We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat”
Review of Lister Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lister Arms
Ranked #2 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My partner took me here for my birthday because I've wanted to see Malham Tarn for years. We live in Yorkshire but there are so many bits of it we haven't seen yet - and this has to be one of the best bits. The Lister Arms is in a great location and very well presented. We had a room on the ground floor in the newer extension, so had only two yards to go to get into the bar! Lovely spacious room with a sofa and a big fireplace - I almost wished it was winter so we could use it. Lovely, home made biscuits in the room too. Good range of beers and ciders in the bar, very good food - with specials well above average pub grub. Good value for both food and wine list. Friendly staff and comfortable bar area with a real fire. Lots of tables for eating outside round the back of the hotel. Very popular so you may not get a space in the car park, but by the time most day trippers have gone there will be room on the road somewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monkeyplush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello. Thank you for the five stars, I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your birthday treat. Lovely homemade biscuits and above average pub grub is a great compliment thank you. All our team work very hard across all areas to deliver a perfect experience for all our guests. We hope to see you again soon in Malham, which is we agree, one of Yorkshire's best bits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Lister Arms. Full marks for location and atmosphere. The food was great too.
The room was very nice with the only downside being that the bathroom door didn't open completely when the (very comfortable) additional sofa-bed was opened (which it was since we travelled as a family).
The pub downstairs provides board games for children and grown ups and it was all very cosy.
Malham is great for walking and very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pannake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello.. Thank you for taking the time to pop a review on after your visit to our little pub. 5 stars, thank you! Your comments are very fair and nicely explained. I am pleased you picked up on the atmosphere, we just want all our guests to walk in and feel relaxed and welcomed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the comfort of The Lister Arms. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here on a walking holiday. Hotel location is great on the Village green at Malham. Accommodation is excellent. Bar had a good range of beers and food was normal pub grub. Breakfast was excellent - probably the most artistically presented full English ever - and it was tasty as well. Packed lunches were delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to us in picturesque Malham. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Packed lunches are a helpful extra for anyone wanting one, there certainly is no pub at the top of the cove, just us at the bottom! Thank you again, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed Thursday through to Sunday with my wife and my 20 year old son for a few days of walking. We had a room in the main building and my son had a room in the adjoining newer (but tastefully designed to blend in) extension. The rooms were well fitted and very comfortable (we'd prefer a bath after a long day walking but these are hard to come by in most rural hotels/B&Bs). Our room was at the back overlooking the beer garden which in itself wasn't a problem but we were near the kitchen extractor which was a little noisy until it went off (around 11pm) - I'd recommend a room in annex or at front for this reason (at the front you may also avoid the Cockrell call every morning :-))

The staff were pleasant rather than over friendly and I think that's an area they could may be improve on - it was a busy weekend and with only 2 pubs in the village the pub was always busy so I can appreciate the staff had a lot of workload but more interaction and less "all business" would add a little to the atmosphere. There was nothing wrong with any of the service we had and I'd have no problems staying here again, just think it could be lifted a little to make it an even better stay.

With limited options we ate in the hotel each night and the food was plentiful and good quality, there's a good range but the menu was the same each night (apart from soup and change in pie fillings) so it would have been nicer to have more alternatives on different days. I'd recommend booking the restaurant each night, especially Saturday as it gets busy.

Loved Malham, great walks, especially with such great weather.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and weekend, if we get back to Malham we'll definitely consider the Lister Arms again.

Room Tip: In annex or at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spaggs-n-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello.. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your visit to us in lovely Malham, glad that you agree it is beautiful. Happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I am yet to find a room where you cannot hear the dawn chorus, it has it's moments of being wonderful and then a little too much. Earplugs always available for those rewarding lie-ins after a long day walking! Thank you again, hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just spent 3 nights here to celebrate my husband's Birthday. Every member of staff was helpful, professional and welcoming and had made sure that my special requests for champagne and Lobster were dealt with. We were most impressed with our room ( 11 ) which was spacious and comfortable with a wonderful shower and very comfortable bed...most welcome after long days of walking...with some delicious homemade biscuits on our tea tray ! It also made such a difference to be able to take our little dog to such a special hotel. We really cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello.. What a wonderful review, 5 stars!! Thank you so much for your kind comments, makes me very proud of our little bunch. Please know that all feedback is shared, everyone genuinely cares that they are doing top job. Looking forward to seeing you next time, for the next birthday! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in July to do some walking with are new (11-month) dog. Got a very friendly welcome and shown to the Feature room which was pleasant and functional (bathroom could have done with a bit of attention though), overlooking the rear garden/car park. Tended to be a little noisy during the late evening but not a problem and one could not expect anything else when staying in a pub/hotel. Food was good and the staff very friendly, helpful and very accommodating about the dog. I think that they need to sort out the food and drink ordering system as it doesn’t really work at busy times. I got the impression that the kitchen was finding it difficult to cope, but this didn’t spoil our stay. Would certainly stay again and Malham is a lovely village in a great location. Would have put these comments down but forgot to take the form.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello.. Thank you for your review and for the comments. Very good to read that everyone was friendly and pleasing, we are a friendly little team working very hard to keep everything going seamlessly. I will double check the bathrooms, in addition to our daily checks. I apologise if they were not 100% your feedback will be shared with all our team. Please come back and see us when you next visit Malham. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We came to the Lister Arms the evening before our wedding to have a meal and drink with family and friends who had travelled up to the Yorkshire Dales. We reserved an area just off the main pub area and this worked out really well as in the end there were about 50 of us. The pub catered really well for us all and everyone just ordered meals as they felt like it and were served really quickly. A few guests also stayed overnight and had a very pleasant stay. However, we stayed one night after the wedding and had a less pleasant experience. We were in a room in the main part of the pub and they'd just fitted the room out with new furniture. The new furniture smelt really awful, so much so we had to leave the door and window wide open to air the room until we went to sleep. Then in the morning we had trouble opening the shower door - both of us pushed and pulled until we finally gave up and went down to the pub to ask some one to resolve us. This was resolved quickly and they gave us a half price discount to make up for the smell in the room. Apparently the rooms in the new block are much nicer though so if booking a room be sure to request one in the new block!

Room Tip: Request rooms in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lister A, General Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello.. Thank you for taking the time to post a response and thank you for your great comments. We are very glad the whole wedding party enjoyed their visit. It is good to know that the problem you experienced was rectified. Believe it or not the furniture has a bit of an odour. No excuse and no joke either. We try very hard to keep the room ventilated and use odour absorbers. I hope you visit us again soon in Malham. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,036 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lister Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lister Arms

Address: 1 Finkle Street | Yorkshire Dales National Park, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range: £77 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lister Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lister Arms is a quintessential English pub offering home cooked food and cosy accommodation in the village of Malham. Our scenic location at the foot of Malham Cove in the Yorkshire Dales National Park makes us a popular choice for walking breaks in North Yorkshire. We offer cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lister Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lister Arms Hotel Malham
Lister Arms Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing