We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buck Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very good indeed”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

ideal walking pub... special walkers bar.. staff very friendly... food superb... cant fault it... its not the Ritz, but it doesnt pretend to be. dont hesitate, i dont know where the bad reviews came from?

Helpful?
1 Thank nick4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    185
    85
    47
    74
See reviews for
71
351
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Me and my wife stayed at the Buck Inn for 3 days (19-21st Feb 2014) and had a very relaxing break. The food was great, the beer better and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was very comfortable (No4) with an up to date en suite bathroom which was kept clean and tidy throughout our stay. Beautiful location which we will be returning too....... Had a quick nose in the Lister, forget it, Buck Inn all the way :-)

Paul Childerley.

Room Tip: Number 4 had a four poster bed, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I don't like writing harsh reviews unless it's appalling really. Well this isn't appalling but there was a lot about it that I just couldn't warm to and wouldn't go back.

Starting with the decor in the pub. My friend who I was with claimed it had been refurbished to look old fashioned. Well it looked to me like it hadn't been refurbished and just looked outdated in the restaurant part. Further more, the gothic ceiling lights didn't fit in at all.

There was no atmosphere despite the lovely roaring fire which was pleasant to sit next to.

The staff were not that friendly. We went in at 5.30pm and asked if we could order a meal. They said we don't start serving until 6pm. We sat down, had a drink and at 5.50pm we went to the bar to place our order. We were told they couldn't take our order until 6pm exactly - something to do with the till. This came across very poor service I'm afraid.

We couldn't fault the food actually. It was nothing special, but it was well cooked and nicely presented. But it was very very pricey for what it was as a few reviewers have picked up on. Way too high for a hotel pub in the dales.

If you have a choice, go to the other one. It's cheaper, better atmosphere, friendlier staff and the decor is spot on.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Tiz324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Buck Inn is a beautiful historic building set in a stunning location. And unfortunately the interior does not in any way shape or form match the exterior.We found this the most disappointing,un-clean,uncomfortable,poorly run establishment that we have ever visited!
On arrival there is no one to greet you having to queue at the bar and wait to grab the attention of someone to book in and get your room key.
Our room was dark and dingy,not helped by a 25 watt light bulb! Then we discovered the reason for the 25 wattage,to mask the dust and grime!
The carpet had not been properly cleaned,the kettle was filthy! As was the caddy that held the bog standard selection of drinks.
The bed,well we might as well have slept on the floor,which would have been an option if it hadnt so dirty!
The bar itself has no atmosphere and must have been refurbished from a carboot sale! Everthing is either chipped,broken or dirty and dusty.Dirty wooden spoons in empty wine bottles on the tables with the table number painted on by a two year old by the look of it!That doesn't tie in with the image they are trying to potray of a 19th century coaching inn,its more 21st century greasy spoon! And the single toilet in the lounge is clean,and has been refurbished though not dissimliar from a well know indian eating house toilet and doesn't match anything just like the rest of the inn.
The food was extortionate,pub grub at best with restaurant prices.£15.00 for a fish pie??
£6.00 for a single malt whisky??
Mine hosts will no doubt be following up with a reply,from where I do not know as they were nowhere to be seen on our visit! No doubt they will pretend we havnt been to right inn,or that we are too fussy maybe. At the end of the day it all boils down to personal preference and your standard of living.If you are not too bothered about grimy kettles,damp windowsills,poor standard of décor,rockhard mattress,and dust galore,then this is for you!Obviously we shall not be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank burgie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from another great weekend break at the Buck Inn. I don't normally write tripadvisor reviews, but have been spurred on to try and balance some of the seemingly poor reviews on this site. We have stayed in this pub 1-2 times a year for the last 6 years or so, and have yet to be disappointed. The landlord/landlady and all of the staff are really friendly and helpful and have always remembered us and made us feel very welcome. The pub has recently undergone a major refurb, much improving the bedrooms and adding a welcome logburner into the hiker's bar to complement the fire that's always burning in the lounge bar in the winter. Perhaps the new wallpaper isn't to everyone's tastes but the only downside to the refurb for us was the removal of the darts board! This isn't a 5-star hotel - it's a pub with accommodation and so expectations should be in line with this. In my opinion it is the more characterful of the 2 great pubs in the village (mainly because it's also frequented by locals and so has more of a traditional pub atmosphere rather than just having a food pub vibe). The rooms are very cosy, clean and comfortable - yes there is 1 very small bedroom, which we've stayed in in the past - but this is clearly stated and the price per night is reduced to reflect this. The food has always been great and of very generous proportions - the breakfasts are particularly memorable, with quality local ingredients and more than enough to keep you satisfied until the evening. Food is cooked to order, so there can be a small wait at busy times, but not enough to bother us. The Buck also has great beer - we particularly enjoy the Old Peculiar, which is the best we've had outside of the Theakston brewery! Prices (especially bar prices) aren't the cheapest in the village, but are in line with the relatively high prices charged elsewhere in the dales. Goes without saying Malham is a great location with many walks available direct from the door - we'd recommend the circular walk over the cove and via Gordale Scar and Janet's Foss before returning to the village. Would recommend this pub for anyone who likes an eclectic, cosy feeling pub where you'll be greeted with a warm welcome and get to consume great food and beer - we'll certainly be returning again anyway.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a very nice 4-poster room overlooking the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay after a very last minute booking. Was a little concerned after reading some pretty negative views. Glad i didnt take too much notice. Rooms are basic but clean and more than adequate, about right for the very reasonable price i got through booking,com, The staff are helpful and friendly. We ate there on both evenings and cannot fault the food both for quality and very generous portions, Add to that some good beers to make for a very pleasant evening. Breakfast again is very good with a good selection,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padi8338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great friendly welcome started our night stay here. Once we had settled into the very nicely decorated and comfortable room we enjoyed one of the best meals we have ever had. A comfortable nights sleep in this excellent hotel was followed by a wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stew260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
912 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
453 reviews
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Property: The Buck Inn
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from Leeds, York and greater Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck Inn Malham Hotel Malham
The Buck Inn Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing