We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lister Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Lion Hotel(Horton-in-Ribblesdale)
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
566
241
73
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
566
241
73
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe barnmalham coveboth nightsbar areadog friendly pubbeer gardenyorkshire dalesdog biscuitssteak and ale piehot chocolatereal aleyorkshire breakfastfamily roomfresh milkcouple of nightsevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Met up at The Lister Arms on Saturday 31st May with a couple of friend and their daughter who were over from Australia. What a great place to stay - great selection of beers in the bar and great food, just what we needed after a long days walk. Our dog was allowed to join us in the bar in the evening while we ate so she was also pleased. Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant but this is to be expected. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a really good weekend. The pub is just opposite the village green and is ideally situated for a walking weekend as many walks can be done straight from the village. Malham Cove is worth a visit and is just up the road - spectacular cliff face.
Great selection at breakfast and they even did us a packed lunch each day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnc761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay; the beer is great huh! We like it and we do take time and pride in how we look after it. Good home-cooked pub grub is what we aim for and we are delighted that we got it right. Please do come and see us again
All the team at the Lister Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here one night with the dog as a stopover as we were heading to the Lake District for a week. First of all what a beautiful pub situated in a beautiful village. Walked to Malham Cove and Malham Tarn and it really was stunning. As for the Lister Arms, we had a warm welcome checked in very efficiently and a young man took us to our room, gave us some fresh milk for our room. We had a family room, staying with our dog in the room. Room was spacious and had tea/coffee facilities. The room had a very bad musty smell, had to open a window, it really could have done with a plug in or diffuser to give it a nice welcoming aroma. There was nothing for our dog, we had to bring our own dog bed yes but no water bowl, no dog biscuits- would have been a nice touch that they had considered as have stayed in many places that offered this. Dinner was good, one waitress very unenthusiastic, plonked our starters down and went to walk off, had to call her back to order drinks there was no 'can I get you anything else?' She clearly could not be bothered with us, dissappointing as your made to feel like an inconvenience which annoyed me. Had a comfortable stay, but sheets on bed were stained which was not good. Breakfast had a nice selection of cereals, fruit etc no toast to be seen. Ordered our breakfast I had eggs royals. Beautifully presented but poached egg was well over cooked the yolk was firm and mushy, sent back to the kitchen. Waited another 10mins when it takes only 3 to poach an egg?? The young man who I assume was the manager brought a new one and it was cooked perfectly just wish they had got it right the first time.! Overall with a few tweaks this place could be excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor. I am disappointed you did not receive outstanding service from all our staff at all times. We work very hard and train our team to be excellent across all areas and I apologise that we did not deliver this for you. I like your suggestions of water bowls for dogs in the bedrooms, for when we know a guest is bringing their dog. Re beds, again a good idea. Initially we would not be able to launder them however it is something I will work on. We normally have treats behind the bar for dogs, because as you know we are a popular choice for our doggy-guests. I hope you decide to return to us again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ate at The Lister Arms on Friday 30th May. The food was very good with good portions and presentation. The staff were very friendly and service was quick. The pub/restaurant is very pretty with lovely views. Two starters, main meals and a drink each came to £60. Vegetarian choice was a bit limited, but overall a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello. Thank you for your 4 star review, we are very glad you enjoyed your meals and that you feel you received vale for money. If you ever feel like your choice is limited (dietary requirements for example) please do ask us because chances are we will be able to make you something else. We work from fresh and as long as you don’t mind a little wait our kitchen team is very accommodating. Look forward to seeing you again
All the team at The Lister Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

x 6 in party, went for meal in the evening, food ordered together, food came out for four of our party at diferent times our food did not arrive at all we questioned this and were told it was on it's way. the food that was supposed to be ours when it did arrive went to another table. our food eventually arrived to find it should have been for the table that got ours. two of us ordered the large portion of the fish and chips only to be served with a small portion. On top of this we are told by the person serving us that it was basically our fault. all in all it completely ruined our evening...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello David. I am exceedingly disappointed we did not deliver for you and your guests when you visited us. I would very much like to talk to you about your visit. Please do contact me manager@listerarms.co.uk so we may discuss this further and so I can personally apologise.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The room was superb as was dinner and breakfast. The staff very helpful and friendly. Very impressed would certainly stay again and excellent location. Would certainly stay again no negatives at all just a really good short break.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank miller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

WOW! Thank you for the glowing report; 5 stars! Brilliant we did our job and did it well. It makes us proud of our pub. We share all reviews with our team “good” and “to be improved on” for constant feedback on our performance. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Malham
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews