We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub for food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buck Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Caythorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great pub for food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We did not stay here, popped in after a visit to the cove. Service was very good and food excellent. I had sausages served with mash in two huge yorkie puddings, my wife had curry. Both dishes were hot and greatly gobbled down. Good selection of wines and beers to compliment. Curry £11, Yorkshire pudding £12 + drinks £30+. Good food and value. I highly recommend eating here, also the bar toilets are fantastic and slightly out of place for what is trying to be an oldie worldie pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricky273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    185
    85
    47
    75
See reviews for
73
351
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

booked the hotel for few days away after our wedding,being an older couple wanted some where quiet.Had an excellent time,food was brilliant, beer was first class and staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Will definitely return there

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife, 3 children ( 3, 5 and 6yrs old) and I have had a great stay at the Buck Inn.
This was our first time for many years in a B & B having opted for larger hotel chains for accommodation, I had forgotten how important a personal touch and freshly cooked "hot" breakfast were. We dined at the hotel in the evening and enjoyed the food which is obviously freshly prepared (glad I booked a table as it proved very popular).
Well appointed clean room for 5 and a nice bar with plenty of choice of beers.
Last but certainly not least, the owners and staff couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable. We will visit Malham again and certainly stay at the Buck!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough, uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked "last room available at £90" which turned out to be a fairly average room with shower. I was surprised it wasn't one of the pub's better rooms as website showed a four poster with bath for £90. I suspect the website info is well out of date as a bottle of wine was more than £3 more than advertised.

Bed was very comfy and though room furnishings were "vintage" the shower room was quite modern with good shower, but cleanliness of bathroom let it down, several hairs on unclean floor and handprints on walls where people leaning against wall to do whatever it was they were doing.

There was a staff birthday party on on night we were there, and though we could still here the disco from our room at front, it did go off at around 12, but unfortunately this was followed by a lot of shouting and screaming outside pub until everyone had left. Even though they were obviously busy, the service at bar was excellent, and we never waited more than a couple of seconds to be served and staff were as friendly and efficient at end of night as they were at the start.

Breakfast was excellent and piping hot and handy parking at side of pub which he were able to stay in for a couple of hours after checking out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickonamotobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We drove through this lovely village during one afternoon of our stay at Bolton Abbey and decided to stop and grab an afternoon tea. The place we had wanted to frequent was full so we walked a little further up the road and found the buck Inn. Nice enough if not a little dingy on the inside and traditional Cream Teas had been advertised on the board outside, so we ordered and took the pots of tea with us and waited for the scones etc. to arrive. Next thing I know I can smell burning and then the lovely girl serving behind the bar bought out the scones. I broke into mine and thought OK not the best in the world but when my daughter and husband broke into theirs, they were solid brown inside, from where they had obviously been warmed up and were inedible. In fairness they were changed but this really shouldn't happen.
And I'm sorry and I know it's the 'Fashion' BUT I really don't want to see a young lad clearing tables and serving customers, when his jeans are under his bottom and you can see his backside through his worn out thin underwear. Mind you his waddling walk did make us laugh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShazzerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malham hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Good food and service, great location. Downside was a hammock shaped mattress on the bed. No sleep all night. Employee assurred us that it was new. If they bought it new then got ripped off. This is a great location and the local srea is very scenic.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good bed and then go and check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petetrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

we stayed here 2 years ago and we gave it an excellent review. As we were in the area and having a walk round the cove to gordale etc we decided to stop in the village for refreshments. In the refurbished (rather strangely) hikers bar we ordered a pint of landlord and a coke only to be charged £7, on asking the price of a pint of coke we were informed it was £3.40! This is dearer than the price of a pint of beer in most places, this must be one big profit boost if all soft drinks are this price.Needless to say we only stayed for one drink and at those prices will not return again. I understand you have to make a profit but this was just extortionate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Property: The Buck Inn
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from Leeds, York and greater Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck Inn Malham Hotel Malham
The Buck Inn Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing