We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Round”
Review of YHA Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Malham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here whilst walking the Pennine Way on the 14th May with one other, were welcomed enthusiastically and cannot fault the facilities at all. Drying room did what it should for some really soaked walking gear, and our two berth room was really modern down to the mirror light switch being a light sensitive switch! Really comforartable nights sleep was followed by an excellent breakfast. I asked one of the staff members if they had seen the forecast to be told no. I returned to my breakfast table only for the staff member to come over 5 minutes later with the days MWIS forcast printed off and handed over to me to read and keep!
Would recommend the hostel to walkers or day trippers alike, lovely hostel in a lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainbob542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Manager at YHA Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for the fantastic review!
We are really pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay.
The YHA have done an amazing job with the refurbishment, we are very proud of all the facilities and all our staff work very hard, as you describe, to offer excellent service.

We are delighted that you would recommend us to other guests.

Thank you again we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Recently been refurbishment. Lovely small hostel in a beautiful village. Great place to stay for walking the Pennines way. The only criticism was that the staff were not overly helpful in promoting what's available to do whilst you stay there. There were the usual tourist leaflets but most hostels I have stayed in display the locals walks, cycle routes etc which we sourced ourself. Also, what was available in the restaurant was not displayed, you had to ask each day what time it opened and what was on the menu. More customer service please.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Manager at YHA Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thanks for your review we are pleased to hear that you liked the village and thought the hostel a great place to stay.

We try to display as many leaflets as possible,we have a table with leaflet holders with leaflets for over 30 attractions. There is a large information board in the vestibule and one by the pay 'phone with transport information etc. we really struggle for wall space and often have to juggle things. I'll admit it's a work in progress......

The menu, I have looked in to this and it now has it's own stand on the Reception, many apologies.

Thank you again for all your comments they really are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Could do with a sign post as we went through the village ( as did other people !!!!) but the check in was efficient and friendly .We were unable to order an evening meal because of a school party ,but that didn't matter as there were two pubs within walking distance( which did very good meals ) .
Our room was in the annexe ,the hostel has been recently refurbished so every where was very clean and tidy ,luckily there were only two of us the room isn't really large enough of four !!!
The lounge area was a lovely place to relax after a day out and about walking the local area or further a field .The breakfast was very good and kept us going .Shame that the advertised wi- fi wasn't available !!
I liked that the kitchen was closed during the night and opened at 7.00 am but it was a shame that we were woken by one group at 5.15 laughing and chatting not respecting others !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Manager at YHA Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast, the sitting room our friendly and efficient staff and we agree that by closing the kitchen during the night ensures a quality stay for all our guests.

The sign post to the hostel was removed by Craven District council in Spring when they reinstated the 1930's fingerpost in the centre of the village. There is still a small sign on the bridge, but it is only small.
Luckily we are only a small village and the hostel is in the center of the village overlooking the Village Green so we aren't too hidden away, even so we are working hard to find a solution.......

The good news is that wi-fi is coming........it is now on it's way. Hurrah!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is one of the hostels that the YHA have brought up to 2013 standards. I used it as a stop on the Pennine Way. Had an excellent en suite room in the totally refurbished annexe for £17, admittedly a 20% off promotional price - great value. Nothing I could criticise - other than my usual struggle to get the duvet to fit inside the duvet cover!
YHA buffet breakfasts are also excellent value at a fiver - set me up for the battle over Fountains Fell in the snow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellwalkerCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Manager at YHA Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
The YHA aim to provide 'great value' accommodation in amazing locations making it possible for everyone to enjoy them......even more important as the recession bites!

Glad to hear our excellent breakfast helped you battle through the snow on Fountains Fell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The main plus points of are the refurbishment and cleanliness which are excellent, both in the bedrooms and communal areas. The hostel is ideally situated for the village's drinking holes and set nicely above the square. However as a whole I found the place lacked the character and warmth of many of the best hostels. The staff were professional without really engaging, the breakfast was ok, not amazing and there was a clinical feel to the place that made it hard to feel you were really welcome. There is also a lack of real, servicable common space unless you want to sit in the dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Manager at YHA Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review we are pleased you found the standard of cleanliness of the whole hostel to be excellent.
The hostel is still 'bedding' in a little, we still need bits of tweaking here and there with soft furnishings, pictures etc. We only opened towards the end of Feb so by mid March we are still getting used to what is basically a new site.

We have 3 main common areas the Reception/Bar area, the dining room and the Sitting Room/TV room which you don't mention (it's through the Dining Room) it's a lovely room with windows on three sides over looking the garden.
Lots of guests also sit and chat in the self-catering kitchen over cups of tea and if the weather is fine in our lovely garden where we have lots of picnic benches.
Our fantastic new classroom has freed up lots of space in the common areas as now groups have their own space in the evenings.

I do hope you'll re-visit at some point in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just had a fabulous weekend with a group in the hostel. Excellent staff, food and facilities, definitely recommend as a place to stay in this great area. The facilites are what you would expect from a hostel however it has been recently refurbished and the staff were helpful, friendly and catered for all our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Manager at YHA Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you very much for the fantastic review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would definately recommend us as a place to stay.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed overnight at YHA Malham while on a cycle ride across the Yorkshire. It looks as if a lot if money has been spent on the hostel during a recent Refurbishment, as it is basically brand new on the inside. The room I was in was absolutely spotlessly clean with a very impressive interior colour scheme; wall paint, curtains, lighting, and carpet were all new - and a standard comparable to a much more expensive hotel or Travelodge.
The Self-Catering Kitchen is also completely new and not only very well equipped and spacious, but has a brilliantly sunny aspect out onto the grounds.
The TV Lounge, Dining Room, and Reception area are also very spacious, spotlessly clean, homely, and very comfortable.
Last by not least, very friendly staff made sure I knew all there was to know about the hostel, the village, and the local area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micwhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, Manager at YHA Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for such an amazing review, we also feel that the new facilities at the hostel are fantastic, we really do know how lucky we are and are delighted to be able to welcome new guests to such an lovely location.
We take great pride in everything we do here so to know it's appreciated by our guests is wonderful..........thank you so much....we look forward to your next visit to our lovely hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malham hotels
0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,049 reviews
0 mi away
Lister Arms
Lister Arms
#1 of 5 in Malham
888 reviews
0 mi away
The Buck Inn
The Buck Inn
#3 of 5 in Malham
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Victoria
The Victoria
#4 of 4 in Malham
9 reviews
0 mi away
Newfield Hall
Newfield Hall
#4 of 5 in Malham
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Malham

Address: | in the centre of the village, next to the Lister Arms pub, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Malham
Price Range: £28 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Malham 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Pennine Way accommodation, families, individuals, groups and school trips will all love this comfortable hostel in the heart of a beautiful dales village, surrounded by classic limestone scenery. The famous Malham Cove, Malham Tarn and Gordale Scar are all a short walk away. YHA Malham at a glance: £460k renovation New restaurant All 19 bedrooms refurbished Five rooms with en suites A total of 81 beds The Pennine Way and Yorkshire Dales Cycle Way pass is close by, making it popular for walking holidays and cycling holidays. The hostel has a safe garden for outdoor play, great for children. Good food is served in this licensed hostel, an ideal base for activity breaks of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing