We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-service”

The Buck Inn Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Malham
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck Inn is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from both Yorkshire and greater Manchester.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Non-service”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Reasonable food, reasonable'ish prices.

Desperately poor service. The people that brought our food seemed to be barely capable of any form of communication with customers.

Shame, as the bar staff were pretty friendly.

If it hadn't been for the lousy service, I'd have given this place 4 stars as it was reasonably decent apart from that.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank YerManThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    115
    80
    35
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a nice evening here.
Decent food - a bit over priced but it was tasty.

Kitchen closed quite early so we couldn't have pudding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here after doing the walk. It was a lovely n friendly place to stop. The coffee n tea were great. I would come here again.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Buck Inn Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at The Buck Inn for two nights. We saw a bad review of it on Tripadvisor after we had booked and were therefore a bit wary. However, we found the staff friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on only one night of our stay. The food was really very good and reasonably priced. The drink was on the expensive side, but similar to the other pub in Malham. Our room overlooked a beck and part of the village, and although we were told this room didn't have such a great view and was therefore a bit cheaper we thought the view was lovely. The room itself was clean and although not decorated to very high spec was fine. Everything worked and the bed was comfortable. Breakfasts (included in price) were fine. The portion size was really good and there was lots of choice including duck and goose eggs. Overall the Inn was very pretty but bit dated in decor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but stick with English cooked breakfast”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great location, OK accommodation, good staff, good ambiance, good English cooked breakfast. However evening meal was something else. The "special" was very poorly presented, very undercooked, and basically awful. The worst meal I can remember ever having. There is no excuse for that these days. If they can not prepare anything other than good basic food do not pretend to. This was so poor it had sloppy arrogance all over it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,

We have recently taken over this business and we would be delighted if you would consider revisiting under new ownership.

Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buck Inn Restaurant also viewed

Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Buck Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing