restaurant was closed for the evening. You can sit inside or outside under the trees. We choose outside because it was so hot and promptly got eaten alive by the bugs! If only they had put out all the citronella candles they had lined up indoors the problem would have been solved. Definitely a restaurant used by the locals popping by for a coffee, wine or ice lolly. We were given a tourist menu, but not the set one advertised inside which was reasonable, and seemed to be eating very differently to the other people around us. We ordered grilled fish and promptly got fried fish. We found the food to be expensive and tasted bland. The service was very slow and got the impression that they really didnt want to serve us ... even when coming to pay the bill ... we stood at the counter for 10 minutes just waiting for someone to prepare our bill. Definitely would not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Did Basil Fawlty move to Como?”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have eaten her on couple of occasions & stopped for a drink on others. The place is family run and caters mainly for the locals who turn to have a good look at the tourists then get on with their never-ending banquets lovingly served by the owner or 'Basil' as my children call him! When the weather is good you can sit out under the trees with the entertainment being 'dodge the spider'. If cold you eat in what looks like the parlour. Some of the village old dears seem to have their own regular tables & get lots of attention. Service is variable... fab if the owner is in a good mood or takes a shine to you. If not, be prepared for lots of huffs/ puffs, laconic attitude & slow service. He can't comprehend anyone being a vegetarian or saying no to the tourist menu which is good value if you like fish with faces etc. Overall good if you like to take your time in traditional Italian style with a rustic menu... I'd rather just have a carafe of house white & watch the goings on!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellachiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda Grifo also viewed

 

Been to Locanda Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing