We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lister Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lister Arms
Ranked #2 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night with the dog as a stopover as we were heading to the Lake District for a week. First of all what a beautiful pub situated in a beautiful village. Walked to Malham Cove and Malham Tarn and it really was stunning. As for the Lister Arms, we had a warm welcome checked in very efficiently and a young man took us to our room, gave us some fresh milk for our room. We had a family room, staying with our dog in the room. Room was spacious and had tea/coffee facilities. The room had a very bad musty smell, had to open a window, it really could have done with a plug in or diffuser to give it a nice welcoming aroma. There was nothing for our dog, we had to bring our own dog bed yes but no water bowl, no dog biscuits- would have been a nice touch that they had considered as have stayed in many places that offered this. Dinner was good, one waitress very unenthusiastic, plonked our starters down and went to walk off, had to call her back to order drinks there was no 'can I get you anything else?' She clearly could not be bothered with us, dissappointing as your made to feel like an inconvenience which annoyed me. Had a comfortable stay, but sheets on bed were stained which was not good. Breakfast had a nice selection of cereals, fruit etc no toast to be seen. Ordered our breakfast I had eggs royals. Beautifully presented but poached egg was well over cooked the yolk was firm and mushy, sent back to the kitchen. Waited another 10mins when it takes only 3 to poach an egg?? The young man who I assume was the manager brought a new one and it was cooked perfectly just wish they had got it right the first time.! Overall with a few tweaks this place could be excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor. I am disappointed you did not receive outstanding service from all our staff at all times. We work very hard and train our team to be excellent across all areas and I apologise that we did not deliver this for you. I like your suggestions of water bowls for dogs in the bedrooms, for when we know a guest is bringing their dog. Re beds, again a good idea. Initially we would not be able to launder them however it is something I will work on. We normally have treats behind the bar for dogs, because as you know we are a popular choice for our doggy-guests. I hope you decide to return to us again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    215
    65
    16
    11
See reviews for
104
477
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ate at The Lister Arms on Friday 30th May. The food was very good with good portions and presentation. The staff were very friendly and service was quick. The pub/restaurant is very pretty with lovely views. Two starters, main meals and a drink each came to £60. Vegetarian choice was a bit limited, but overall a good place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello. Thank you for your 4 star review, we are very glad you enjoyed your meals and that you feel you received vale for money. If you ever feel like your choice is limited (dietary requirements for example) please do ask us because chances are we will be able to make you something else. We work from fresh and as long as you don’t mind a little wait our kitchen team is very accommodating. Look forward to seeing you again
All the team at The Lister Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

x 6 in party, went for meal in the evening, food ordered together, food came out for four of our party at diferent times our food did not arrive at all we questioned this and were told it was on it's way. the food that was supposed to be ours when it did arrive went to another table. our food eventually arrived to find it should have been for the table that got ours. two of us ordered the large portion of the fish and chips only to be served with a small portion. On top of this we are told by the person serving us that it was basically our fault. all in all it completely ruined our evening...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello David. I am exceedingly disappointed we did not deliver for you and your guests when you visited us. I would very much like to talk to you about your visit. Please do contact me manager@listerarms.co.uk so we may discuss this further and so I can personally apologise.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The room was superb as was dinner and breakfast. The staff very helpful and friendly. Very impressed would certainly stay again and excellent location. Would certainly stay again no negatives at all just a really good short break.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank miller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
WOW! Thank you for the glowing report; 5 stars! Brilliant we did our job and did it well. It makes us proud of our pub. We share all reviews with our team “good” and “to be improved on” for constant feedback on our performance. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Malham
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Spent two nights here on the way back from Scotland to Leicestershire.
Plus points.
The room was very good, plenty of room and comfortable.
The beer is well kept and very good.
Minus points
We were welcomed by a very unenthusiastic young woman who showed us to our room. As the shower ensures your hair will get wet my wife asked for a shower cap. This request was met with a negative and mystified response.
I came down from the room later to ask for milk for the coffee in the room and was given a small flask of fresh milk which was good. But why not let us know on arrival and supply it then ? When the room was cleaned the next morning the soap and shampoo were not replaced, so again I had to go down and ask for some and again no milk supplied for tea and coffee. These were small but avoidable irritations. The food, which we'd been looking forward to was a disappointment. Dinner was an underdone chop with greasy chips and half a tomatoe and one mushroom. Our first breakfast was accompanied by the sound of the cook arguing with the serving staff before walking out. My bacon, when it came, consisted of two pieces stuck together with a coating of white brine. The sausage was good as were the mushrooms and tomatoe. The second morning was much better with better service and a properly cooked, tasty breakfast. All together a mixed stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidswiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello David. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your visit to our little pub. You are right you shouldn’t have to ask for anything you need, we should have thought of it first. On the milk situation we are having some little cards made to advise our residents that we keep fresh milk cold in the fridges downstairs rather than refilling, no-one likes warm milk or the little jiggers of UHT. We should have provided you with a flask on check in though, I apologise for this. We did have a couple of turbulent moments back in May however all that has been resolved now. I do hope you will visit us again soon in picturesque Malham
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Busy country pub, walker/cycler/dog friendly. Well stocked bar and comfortable dining room, but a bit pricey. Food quality varied but mainly good. Well staffed, majority friendly, helpful europeans. Ran out of some breakfast food tuesday; English waitresses less than sympathetic. Monday seems to be chef's day off. Stayed in room 4, spacious enough but shower/toilet woefully far too small. Room lighting inadequate. Awakened early by cockerel, so keep window closed if you want to sleep; open if you want fresh air. Shouldn't grumble, we had a very pleasant three days.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank howarthlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review. We aim to be consistently brilliant however unfortunately things do happen not quite the way we would like sometimes. I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us and hope you will visit us agin as a base for the outdoor pursuits that Malham has to offer
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely friendly hotel, beds comfortable, rooms clean, breakfast freshly made. choice of cereal, fresh fruit and juice available. Staff very friendly and a welcoming atmosphere. Bedrooms were warm (because of the thickness of the walls I think) Food was lovely although they had run out of first and second choices. We asked for a twin room and got it. I would definitely go back to this hotel it was so relaxing

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Daisy. Thank you for your glowing report of your visit. We are very glad we got it so right for you. I hope you make it up (or down) to see us again soon
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
912 reviews
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
300 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
8.9 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
560 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lister Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lister Arms

Property: Lister Arms
Address: 1 Finkle Street | Yorkshire Dales National Park, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lister Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lister Arms is a quintessential English pub offering home cooked food and cosy accommodation in the village of Malham. Our scenic location at the foot of Malham Cove in the Yorkshire Dales National Park makes us a popular choice for walking breaks in North Yorkshire. We offer cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lister Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lister Arms Hotel Malham
Lister Arms Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing