We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lister Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lister Arms
Ranked #2 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stopped one night in room 11. Everything about this place is perfect. The accommodation, the food, the beer, and the location. Enjoyed a six mile walk to return to a drink in the beer garden at the rear or on the benches at the front of the building. We ate outside in the beer garden we were fortunate it was glorious weather, the food was excellent at very reasonable prices. All the staff are welcoming and cant do enough for you. The yorkshire breakfast was excellent. The room was fantastic with ensuite and its own fire place room 11 is definately where you want to be if visiting in the winter. Cant fault anything we will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 839Chris96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello.. Thank you so very much for your glowing report of our little pub. I am happy to read that we ticked all the boxes. It is great when it is good weather however also lovely in the winter as you suggested when you can curl up in front of the fire, with the papers or a good book and a pint! Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lister. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    215
    65
    16
    11
See reviews for
104
478
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked a table for 8pm on Sunday 12 July. I checked what food was available before we booked and was told that Sunday lunch would be available at that time. However, when we arrived we were told that it sells out at lunchtime. Also, there were 2 other meals on the menu which were also not available. Not great when it's not a large menu to start with. On the plus side, the Shiraz was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorpethCodester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello.. Glad to hear you enjoyed the wine on your recent visit to us in Malham. I am sorry to read that we had sold out of Sunday lunch. It is rare that we sell out of Sunday lunch, (I apologise that you were told it always sells out) we cook adequate for all day and evening too. Sometimes though it can just go pretty quick! It is a good Sunday Roast, the smells in the morning make you hungry as we are getting ready! Please do come by again on a Sunday to tuck in to our best meal of the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessieengland2
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for two nights, for are wedding anniversary.
Nice room, very very warm ? Booked a table for the Friday night, husband had steak and ale pie and I had lamb absolutely brilliant. We went for the walking and ales very good ALES.
It was very busy on the Saturday and night time, so had the home made burgers for tea in the bar area, very nice.
Staff: female staff brilliant,

Room Tip: Book a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessieengland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello. Thank you for your review and comments. Very glad that you enjoyed, even when we were busy busy. The beer is good huh, especially after a walk! We are famous for our pies, all homemade including the pastry. Burgers good too. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, hope that you celebrate another with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a shame that the bar could not cope with a busy Saturday evening's trade. I was in a group of 6 friends looking to have food and drink. We ordered separately, in singles and couples, to avoid issues with bill splitting. However, after 3 of us had ordered food the bar decided it was not going to take any more food orders for another 45 minutes as they were busy. Despite explaining that we were in a group the staff were not prepared to take any more food orders. We would have to come back to the bar later. As one of the 2 that did not eat I was not impressed. I left and did not come back. A shame, this pub looked very nice and had a reasonable looking selection of beers. But that's irrelevant if the customer service is so poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello. I am very sorry that we did not do well when you visited us. We are a great little pub as you say and we do get very busy. It is not normal that we have to stop serving food however just sometimes we have to give ourselves a chance to catch up if we are behind. We do not take this decision lightly, it is a last resort because it results in unhappy guests which is not what we want. I am very sorry that this impacted your group. Please do not be put off returning to see us again; I am confident that you will get fed next time! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived early and my wife was not feeling very well. All the staff could not have been more flexible, kind and attentive - and excellent service continued through our stay. The first room (14) we were offered was absolutely huge but smelt of cheesy feet and the windows could not be opened. We were therefore offered another room (11), not quite so large but still very big and newly decorated, but again it smelt of cheesy feet. We were however able to open lots of windows and that made it bearable. We did not trace the source of the small (new carpet, the wardrobe, someone's feet??). The bedding is worn - the duvet cover had holes in it and was torn on one side and the towels had not been laundered well - one was grubby.
The hotel is in a beautiful location in a quiet village.

Room Tip: Room 11 in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello.. Thank you for posting your review and thank you for your comments about our good service. We work hard with our team to ensure nothing is too much trouble. Hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed recently for a 3 night visit to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary - we received a very warm welcome. The bedroom was pleasant and overlooked the beer garden. Very small en-suite but was perfectly functional (no shaver socket though) and had a nice selection of toiletries although would have liked to have had some conditioner as i had left mine at home. The tea/coffee tray had a nice selection and with the addition of handmade biscuits on day 2 and 3. Room was very hot, so slept with the window open - sadly the neighbouring cockerel woke us at 4.15am, but after a good walk on the moors we didn't hear him again the next night! Delicious breakfast with a very nice selection of fruits/yoghurt/cereal/juice and croissants as well as an ordered cooked breakfast. Very nicely cooked and presented Yorkshire breakfast and eggs Benedict - was even given extra bacon instead of black pudding. Ate in the restaurant the food was the same menu as the bar menu and was again well presented and tasty. The bar staff were very busy and could have done with an extra pair of hands. Had to tell the staff about messy public toilets which were then tidied very quickly. The only time we were unhappy was when we went to check out - the staff were busy in the breakfast room and the bill was calculated incorrectly. (Our daughters had paid for champagne and put 50 pounds on a tab for dinner) the champagne was added to our bill and the 50 pounds hadn't been removed, there was no record of it. The bill wasn't itemised so was difficult to understand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIWITRAVELLERS343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello. Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. Very glad that you enjoyed your visit. I apologise we got your room bill wrong; it is easily fixed. It is a tricky one itemising bills, if we listed everything bills would be four pages long however when we don't it can be difficult to read. We can always pull up any item on any bill and tell you exactly what it is for peace of mind. I am pleased you enjoyed your anniversary treat, hope to see you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We decided to stay for a couple of nights on a whim when touring the area. Lovely building outside and nice rooms inside. Food very good. Bar area has rustic flagstones which are washed down every morning which keeps the place really clean - frequented by walkers during the day, so a wise arrangement. Breakfast was lovely -recommend the eggs benedict with York Ham (I opted for a half portion on day 2 though as it was quite filling). Large car park. Lots of walks from the village and a good place to return to for a pint of decent ale after exertions. Only a couple of minor quibbles. We stayed in two rooms as it was a last minute booking. Soundproofing poor (probably little they can do about this as it is an old building - suggest you avoid room 2 next to office if going to be there during the day although it is probably the best room overnight at the end of the working day!). Also the showers are not very powerful and could do with an upgrade. Staff all very friendly and I would be happy to go back again in the future and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paros81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello. Thank you for your review and happy that you had an enjoyable stay. Yes you are correct we have a very old, yet beautiful building. Difficult to work around however we find our ways to equip for maximum guest comfort. We do have a supply of eye masks and earplugs for sound proofing emergencies if you ever do need them! Look forward to seeing you back at The Lister again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lister Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lister Arms

Property: Lister Arms
Address: 1 Finkle Street | Yorkshire Dales National Park, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lister Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lister Arms is a quintessential English pub offering home cooked food and cosy accommodation in the village of Malham. Our scenic location at the foot of Malham Cove in the Yorkshire Dales National Park makes us a popular choice for walking breaks in North Yorkshire. We offer cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lister Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lister Arms Hotel Malham
Lister Arms Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing