We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable, clean and generous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River House Malham

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River House Malham
Ranked #1 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, clean and generous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights here in June. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless, fresh and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, and the walkers's packed lunch generous. Perfectly placed for walking around Gordale and Malham, with two pubs within two minutes walk, both serving decent range of bar meals and beers. The owners work hard to make your stay a good one. We would definitely recommend this B&B, and intend to go back next time we head for this part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    74
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
188
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very friendly welcome. Lovely location. We stayed for five nights and it was a superb base for our walks. Ann and Alex were very welcoming and helpful. They looked after us very well. The room was clean and comfortable and the home made treats left in the room every day were delicious - such a lovely touch. Breakfast was superb and sufficient to last until evening! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Awalker227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fantastic location. Homely feel. The room was clean and comfortable. The owners were really welcoming, helpful and looked after us. We were doing the three peaks walk after our first night at River House and had an early start so they organised a continental breakfast and brought it to our room the night before which was fab. There were lovely home made biscuits in the room on arrival, flapjacks after our walk and the full English breakfast we had after our second night there was gorgeous. Lovely place. We're already planning a trip back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alibonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Year after year once again a fabulous stay. This is our 5th year we have stayed in the river house cottage and every stay reminds my husband and I why we return, great hosts, great breakfasts, great rooms, amazing location what more could we ever ask for. Look forward to our next visit. Ps: Ann and Alex, thanks for the personal touch, see you next year x

Room Tip: We have the same room every year, room 6, however based on the hosts standards in everything they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stunning location and very helpful and friendly hosts. The room was spotless and beds very comfy. Ideal for walking and exploring the local area. Breakfast was both tasty and plentiful and there was a good choice of cold and hot foods available. Our only mutter was about the sausages - they didn't appear to be local produce which was a shame. I also thought, like a previous reviewer, that the little touches like scones and chocolate biscuits in the rooms during the afternoon, were a lovely surprise on our return from a days walking; the variety of quality teas was also much appreciated. Sitting in the garden, enjoying the early morning sun, was also a particular pleasure for me; the well cared for and thoughtfully planted borders were a joy. Many thanks for the lovely restful stay - my friend and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

An excellent long weekend in a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The hosts were friendly from the initial arrival until our departure. The room was very clean and well prepared daily with some nice little touches such as scones to go with the variety of teas on offer in the room. The wood burning stove in the lounge was a welcome touch when reading or sampling the wares from the bar. The breakfasts were of a good size and well presented and very tasty. It is well located for walking or driving to local attractions. I will consider revisiting again in the future. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I were walking the Pennine Way and this was a welcome stay after a hard days walking and it recharged our batteries for the following long day. The hosts made us feel very welcome and the room was very clean. It was a little small but no complaints. The breakfast was really nice and I recommend it to anyone visiting Malham.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lister Arms
Lister Arms
#2 of 5 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Malham

Property: River House Malham
Address: Chapel Gate | Malham near Skipton, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — River House Malham 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River House, Malham. Set in the lovely Yorkshire dales village of Malham. Easy driving distance from Harrogate, Skipton and Kendal in the lakes. Rated 4 star silver by the AA with breakfast and dinner awards. all 8 bedrooms are en-suite, individually decorated with lovely homely touches, some with baths as well as power shower, 1 twin room set on the ground floor is ideal for the less able walker. With wood burning stove in the licensed lounge bar that comes into it own in the colder months makes River House, an ideal location to base yourselves for exploring the dales either on foot, bike or car, with the Pennine way running just past the front door. free super fast WiFi throughout the house, lockable bike storage, free parking, laundry facilities, digital TVs, plentiful supply of Yorkshire Tea and Coffee, Fresh milk. home-made cakes/ biscuits. A warm welcome awaits you by Ann and Alex. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River House Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing