We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return 17-19 September, three brill nights.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buck Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Return 17-19 September, three brill nights.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Came a couple of years ago, same room (number ten), yes it is small, but it was adequate. The room had been refurbished since our last visit, we knew they were doing the bedrooma when we last visited. The bathroom has had an update, and it was warm, welcoming and clean. Someone mentions on this site that they were no wardrobes, just a rail, to be quite honest, I was happy with this, we got soaked on the third day, and there was no way things would have dried out if put in a wardrobe.
The breakfast as usually was ab fab. What could anyone complain about (half an hour wait in one review, hello this is not Big Macs). There was nothing that could be faltered, unless you needed fresh fruit, but I am sure if you asked in plenty of time, this could be catered for. The meals at night are hearty, much too big for me, but they have to cater for all sizes. We did go across the road one night, but came back, and ate at the Buck.
Will definitely go again, we are thinking the Spring. Thank you the Buck Inn.

Room Tip: Ring directly to the Buck Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    185
    85
    47
    75
See reviews for
73
351
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We did not stay but enjoyed a meal one night. It was tasty and well cooked with homemade chips and even the veg was one of the nicest we have had anywhere. Friendly staff but the decor is strangely mixed from an american diner style through a door to a 18th century style inn. Could have done with a cozy seated area to sit and enjoy drinks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlynCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The bedrooms had been done up quite well but are a bit small and basic but clean and comfy, shower was definitely not a power shower but worked ok in the end! Didn,t eat a meal there as the adjacent pub had the sun outside it and had a very nice bar menu so we got hooked in , the back fast at the buck inn was very nice though and service good. price of a pint of bitter was 50p more at the buck than the other pub which was quite a difference. Good bar though with a pool table and quite lively with plenty of guests and customers. Staff were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Front view would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

After seeing a few mixed reviews on Trip Advisor we were a bit apprehensive but we really enjoyed our stay at the Buck Inn. The room (room 5) was really stylish with opulent furnishings and even a spa bath! We did notice the room opposite was fairly smaller than ours which is understandable as this is an old building so there's bound to be variation. The Buck Inn itself is a traditional quaint old fashioned pub set in the small village of Malham which is popular with walkers. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. We ate in the pub on the Saturday evening. The food was excellent - I thoroughly recommend the steak and kidney pudding which was clearly homemade. My partner had the Malham and Masham pie which was equally good. The breakfast was also excellent. I opted for the Eggs Benedict rather than the full English and I wasn't disappointed. I would certainly stay at the Buck inn again.

Room Tip: Room 5 was tastefully furnished, a reasonable size and at the front of the Inn. It also has a spa ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Malham is a lovely little village, the buck inn is one of two pubs where food is served and has accommodation.
we found the accommodation to be very comfortable, the room was clean, the staff very friendly, the only complaint we did have was that the breakfast, which was lovely, but we waited over half an hour for it to come, We found that to be too long a time to wait, with just tea or coffee, this was both mornings, so was a little disappointing,
We also found it very expensive, it felt like it was double the price of anywhere else, £12.75 for pie and chips!! £6 for one shot of whiskey!!! I know the Dales are more expensive and you do pay a bit more, but I did find the prices a little to expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked in to the Buck Inn for 3 nights and upon our arrival late in the afternoon we were warmly greeted by the staff in the bar and I enjoyed a lovely local pint. Sadly that was to be the last of that particular brew as it seems the brewery drivers were on strike!! The evening meal was lacking in flavour but the portions were generous, not bad, but just not inspiring I'm afraid. In fact we discovered the "Listers Arms" just a little way across the village and the food in there was much more satisfying. To be perfectly honest, upon enquiring at the Listers Arms we discovered that staying there would probably cost little more so I'm afraid that's where we shall go next time. Having said that I DO NOT want to give thew impression that the Buck Inn is bad......it isn't.......it's just that The Listers is better! In our room the bed was not the most comfortable and we had a shower and loo in a corner room and the wash hand basin actually in our bedroom. Not the end of the world but reading other people's comments I think we could have expected a little better. We run a small business and it's always useful in this day and age to be able to be in contact via WiFi. Sadly the signal at the Buck Inn is pretty poor and we only became more frustrated as time went on.........guess what.......we could sort all of our communication needs out at the Listers Arms! I most certainly agree with the comment about the place supporting local suppliers AND the breakfasts are indeed good, especially the eggs florentine! Generally I feel the place is a little tired and needs a good old spruce up. NOT a criticism, simply an observation. Unfortunately the owners were away on holiday during our visit so we were unable to have any contact with them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophielouiseemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our room (no 11) was generously proportioned, containing a king-size bed, sofa, TV, table, a couple of chairs and two chests of drawers and in an alcove behind a curtain was another double bed and a wardrobe. The bathroom was spacious. The standards of cleanliness were good. Our only criticisms of the room were that there were no bedside reading lamps and the drawers in the chests of drawers needed resetting on their runners. The staff at the hotel were friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is to be commended for supporting local suppliers (see the list in the lounge). The breakfasts were outstanding – the eggs benedict were my personal highlight; my wife was impressed with the yogurt made from the milk from the landlady’s own goats. For the evening meals, the menu was of good quality – especially the Malham and Masham Pie. However, vegetarians are poorly served – there was only one vegetarian main course on offer and as the menu did not change during our four night stay, we only ate there once. The village of Malham is ideally situated for people who want to explore and enjoy the spectacular countryside of the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMeltonMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Property: The Buck Inn
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from Leeds, York and greater Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck Inn Malham Hotel Malham
The Buck Inn Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing