We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of River House Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River House Malham
Ranked #1 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“nice”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Thought the house was lovely although wouldnt say it was 4 star. The ornaments in the bedroom were very dusty and it wasnt just a few days worth, paint work needed a bit of sorting out too. Must say though that the owners were lovely, very friendly and helpful, and the village itself is fab.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    77
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
199
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saltaire, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

River house is a well decorated small hotel in a beautiful victorian building in the centre of Malham. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and we were made great packed lunches to take walking. The rooms are a good size and well presented - home made biscuits in the rooms were a particularly nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our two day stay at the River House was really enjoyable - a fabulous, homely place where the owners Alex and Ann are very friendly, yet unobtrusive! The house is full of character and the room we stayed in was clean, warm and comfortable - perfect after a day of hiking! (with a lovely hot power shower!!!) Two pubs within walking distance from the River House (one next door!!!) is a real bonus especially when your 'legs' can feel rather wobbly after walking to Malham Cove, Gordale Scar and Janet's Foss !!! The home-made cakes/ biscuits on the tea tray in our room was a 'thoughtful touch' and an added bonus! The breakfasts are delicious - if you opt for the 'full English', it arrive on a massive plate and everything is piping hot!. (The menu also includes other choices such as porridge, kippers etc) All in all, we really enjoyed our stay in Malham and will certainly return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A fantastic retreat, really enjoy staying at River House. My husband and I stay here once a year and have done for the last 4 years, the location is amazing, rooms are warm clean and cosy.... Everything you need, breakfast just what you need and plenty of it......... Owners are lovely, Oh and not forgetting the pub is just next door, a real bonus if you like a pint/pub grub after a good day walking.

I would definitely recommend River House to anyone wanting to get away what ever the reason.... My husband and I love it and would never get bored of coming back.

Mr & mrs Antrobus

Room Tip: We only ever stay in the same room every year, we specifically ask for this room, it is quaint, cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review, always nice to see you, and look forwards to seeing you again next February, first booking made in the book for 2014. with regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We've just returned from our third stay at River House, and each time we've had an absolutely fantastic time. Hosts Alex and Ann are extremely warm and welcoming, as well as knowledgable about the Dales area and the various walking routes. Our room has always been warm and comfortable, with a great bed for collapsing in after a long days' trek, and the fresh cakes left in the room each day are always a welcome treat. The breakfasts are massive and delicious, with a great menu to choose from (kippers, porridge, arnold eggs benedict, etc are on offer along with the traditional English - although I wouldn't mind the addition of vegetarian sausages...). Even on our first morning when we were scheduled to leave for the day before breakfast time, we were given cereal, juice and fruit the night before to eat before leaving. The building itself is an absolutely lovely period house with a spacious dining room and a snug with a fire to sit and read by. Besides the great rooms and service, however, is the fact that the location is simply unbeatable. The hotel is about 10 minutes' walk from the base of Malham Cove (the top might take a bit longer to get to!) and 20 minutes' walk from Janet's Foss and Gordale Scar. There are a couple of great pubs to eat in a minute up the road, and Grassington, Skipton and Settle are quite short (and very scenic) drives away. We're already excited to go back, and we've only been home a couple of hours!

P.S. Alex and Ann, have you considered applying to go on 'Four in a Bed'? We were thinking you'd do quite well on it!

Room Tip: Both rooms we've stayed in have been great, but paying a little extra to have a bath/shower as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Samantha, Thank you for all the great comments on River House, the new breakfast menu has been a great hit since the beginning of 2013 and the continental breakfast for guest setting off earlier than 7 am to head home or to do the 3 peaks. hope you return soon for a few more days with us, sorry just not brave enough to do "4 in a bed" TV program, on channel 4. with regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Beautiful location, easy to drive or walking to lake district and countryside. A lot of pubs surrounding area. Been here three times. Good host, good food, friendly couples, good location, simply the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realfoodcritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
We know we are doing thing write when we guest returning time after time, lovely to have you stay with us. hope you return again soon, with regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Just back from a wonderful stay at the River House. The hotel is ideally placed, in the centre of Malham. We could not agree less with the previous comment that the hotel is "ramshackle". It is very old and extremely characterful. There are a lot of original features, some dating from the early 17th century, making it a very attractive place to stay. The bedroom was cosy, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Everything was very clean. The breakfasts were brilliant, and set us up so well for the day that we didnt need lunch, even though we were out on the hills all day. Lovely little touches in the bedrooms like a hot water bottle in the drawer, toiletries in the bathroom, boxes of tissues, and especially the home made cookies or flapjack that was waiting for us at the end of a strenuous days walking were very welcome. Alex and Ann were very friendly and helpful, and gave us some good advice on the area.
If you are eating out, go to the Lister Arms, the food was fantastic, as against the Buck Inn, the food there was diabolical.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which has a bath, as well as a shower. Ann said room 6 also has a bath. Great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you Natasha for the lovely kind words about Alex and i and river house, really pleased you enjoyed your few days you spent with us in malham, look forwards to welcoming you back soon to River House, with regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Buck Inn
The Buck Inn
#3 of 5 in Malham
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lister Arms
Lister Arms
#2 of 5 in Malham
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Malham

Property: River House Malham
Address: Chapel Gate | Malham near Skipton, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — River House Malham 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River House, Malham. Set in the lovely Yorkshire dales village of Malham. Easy driving distance from Harrogate, Skipton and Kendal in the lakes. Rated 4 star silver by the AA with breakfast and dinner awards. all 8 bedrooms are en-suite, individually decorated with lovely homely touches, some with baths as well as power shower, 1 twin room set on the ground floor is ideal for the less able walker. With wood burning stove in the licensed lounge bar that comes into it own in the colder months makes River House, an ideal location to base yourselves for exploring the dales either on foot, bike or car, with the Pennine way running just past the front door. free super fast WiFi throughout the house, lockable bike storage, free parking, laundry facilities, digital TVs, plentiful supply of Yorkshire Tea and Coffee, Fresh milk. home-made cakes/ biscuits. A warm welcome awaits you by Ann and Alex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your River House Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing