We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Malham”
Review of River House Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River House Malham
Ranked #1 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Malham”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 2nights here to walk the area and managed to get the last double room available. Great place and friendly couple running it. The room we had was at the back and quite small, but absolutely perfect for us. Clean and very quiet with everything that we needed. Breakfasts were enough to keep you going all day. They did a packed lunch for a fiver which we opted to miss out on thinking hat we could just grab a sandwich somewhere cheaper. As it happened it would have been more economical to take the packed lunch.
Wifi signal was weak at the back of the hotel but fine for emails and checking the weather which was all we needed.
Reserved parking out the front for a couple of cars which we were fortunate enough to use. I can imagine that parking in the height of summer could be an issue as there seemed to be loads of cars along the road when we were there just before the schools broke up.
Two great pubs in the village for beer and food and fantastic walking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telemarkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    76
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
196
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here weekend of Tour de France. Hosts were extremely hospitable, breakfasts were great, rooms very clean, and home baked flapjacks n biscuits went down a treat. The b&b is in a stunning dales village with two lovely pubs. Great walking in the area and still close to skipton if you in need of a bigger town. Hosts were extremely accomodating and did us a Huge favour (they know what it was!!). Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were accommodated at very short notice for a six night stay on the recommendation of the Tourist Information Office at Grassington. We could not have chosen anywhere better, Hosts (Ann & Alex) went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfasts were scrumptious and the sandwiches made for our lunches were a delight. A fantastic stay in wonderful countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at River House with wonderful hosts Ann and Alex. Our room was lovely, very clean and always warm in cold evenings when we had been out. There were always home made biscuits or cakes in our room to have with a cuppa - freshly made that day! The breakfasts were delicious with a good variety. Ann was very helpful with maps and information. The area is so beautiful - right in the dales and very peaceful. There are two pubs in the village for evening meals. Very relaxing and a great end to our 9 week holiday in the UK!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Friendly owners who let us put our bikes in there shed and then carried our bags into the house.
Good rooms.
Great breakfast in both veggie and non-veggie forms.
Free wi-fi
Next door to the pub

What more do you need?

Room Tip: If you like brown sauce try the Brackenhill Yorkshire brown sauce at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights here in June. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless, fresh and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, and the walkers's packed lunch generous. Perfectly placed for walking around Gordale and Malham, with two pubs within two minutes walk, both serving decent range of bar meals and beers. The owners work hard to make your stay a good one. We would definitely recommend this B&B, and intend to go back next time we head for this part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very friendly welcome. Lovely location. We stayed for five nights and it was a superb base for our walks. Ann and Alex were very welcoming and helpful. They looked after us very well. The room was clean and comfortable and the home made treats left in the room every day were delicious - such a lovely touch. Breakfast was superb and sufficient to last until evening! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Awalker227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
940 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Buck Inn
The Buck Inn
#3 of 5 in Malham
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Malham

Property: River House Malham
Address: Chapel Gate | Malham near Skipton, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — River House Malham 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River House, Malham. Set in the lovely Yorkshire dales village of Malham. Easy driving distance from Harrogate, Skipton and Kendal in the lakes. Rated 4 star silver by the AA with breakfast and dinner awards. all 8 bedrooms are en-suite, individually decorated with lovely homely touches, some with baths as well as power shower, 1 twin room set on the ground floor is ideal for the less able walker. With wood burning stove in the licensed lounge bar that comes into it own in the colder months makes River House, an ideal location to base yourselves for exploring the dales either on foot, bike or car, with the Pennine way running just past the front door. free super fast WiFi throughout the house, lockable bike storage, free parking, laundry facilities, digital TVs, plentiful supply of Yorkshire Tea and Coffee, Fresh milk. home-made cakes/ biscuits. A warm welcome awaits you by Ann and Alex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your River House Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing