We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great situation in charming village”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mike w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great situation in charming village”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A charming well provisioned cottage in a glorious position for walking around Malham. Plenty of parking space and, most essential, within walking distance if two pubs.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ochapman0...
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place - don't be put off by the drab exterior!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were two families of three and four respectively, with three children aged 6 - 10. We didn't really know what to expect as it was difficult to find recent reviews online, and the photos looked a bit staged. Also the external appearance in the photos was, well, drab.

**Don't judge a book by its cover**

This place is lovely, absolutely lovely. The owners have decorated and furnished it to a high standard, everything was clean and fresh, the beds were comfy, the kids loved running around inside and out. If we were to go back to the Dales I doubt we'd look to stay anywhere else, it's that good.

The kitchen is new and modern, there's a great washing machine / dryer (essential for Yorkshire weather), and you can use the lockable outbuilding for drying muddy boots and wet coats. There's a shower room off the kitchen and the shower is heavenly! The dining room is plenty big enough for seven of us to sit down in comfort or spread maps out on the table to lan the next day's adventure. There's a door out to the front garden which is a sun trap (if you're lucky enough to see the sun, as we were). The sitting room is down a couple of stone steps and, again, is just really lovely and comfortable.

Upstairs there are two double rooms and two twins, and a bathroom. Beds were really comfy (actually I can only vouch for one bed - it wasn't that sort of group holiday...!) and the bathroom huge.

It's a working farm still so you might see Colin the shepherd / stockman on his ATV during the day, but we never felt overlooked or lacking in any privacy. If you like wildlife you can just sit in the garden and watch redstarts, grey wagtails, tawny owl (we think it roosts in the outbuilding but has the odd habit of flying - and hooting - during the day), even peregrines.

Malham Cove is a short, easy walk but we were as impressed by Gordale Scar. As for local pubs the Lister Arms is fabulous, really good food and beer and very family-friendly (and free WiFi if the children need an iPad fix after walking for miles). The other pub served good food and beer too but isn't as nice as the Lister Arms.

The National Park information centre is well worth a visit for the weather forecast if nothing else - the best bit about Town Head Farm is that there's no mobile signal so you can have a real holiday away from it all, but it does mean you can't get a weather forecast for the next day. Also well worth a visit is Town End Farm Shop and tea room in the next village. Lovely food and very friendly and helpful staff.

Overall we give this five stars as it's a great place for a family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Quality and cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Reviewed 13 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marysimps...
croydon SURREY}
2 reviews
“Comfortable, well equipped farm house in idyllic spot”
Reviewed 30 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Amazing situation - this is the nearest building to Malham Cove (an easy stroll away), with pubs, cafes and the odd shop in attractive Malham village. It is a wonderful walking area and also has plenty to do for families and those who are not so active.

We loved the house - the photos don't really do it justice. It is full of character but with all mod. cons. and very tastefully furnished - it was renovated in 2009 for holiday rentals. Kitchen equipment is all good quality and we had everything we needed. We had a minor problem with the heating and were impressed by how quickly the owner responded and sorted it out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brilliant location
Liked least: Not having wi fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrs_JP_11
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for walking, R&R, special family time....and a few pints!”
Reviewed 9 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

My family and I booked Town Head Farm for a week for some special family time away from it all. We were absolutely delighted with the cottage and could not believe how well placed the cottage was. You are literally across the road from the approach to Malham Cove and there are a couple of pubs about 5mins walk down the road. The scenery is completely gorgeous, and if walking is your thing, you will be spoilt for choice. You must go to see Gordale Scar....really impressive! The cottage itself was very well equipped indeed. We decided to cook our meals rather than eating out (meals in the pubs are approx 10-15 pounds for a main....and a round of two pints and two halves came to about a tenner) and we found everything we needed in the kitchen. The cookware and crockery was of the best quality! There was plenty of room around the dining room table for 8 adults. If you need any shopping whilst you are out there, there is a Co-op (with free cash point) about 15 mins drive away and Skipton is about half an hours drive. The lounge was comfortable and spacious and everyone said that their bed was more comfy than their own. The little ones with us had plenty of room to run around and the gated garden was a real plus. We were so pleased to see a sturdy stair gate at the top of the stairs. The only little fly in the ointment is that there are three stone steps separating the dining room and the lounge, and a gate to shut those off as well would have been really helpful. I have booked a few Sykes cottages before, and this one comes top of my recommendation list. Immaculately clean, very homely with really lovely furnishings, lots of games, music, DVDs, books, peaceful and quiet but not too remote...just right. Sykes clearly only pick the best places to represent, and I would like to thank and congratulate the owners of this cottage for sharing this great place to stay with people like us. The treats that the owners left for us when we arrived were a very thoughtful touch. If you fancy a break in the Dales, we think Malham has the most spectacular views, and Town Head Farm is highly recommended; good value for money too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - closer than we thought to Malham Cove etc
Liked least: Lack of signal.....but realise that can't be helped!!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenilworth
Reviewed 8 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing