We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent place to stay and eat”
Review of The Buck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Buck Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed for three nights The room was pleasant and the bed so comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. After reading the trip advisor ratings we chose to eat at the Lister one night BAD MISTAKE the food may be cheaper but the quality is sadly lacking.
The choice of beers was very good with 6 real ales. Thank you Buck Inn for your excellent quality and service I would recommend you to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 7 it has a very comfortable four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swanny806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Staying locally in malham popped in for dinner, had the fish pie,had food poisoning, up all night, should have read the reviews beforehand. Place tired and dirty, go to the lister much better.
How can a hotel in such a stunning location fail so terribly?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank flatcap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here over the weekend my family were down for a family wedding a few miles away, and the Buck Inn was a great stay I have never stayed in a BnB before so i wasnt expecting much but I was so surprised with the modern twist they had on the bedroom decoration. I shared a double room with my sister and the room was decorated to a very modern stadard we were very surprised with just how lovely the room and en-suite were, beds were great to sleep in, but nothing was as nice as the food...first night we arrived we just decided to get a nite to eat rather than go and meet up with rest of the wedding party and it was worth it the chicken pie was amazing it was proper comfort food just what ou need after a 4 hour car journey I had the fish cakes which again...Amazing, breakfasts were just as good can get a duck or goose egg wih no extra charge!! The staff...all very young girls were so nice and friendly always had a smile on their faces which is really nice especially first thing in the morning!! Would be more than happy to visit again if I was ever in the area again! Cant say anything other than what a great BnB to spend some relaxing time. Thank You!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Luckily we get to visit Malham while volunteering for the DofE frequently & when we fancy a drive out for a walk.
The Buck in is handy for a few of the camp sites we go to with the DofE, so if we get some downtime after an expedition we like to treat ourselves to a meal at the Buck.
Finally this week I got to try the Rabbit Pie!! I've tried to order it many times but its always been unavailable - this is fine with me - it shows they are not microwaving a frozen pie before serving it up!!
Between us we have had quite a few things from the menu - the burgers are to die for. The chips are excellent. All the food we have seen has looked gorgeous.
Now - it's not the cheapest pub I've ever eaten in but all the food is prepared to a very high standard & the portion sizes are perfect when you've had a day out walking in the fresh air. I've never made it as far as the pudding menu so I can't comment on these!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hevmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a wonderfull overnight stay at the Buck Inn. Staff are wonderful and welcoming. Don't expect luxury, but you do get a very good deal, The room was all you could want clean cosy,newly refurbished shower room,I had a burger for my main meal in the evening, Possibly one of the best I have had. In fact if the bun had been a little better I would say it was the best burger ever, we enjoyed a lovely bottle of Oz wine from a good range I thought reasonably priced I did think wine by the glass a tad expensive.. Breakfast on Monday morning was exceptional. I thought an excellent pub in a lovely setting. Very good value for money I will go back, hopefully very soon .

Room Tip: Don't set your sites to high, BUT IT IS A PUB. not a 5star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Very tired room with bits of wallpaper missing, very soft saggy bed (this is room 3, see Mrsmoon kent's review)

Breakfast was a let down, we were second in the dining room and waited 55 minutes to receive our meals nothing compared to one poor couple who waited one hour twenty. The bacon was completely dried out, the portion of beans less than a desert spoon full.

Evening meals we took in the Lister Arms across the small bridge at an average saving of at least £2-50 per meal (£12-50 for a burger and fries at the Buck Inn £9-95 at Lister Arms).

Drinks at the Buck Inn £8-40 for a gin and tonic and a brandy and coke, £20ish for a bottle of white Zinfandel

I think its the captive audience scenario !

Room Tip: avoid room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank howardfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We did not stay here, popped in after a visit to the cove. Service was very good and food excellent. I had sausages served with mash in two huge yorkie puddings, my wife had curry. Both dishes were hot and greatly gobbled down. Good selection of wines and beers to compliment. Curry £11, Yorkshire pudding £12 + drinks £30+. Good food and value. I highly recommend eating here, also the bar toilets are fantastic and slightly out of place for what is trying to be an oldie worldie pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tricky273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,037 reviews
17.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
139 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
330 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range: £87 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from Leeds, York and greater Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck Inn Malham Hotel Malham
The Buck Inn Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing