We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
garethmag...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were a group of four couples. The cottage was everything we needed, there was enough space for us all. The facilities in the cottage was as described. It was a lovely peaceful retreat. We went for lovely walks to Malham cove and the Tarn, it was not a long walk but due to it being rocky and uneven it felt harder and longer. We had New Year's Eve in LIster arms which we had previously booked, the food, atmosphere was really pleasant everyone enjoyed their meals. There are two pubs within 5 minutes walk, both are not cheap for drinks. Previous reviews state The Buck Inn is the most expensive, we had 2 large wines and three beers which came to £32. Lister arms is a little cheaper. We would definitely go back to Town Head Farm, well recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, location and it was peaceful
Liked least: Downstairs shower needs decorating
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Town Head Farm with us, we are so pleased that you all had a lovely holiday! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet, as well as some bracing walks, sounds great to blow away the cobwebs before relaxing at the property! We certainly hope to see you back in the very near future, we'd love to have you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolineh...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We were lucky enough to stay at Town Head Farm this weekend to celebrate my mum and dads 40th wedding anniversary. We were a party of 7 which the house easily housed, never feeling crammed. Initially we all worried about the lack of phone signal and wifi, but in the end it stopped us reaching for our phones all the time and enjoy each other's company that bit more. The house was in a fantastic location, near great walks and sights. We failed to undertake most of these due to awful weather, but the house was warm and cosy and strolling distance to two great pubs. Both of these offered free wifi (for those who needed it) and really fantastic food. The fish and chips at the buck inn is highly recommended. An amazing time was had by all, and we are hoping to book next year so we can enjoy the sights without torrential rain. Highly recommended if you fancy getting away from it all (except two great pubs). Thank you x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy well situated house
Liked least: Would have liked a log fire
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us, we are so happy that you had a great stay at Town Head Farm! We are over the moon that you chose to make the property a part of such a special celebration and that you had just a lovely time spending some quality time together. We certainly hope that you come back and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil E
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place in the perfect location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A group of 5 of us stayed here in May. I can't find a fault with it to be honest. The only negative (which was a positive as it turns out) is no wifi. If you're like like, having little to no phone signal, and no wifi is a bit distressing to start with, but actually enhanced our break.
The place itself is very homely, and well presented, offering all you could want.
It's location is fantastic - turn right out of the drive and a 5 minute walk and you reach the 1st pub, turn left out of the drive and you are at the gate leading up to the cover.
For anyone wanting a peaceful break, give it a try - Malham and the surrounding area is typical Yorkshire dales - An amazing place. There are several pubs (only tried 2 of them) and the food was great in both.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigAndy19...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great farmhouse in a great location”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this farmhouse for a weekend to celebrate my Mother in law's birthday and it was brilliant for our needs. It's easy to find at the end of the village and has loads of car parking space which is good when it sleeps eight! we actually had my little boy on his travel bed to make the party nine but we spoke to the owners in advance who were very helpful in arranging this for us. We have found out in the past at other holiday rentals that there can often be insurance implications for taking more people than the owners suggest so please always check in plenty of time if you have an extra like we did!!

The farmhouse has recently been decorated and has been done so very tastefully and gives a great environment in which to totally relax. There is enough space for eight adults to be comfortable and it's great to have a large dining room to all sit properly together for meals. The kitchenware, tableware and linen provided are all of a high quality and give the impression that somebody has made a significant investment in making this place a great holiday let.

The garden would be a great little sun trap in the summer but as it was January we had some snow and the garden was just big enough with a gentle enough slope for my 2yo son to really get used to the idea of sledging. He also made friends with the farmer next door who invited us to go and look at his sheep who had just lambed and they had great fun waving at each other every time the farmer went past on his quad!!

The village is the ideal typical Dales village. It has everything that you'd need for a weekend stay within walking distance. As you're on the edge of the village you just need to turn left out of the drive and you're immersed in the countryside instantly - bliss! We spent a fair amount of time in the beck 'fishing' with sticks and feeding the ducks. It is shallow and slow enough for children to play safely if supervised and there's lots of interesting things to explore for in the wooded area with small children too.

The only thing that I would've liked that we didn't have was wifi but some people would count it as a bonus not to have it!

We're already planning our next trip to Town Head Farm!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like the whole family had a great time and we hope your mother in law enjoyed her birthday celebrations - and how nice that your son got to experience the countryside! Hopefully we can welcome you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great situation in charming village”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A charming well provisioned cottage in a glorious position for walking around Malham. Plenty of parking space and, most essential, within walking distance if two pubs.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ochapman0...
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place - don't be put off by the drab exterior!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were two families of three and four respectively, with three children aged 6 - 10. We didn't really know what to expect as it was difficult to find recent reviews online, and the photos looked a bit staged. Also the external appearance in the photos was, well, drab.

**Don't judge a book by its cover**

This place is lovely, absolutely lovely. The owners have decorated and furnished it to a high standard, everything was clean and fresh, the beds were comfy, the kids loved running around inside and out. If we were to go back to the Dales I doubt we'd look to stay anywhere else, it's that good.

The kitchen is new and modern, there's a great washing machine / dryer (essential for Yorkshire weather), and you can use the lockable outbuilding for drying muddy boots and wet coats. There's a shower room off the kitchen and the shower is heavenly! The dining room is plenty big enough for seven of us to sit down in comfort or spread maps out on the table to lan the next day's adventure. There's a door out to the front garden which is a sun trap (if you're lucky enough to see the sun, as we were). The sitting room is down a couple of stone steps and, again, is just really lovely and comfortable.

Upstairs there are two double rooms and two twins, and a bathroom. Beds were really comfy (actually I can only vouch for one bed - it wasn't that sort of group holiday...!) and the bathroom huge.

It's a working farm still so you might see Colin the shepherd / stockman on his ATV during the day, but we never felt overlooked or lacking in any privacy. If you like wildlife you can just sit in the garden and watch redstarts, grey wagtails, tawny owl (we think it roosts in the outbuilding but has the odd habit of flying - and hooting - during the day), even peregrines.

Malham Cove is a short, easy walk but we were as impressed by Gordale Scar. As for local pubs the Lister Arms is fabulous, really good food and beer and very family-friendly (and free WiFi if the children need an iPad fix after walking for miles). The other pub served good food and beer too but isn't as nice as the Lister Arms.

The National Park information centre is well worth a visit for the weather forecast if nothing else - the best bit about Town Head Farm is that there's no mobile signal so you can have a real holiday away from it all, but it does mean you can't get a weather forecast for the next day. Also well worth a visit is Town End Farm Shop and tea room in the next village. Lovely food and very friendly and helpful staff.

Overall we give this five stars as it's a great place for a family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Quality and cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Reviewed 13 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing