We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An impressive pub meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lister Arms

The Lister Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$64
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the picturesque village of Malham, the Lister Arms provides quality locally sourced food and real ales. With a menu filled with light bites and hearty dishes, there is something to tempt everyone.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An impressive pub meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our visit and meal. Despite it being extremely busy, the food was very tasty, clearly fresh and the service was very efficient. The local beer was great too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello, Thank you for your review. Short, sweet and to the point. We do indeed get very very busy and we have a wonderful team who work tirelessly to ensure that this does not effect the food and service we provide. Thank you again and please stop by and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    279
    82
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic food and very friendly staff. Ate here both nights we were staying in Malham. First night we at on the back terrace which was lovely and then inside with friends. Great selection of ales and range of food on the menu. Highly recommend

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Telemarkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello. Thank you for you concise review and thank you for the 5 stars. We have a very hardworking team and it is so satisfying to know that we are delighting our guests, I will ensure your praise reaches them. Hope you make it out to see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights - booking online is straightforward, and we went for the bed, breakfast and evening meal package, which worked out at about £70 per person, per night, which, if you take £25 - £30 off for each three course meal, makes the room plus breakfast very good value. There is a previous review on here indicating that a room was quite dark, we got that room, and it was, however, because of the location and site, the pub has an old stone wall around it, which is high, and can affect the light in rooms. Our room was in the area at the back which has its own access. It was very clean, well appointed, with good quality, modern fittings, if a little on the small side. The Lister Arms is a busy pub, with a good atmosphere, it is part of a "chain", but doesn't really suffer for that. Very good drinks selection (8 real ales), and a good menu. The food quality was very very good, the steak, and lamb rump singled out for particular praise - wonderful flavour. You may not need 3 courses, so bear that in mind if thinking of going for the full accommodation package. Breakfast - probably one of the best full breakfasts I've had, again, great quality, perfectly cooked, my wife had eggs Benedict on the second morning, that too was spot on. The pub is dog friendly throughout, but it's also very person friendly too, and if you get the weather, there can be fewer places more relaxing than sitting outside at the front of the Lister Arms, pint in hand, overlooking the village. As I've said, the pub is very busy, so the staff are busy too, but when they are able, they are friendly and appear interested in their customers. Malham is an excellent base for walking, and if you want an excellent base in Malham, then the Lister Arms should meet your needs. We would definitely stay again, and if we chose to stay self catering in the village - the Lister Arms is without doubt the place to eat and drink. Well done!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Thank you for your glowing report. I am very happy to read that we at The Lister ticked all the boxes for your stay. Thank you for the 5 stars, we share all our comments with our team who are indeed brilliant at looking after people (and dogs!). You are right, no need for the car once you get to Malham you can just relax with a pint. Thank you again and I hope you get booked back in soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Same as the other pub.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Ok, but needs a good kick of completion. to get 5 stars. For an evening meal Malham provides a duopoly of two pubs. One is smarter than the other. One gives bigger helpings than the other. The other is slightly more elegant. Neither really hits the peak of perfection

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, although I am not to sure what to say because I am not sure which bits you felt that we at The Lister Arms let you down on. We do work hard to be top notch and indeed be the best pub in the village. If i can help at all with any specific issues you faced please do email me; manager@listerarms.co.uk Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub, friendly staff, yummy food but pricy drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful weekend in Malham, eating out and lounging in pub gardens. The Lister Arms was our favorite and we went there for both our evening meals. Despite having a more limited menu than the pub across the bridge our first meal there was cooked to perfection.
Our second meal wasn't quite so perfect, hubby's steak was slightly underdone and my Barnsley chop was mortaled, pudding though was yummy, but slightly small for the price.
Waitresses and waiters were all lovely, the bar staff could possibly do with developing a bit of character but since it was a really busy weekend I'll give them the benefit if doubt.
Either way, we're back in the area next weekend, this time with our 18 mth old and dog, and we will sertainly be returning to this lovely pub.

Helpful?
Thank duagwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to read that you are returning (may have already returned?). I am sorry we did not get quite perfection on your second meal, we do indeed get very very busy however this should not effect any food or service that you receive. Our team work very hard to always look after all our guests. Thank you again and hope you made it back to see us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lister Arms also viewed

Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Lister Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing